We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Belated Wonderful Review”
Review of Cliffside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliffside Inn
Ranked #2 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Westfield, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Belated Wonderful Review”
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Sorry for our late review ... we had a wonderful visit in mid September. We stayed in the Cliff Suite and just loved our experience. The rooms were spacious and lovely, and we enjoyed the breakfast and wine. We were celebrating a special birthday. Nancy and Bill even arranged fabulous weather (well, okay), but gave us great recommendations for dinner and a sailing trip. The location of the Inn near the Cliff Walk was also a treat, and it was a quick and easy drive to many of the places we wanted to visit. We are hoping we can plan a return visit (maybe even with some friends or family next time).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobAnneR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
We are so happy that you chose the Cliffside Inn to celebrate your birthday and that we could help make it special. That was a great weekend. There was a lot of activity at the fire pit too. We've put together a s'mores package that you'll have to try next time you are here.

Hope you have a great holiday and New Year.
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,057
    26
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
73
876
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2011

My wife and I have stayed here numerous times over the years and have always loved it. When Bill and Nancy purchased it at the beginning of the year and did a significant renovation they made this the best place to stay in Newport. All of the rooms and suites are beautiful, the food terrific, but most important addition is the incredible friendliness and hospitality of the new owners. We will be returning often.

Room Tip: The larger suites are in the outer cottage, which adds a little more privavcy and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Thank you, thank you, thank you. We are especially thrilled when we hear from former guests that they like what we've done. It was wonderful to have you here. I hope the trip to China went well. Happy Holidays.

Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2011

My husband surprised me with a trip to Newport, and could not have picked a better place to stay than here! We stayed in the Tower Suite, and it was amazing. Not only was the room gorgeous at first glance, but we kept finding wonderful little touches, both in the decor and for our comfort. Be sure to admire the bathroom door!

Everyone we met was wonderful, from Bill and Nancy themselves, to the lovely gentleman who brought us bedtime cookies.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Jenn - we are so glad you enjoyed the stay and the Tower Suite. Terrence, and the entire staff, really are gems and we're so happy you recognized that. Hopefully, next time you can have a longer stay.

Happy holidays,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed in the Cliff and Seaview Suites in the cottage for three nights. The suites were absolutely lovely. Everything was perfect. Nancy and Bill were gracious hosts. We can't wait to go back. As the next lag of our trip, we stayed in a 5-star hotel that has paled in comparison on every level.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiseWorldTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Well, we hope next year you will be sharing the Thanksgiving meal with us! It was wonderful having you and the girls stay with us. They are both wonderful young women and hearing all of your stories was a delight. I hope that your Thanksgiving with your son went well and you had safe travels back to Louisiana.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

This B&B is everything it should be;immaculate, inviting, welcoming, comfortable, delightful. Best of luck bill and nancy.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lubelleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
We are so glad that you and your daughter decided to stay with us. It was wonderful having you here even for a short visit. We do hope you will come back to visit when you can stay longer.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We recently stayed at Cliffside Inn for two nights and couldn't have been happier with our experience. From the moment we checked in, we felt like "guests of honor". Bill, Nancy, and the rest of the staff were available to help with recommendations for restaurants and things to do without being pushy or overbearing.

The environment was relaxing and slightly more modern (an steam shower in our room) than other B&Bs we have stayed in, which we loved.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sun room and enjoyed the natural light, fireplace, and steam shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Manager at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
We so enjoyed your stay and are thrilled that you liked the steam shower. We use ours all the time - it's such a great way to relax! We hope you'll come back and visit us again soon. There are 15 other great rooms and bathrooms to try.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Nancy and Bill have done a wonderful job with the renovations. Our room was both period beautiful as well as very comfortable. Our bathroom was spectacular complete with our swan folded towels on the Jacuzzi. Their attention to detail in making your stay a memorable one is first rate. It's obvious that they love what they do. The food was very good and their company equally enjoyable. We look forward to staying with them again

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Manager at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Ed & Ellen - what a pleasure it was having you here and sharing in your anniversary celebration. Guests like you make it easy for us to love what we do. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return visit.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
644 reviews
0.9 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
588 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Property: Cliffside Inn
Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing