We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful! Can't wait to go back!”
Review of Cliffside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliffside Inn
Ranked #2 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Medway, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful! Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

My husband surprised me with a trip to Newport, and could not have picked a better place to stay than here! We stayed in the Tower Suite, and it was amazing. Not only was the room gorgeous at first glance, but we kept finding wonderful little touches, both in the decor and for our comfort. Be sure to admire the bathroom door!

Everyone we met was wonderful, from Bill and Nancy themselves, to the lovely gentleman who brought us bedtime cookies.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Jenn - we are so glad you enjoyed the stay and the Tower Suite. Terrence, and the entire staff, really are gems and we're so happy you recognized that. Hopefully, next time you can have a longer stay.

Happy holidays,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    26
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
71
852
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
99 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed in the Cliff and Seaview Suites in the cottage for three nights. The suites were absolutely lovely. Everything was perfect. Nancy and Bill were gracious hosts. We can't wait to go back. As the next lag of our trip, we stayed in a 5-star hotel that has paled in comparison on every level.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiseWorldTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Well, we hope next year you will be sharing the Thanksgiving meal with us! It was wonderful having you and the girls stay with us. They are both wonderful young women and hearing all of your stories was a delight. I hope that your Thanksgiving with your son went well and you had safe travels back to Louisiana.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

This B&B is everything it should be;immaculate, inviting, welcoming, comfortable, delightful. Best of luck bill and nancy.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lubelleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
We are so glad that you and your daughter decided to stay with us. It was wonderful having you here even for a short visit. We do hope you will come back to visit when you can stay longer.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We recently stayed at Cliffside Inn for two nights and couldn't have been happier with our experience. From the moment we checked in, we felt like "guests of honor". Bill, Nancy, and the rest of the staff were available to help with recommendations for restaurants and things to do without being pushy or overbearing.

The environment was relaxing and slightly more modern (an steam shower in our room) than other B&Bs we have stayed in, which we loved.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sun room and enjoyed the natural light, fireplace, and steam shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Manager at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
We so enjoyed your stay and are thrilled that you liked the steam shower. We use ours all the time - it's such a great way to relax! We hope you'll come back and visit us again soon. There are 15 other great rooms and bathrooms to try.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Nancy and Bill have done a wonderful job with the renovations. Our room was both period beautiful as well as very comfortable. Our bathroom was spectacular complete with our swan folded towels on the Jacuzzi. Their attention to detail in making your stay a memorable one is first rate. It's obvious that they love what they do. The food was very good and their company equally enjoyable. We look forward to staying with them again

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Manager at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Ed & Ellen - what a pleasure it was having you here and sharing in your anniversary celebration. Guests like you make it easy for us to love what we do. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return visit.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
577 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

The Cliffside Inn has been recently renovated and it's beautiful! It has elegance and is comfortable and welcoming to guests. Nancy and Bill set the tone for the visit--they are friendly, accommodating, and obviously love the inn and being innkeepers. This shows in all the special touches. The breakfasts and the afternoon teas were wonderful. Also loved the nightly "turn-down" service and snack. The attention to detail was amazing---everything possible was done to make the days we spent there truly memorable. Nancy and Bill go that extra step to make sure guests feel pampered---one night a pot of tea was sent to our room and was very much appreciated.
The location also is wonderful---very close to the Cliff Walk and the mansions and a short drive from the center of Newport and its excellent restaurants.
We wished we could have stayed longer are very much looking forward to our next visit to The Cliffside.

Room Tip: We loved the Blue Room---lovely furnishings, window seat, fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
The Blue Room is great. I love how cozy it is and the window seat is perfect for reading a book on a fall day. We so enjoyed having you both here and are so happy you enjoyed your stay. You're not too far away, so we hope we'll be seeing you back here soon.

Have a great holiday season.
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We found the Cliffside Inn via Tripadvisor, as their website wasn't finished. Nancy, the innkeeper was kind enough to send us pictures of their newly refurbished rooms and we were delighted.

The rooms and the finish throughout the Inn is top notch - the bathrooms are amazing. They have spared no expense on the refurbishment. We stayed in the Turner Suite and the marble floor in the bathroom was worthy of Rome! Nancy and Bill were real treasures. The breakfast was superb and the location was perfect. If we're ever in Rhode Island again, I'd have no hesitation about staying here. Great!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank precky1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you so much for staying with us. We tried very hard to mix all the touches of romance and authentic Victorian with all the modern conveniences of today. We are so happy you liked it. I too love the Turner Suite. It's so calm, yet elegant. We do hope you make it back to our great state!

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.8 mi away
Francis Malbone House Inn
0.6 mi away
Hydrangea House Inn
Hydrangea House Inn
#4 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Property: Cliffside Inn
Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing