We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place to stay right by the Mansions in Newport” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cliffside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliffside Inn
Ranked #2 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay right by the Mansions in Newport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

We found the Cliffside Inn via Tripadvisor, as their website wasn't finished. Nancy, the innkeeper was kind enough to send us pictures of their newly refurbished rooms and we were delighted.

The rooms and the finish throughout the Inn is top notch - the bathrooms are amazing. They have spared no expense on the refurbishment. We stayed in the Turner Suite and the marble floor in the bathroom was worthy of Rome! Nancy and Bill were real treasures. The breakfast was superb and the location was perfect. If we're ever in Rhode Island again, I'd have no hesitation about staying here. Great!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank precky1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you so much for staying with us. We tried very hard to mix all the touches of romance and authentic Victorian with all the modern conveniences of today. We are so happy you liked it. I too love the Turner Suite. It's so calm, yet elegant. We do hope you make it back to our great state!

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    26
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
71
840
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

Having grown up in RI and living in Massachusetts now, we go to Newport often but rarely if ever spend the night. We had a wedding to attend and decided somewhat last minute to make it a mini-getaway. I called the Cliffside based on the reviews here and spoke with Bill who was incredibly accomodating. He offered me an upgrade to the St. George's Suite because we were only able to stay the one night (they like to keep to a two night minimum) and another guest was checking out on Saturday. That friendly conversation set the tone for a fantastic experience at the inn. The smell of warm chocolate chip scones baking in the sunlit kitchen greeted us when we walked in. We were welcomed and brought to our room where the fire was lit and jazz music was softly playing on the Bose bedside stereo. The St. George's Suite surpassed our expectations. A beautiful view, fantastic bathroom with spa shower, in room air conditioner/ purifier. The afternoon tea was so good we skipped hors d'oeuvres at the wedding reception later. Breakfast was equally fantastic with french press coffee, gourmet teas, a hot special of fluffy scrambled eggs on croissant, and muffins, granola and fruit. Nancy and Bill's impeccable attention to detail is evident in every aspect of the Cliffside from the architectural detail of their renovation (take a close look at the hinges on the bathroom doors if you stay in the St. George's suite) to the cookies, water and ice left in the room at turndown. Our only complaint is that we had only one night to stay. We are already talking about returning for two nights to celebrate our anniversary in March!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2011
Thak you for the thoughful description of our renovations to the inn and your stay with us. We are pleased that you decided to make your visit to Newport a "mini getaway"...and that you had such a good time. We look forward to seeing you again in March for an anniversary weekend.

Kind regards,

Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Don't miss this luxurious inn that is so gorgeously renovated. The innkeepers are very accommodating and very much want to make the stay a wonderful experience. Bill and Nancy have done a remarkable job fully renovating inside and out. You will not be disappointed. The high tea and full gourmet breakfast are the added benefits. We had wanted to spend our 25th wedding anniversary here last year but weren't able to because of the renovations. We were so happy to spend our 26th anniversary here. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xomannycindyxo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2011
Thank you for staying with us to celebrate your 26th wedding anniversary. Thank you, as well, for sharing your impressions about our renovations to the inn and your experience at Cliffside. We really appreciate the feedback. Nancy and I look forward to seeing you for your "27th"...if not sooner.

All our best to you both.

Bill & Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

Our recent trip to Newport and stay at the Cliffside Inn was particularly special as it was our "elopement" weekend. I had called several of the Inns around Newport prior to booking, but quickly sensed that the Cliffside would be the place that could make our weekend truly memorable. Nancy, Bill and the rest of the staff went out of their way and impressed us at every turn with the special attention and extra details like flowers & chocolates in the room, helping us plan our day, the "wedding cup," and being a witness at our actual wedding! I can't even make note of all of the things they did, and how perfectly they did it. We chose to elope because it would be special, fun and private, and the Cliffside made all of that happen. I am sure this Inn is great for any type of weekend, but it is the best I could imagine for a romantic and memorable getaway. The attentive service, perfectly appointed room, and ideal location make this Inn unbeatable. My wife (I love the sound of that!) and I will cherish the memories of the the weekend forever, and will absolutely return to stay at the Cliffside for future trips we take to Newport (which will include some anniversaries). Many, many thanks to Nancy, Bill & all the rest of the staff for making our wedding weekend absolutely perfect. We're already looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: The Garden Suite is ideal for some extra privacy and the space has a very warm, "home" typ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emo3489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2011
You've made all of us smile as we read your review, and think back on how much we enjoyed having you stay with us for your elopement weekend. Thank you, from all of the staff, for your thoughtful comments about the stay and your memories of the inn. It is great fun for us to host important events like this. We look forward to your return visit...our best to you both.

Bill & Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

If you are looking for a perfect getaway in Newport then Cliffsde Inn is the place you want to go. The new owners Nancy and Bill have done wonders to the Cliffside. It is absolutely beautiful. The furnishings are amazing. They have thought of every detail. The inside is amazing as well as the grounds outside.

We stayed in the Loft and cannot wait to return and stay in the same room again. We were fortunate enough to see several other rooms also and each one was more amazing than the other! Our room was gorgeous and filled with light. The bathroom was so beautiful. We would like to duplicate it in our own home!

Breakfast was absolutely delicious each day. The afternoon treats were beautiful displayed.
We can't rave on enought about the hospitality during our stay. Nancy and Bill, along with the rest of the staff, made our stay perfect! We are planning our next trip back to the Cliffside Inn in the near future!!

Bill and Linda Donley

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful. We loved the Loft!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billnlin74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
We are so pleased that your weekend at Cliffside was a "perfect getaway"....that means a lot to the entire staff here at the Inn. I am glad you liked the Loft room, it is one of my favorite rooms as well...very cozy as we move into the cooler months. We hope to see you again soon. Maryland is not so far away...your former Governor (circa 1870) built the house as his summer getaway and made the trip up to Newport every summer for decades.

All the best to you both.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

My wife and i decided to spend our 1st anniversary in Newport. I did a ton of searching and decided on the Cliffside Inn. We wanted a place that had old world charm yet had updated rooms and was close to everything. Cliffside turned out to be a GEM!!!
The place has been completely renovated. Much attention was put to every detail in this home. The expert craftsmenship shined through out the house. From the wood floors to the moldings you could tell great care was given to keep some of the original luster or this great home. There was even a beautiful area out front with a gas fire pit that was great for enjoying a glass of wine at the end of the night.
We stayed in the swan room. The colors were soothing. The gas fire place was well done and the bathroom was a good size. It had a rain shower and was big enough for 2 if you like to save water :)
The best part of the home were the owners, Bill and Nancy. They made themselves available all day long. They suggested some very fine places to eat and visit. The breakfasts they prepared were very tasty.Gettin my coffee in a French press was a bonus. Nancy even remembered to have decaf tea for my wife as she is pregnant.
We had a nice conversation with them outside by the fire our 1st night. We felt like we were staying with family. How this place is not ranked #1 is a shame. I dont think there was anything this place lacked.
Bill and Nancy, keep up the good work. Thank you for making our stay an exceptional one.

Chris & Caroline Viola

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bombero65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
Thank you both, for staying with us on your 1st Anniversary, and for sharing your experiences at Cliffside Inn. Your comments about the Inn and your visit with us are very thoughtful and most appreciated. That was a great weekend,and we enjoyed the evening conversations with you out at the fire pit. All the best to you both in the coming months and we look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,

Bill and Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LITITZ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

This 'was our first visit to the Cliffside Inn. You always wonder if the place you are going to stay at will come up to your expectations and the Inn did that and more. Our room was exquisite with the beautiful linens on the four poster bed, a fireplace, and lovely Bay window. The antiques throughout the Inn showed great attention to detail. Nancy and Bill, our Inkeeepers, could not do enough to make us feel "at home." I had an unplanned visit to the E.R. and they were so concerned for my well being. and made accomadations for our daughter and grandaughter who drove up to stay overnight in order to take us home We can go on and on, but suffice it to say our stay there was memorable and hope to return some day. Our personal thanks to Nancy and Bill who are the perfect Innkeepers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emacbride58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
We are just so happy that things worked out ok and everyone is fine. Although the trip was cut short, we really enjoyed the time we had with both of you and hope that you can return soon to continue the visit.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
3.2 mi away
OceanCliff Hotel
OceanCliff Hotel
#14 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Property: Cliffside Inn
Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing