We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE IT, LOVE IT, LOVE IT!”
Review of Cliffside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliffside Inn
Ranked #1 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2011

There are probably 100 hotels/B&Bs in Newport. You could stay in any of them, but WHY when you could stay at the Cliffside Inn. There isn't anything overlooked or forgotten. The innkeepers are a class act and everything they do is quality! The Inn is TRULY lovely and comfortable. The bed was so great we want to buy one just like it. The bathrobes, the fabrics, the wine and apps at tea time: REALLY, if you are choosing ANYWHERE to stay, just call them and relax! We were sad to leave! 6 stars out of 5

Room Tip: The Garden Suite faces due East so the sunrise is divine. The spiral staircase down to the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Olsons98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Thank you for staying with us and we are thrilled that you loved the Garden Suite. I only wish we had a spot to stable the horses for your next visit! Looking forward to having you back to try the Carriage House.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,079 - 1,085 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2011

The Cliffside Inn is the Four Seasons of B & B's. It is five star all the way from the accommodations, location, ammenities and the outstanding hospitality and service. We were greeted by our hosts with a lovely wine and appetizer reception. The new owners, Bill and Nancy, have done extensive rennovations to turn this historic inn into a fabulous modern B & B without losing any of the charm of the original inn. The interior is beautiful with tasteful decor and spacious rooms .....not to mention the luxurious bathrooms. The cliff walk is literally 100 feet from the Inn which is amazing. We took the cliff walk to the Chanler for dinner and came back to enjoy the outdoor firepit at the Inn. The breakfast was first class and was served in the dining room or on the spacious front porch. You need to look no further to plan a trip to Newport! In addition to these amazing features of the Inn, the location is absolutely perfect to tour the Mansions and rest of Newport. Unfortunately, we had to depart early due to the hurricane which was very disappointing. We will definitely be going back to the Cliffside Inn and have already planned to take many of our friends!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dwfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

Thank you for your thoughtful comments. We are so happy you had such a memorable stay with us. We enjoyed your company in the short time you were here...plotting Hurricane Irene's path, and helping you discover the best of Newport before the rain started. Nancy and I look forward to your next visit. Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

The Cliffside Inn is a walk back in time that has all the amenities. Restored victorian in 2011. Amazing detail. More amazing comfort. We stayed in the Beatrice Room! The bathroom spa alone is a get away. The owners and staff are welcoming, helpful and make the stay a joy. Morning hikes on the Cliff Walk - only 1,000 feet from the inn. Walk into town for dinner - less than 1/2 mile. Cigars around the fire pit at night.

Most enjoyable bed and breakfast that I have experienced!

Room Tip: Go to the website and find the room that fits your style. The Beatrice was perfect for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2011

It was so great to have you here. We enjoyed our chats by the fire pit, but I think my most memorable part of your stay was the Scrabble tie! How often does that happen? Good luck with your dissertation editing.

Best,
Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

These inn keepers know what they are doing. The whole place has been done over with great attention to detail. We loved the afternoon tea, the wine and snacks and great breakfasts. The rooms are so lovely. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynnek614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2011

Sorry that things were so bad on Long Island that you had to plan a last minute get away, but so glad you decided to do it with us. We really enjoyed having you and hope you won big at Mohegan Sun!

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

I searched for a B&B on the web - found the Cliffside Inn and it was everything and more. Only Hurricane Irene got in the way and we had to leave this beautiful inn a day early. The owners have done an outstanding job in re-decorating, more like gutting the place - the inn and the suite that we had in the cottage were just first class. Breakfast was wonderful - and knowing that we needed to leave early - breakfast was served before the set time and our boarding passes were printed - The inn is located about a 3 to 5 minute drive from the Newport mansions - and the famous cliffside walk is literally less than a minute stroll. Hands down - this is a great place - there was no question about crediting our account due to leaving a day early. If you have a chance to go to Newport - please consider a stay at the Cliffside Inn - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uupscaletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2011

That darn Irene! Luckily, you got home ok and we survived ok. You did miss a brilliant round of Scrabble by candlelight though. We look forward to you coming back soon. Maybe a December holiday visit?

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Bill and Nancy were fabulous hosts in this beautifully restored inn. Our room was generous and the bathroom was luxurious. No expense was spared inside or out. We met great people during the elegant "happy hour" which included a variety of fine wine and freshly prepared, gourmet savory treats. Homemade breakfast is equally delightful! The inn is located near the cliff walk, which is a great location. The hosts were also very helpful with guiding us to sites and great local food establishments. Can't wait to go again!

Room Tip: Stayed in the Grosvenors Suite. Great room, but located over the kitchen. You will hear preparation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bendinggumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2011

Thanks for all of you kind words. We are so glad that you had a good stay and can appreciate all we have done with the inn. We were unaware that the Grosvenor Suite heard any of the morning prep. Thank you for letting us know. We will look into how we can minimize that.

All the best and look forward to having you back soon.
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

A Winning Combination at the Cliffside Inn B/B: Outstanding Accommodations, Superb Service and Great Cuisine!

My husband and I recently returned from a stay at the Cliffside Inn for three days with friends. As experienced travelers with the Preferred Group of hotels across the country, Canada, and Europe, we were looking for a different kind of setting that would replicate past travel experiences of elegance, comfort, charm, service, and location.

To our delight the Cliffside Inn offered us outstanding accommodations in the newly renovated Atlantic Suite that was spacious, well appointed, immaculate, and comfortable. The food and service were superb, including delicious breakfasts, early evening
hors –doeuvres and wine, and surprise goodies to celebrate our friends 25th Wedding Anniversary and my husband’s 69th Birthday! Perhaps out greatest joy was getting to know the Cliffside innkeepers themselves – Nancy and Bill! They are delightful, engaging people who personalized our visit in welcomed ways!

The Cliffside Inn (main guest house) is unforgettably attractive in its combination of late nineteenth centry graciousness and twenty-first centry conveniences. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and almost abutt the majestic Cliff Walk. The famous Spiced Pear Restaurant is a few hundred yards away via the Cliff Walk with its panoramic Altantic oceanviews, and, to our pleasant surprise, the Inn is a convenient walk to the shops and Mansions on Bellevue Ave and to the Tennis Hall of Fame where we attended opening night of the Newport Jazz Festival.

We did not expect to become devotees of the Bed/ Breakfast Inn style of accommodations, until the experience at the Cliffside. We are booking now for another stay before the calendar year ends and have already booked for next year’s Jazz Festival. Our best wishes to Inn Keepers Bill and Nancy. Thank you for making our stay memorable.

See you at the Cliffside!
CBJ and BCJ
From Massachusetts

TIP: Nancy and Bill were wonderful in securing reservations for the Newport Jazz Festival and Restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBJ3125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2011

Wow! It is hard to respond to such a great review. I am so glad that you enjoyed the stay and that you "got" what we are doing - despite the construction not being complete. Having you here for the inaugural lighting of the fire pit was a real treat for us!

Can't wait to have you back out there now that it's officially open.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
712 reviews
0.9 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
616 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#9 of 21 in Newport
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $206 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing