We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round excellence”
Review of Castle Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“All round excellence”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed for an anniversary, so the expense of this luxurious stay was anticipated and we felt well justified. We stayed within the Inn itself, in an upstairs room with panoramic views over the bay and its traffic, the lighthouses, and sunsets. The food was way above our expectations - over three nights in the restaurant we tried most of the mains on the menus and all were excellent. Desserts were also outstanding. Afternoon tea was beautifully presented and savoured. Service was faultless and seemed effortless and genuine. Assistance with transfers in and out of NY was also provided graciously. We came a long way for this stay and enjoyed the whole experience so much that we hope to be back. For most, this property would be out of reach for a weekend getaway, but for a special occasion it has provided a memorable highlight.

Room Tip: Rooms which directly overlook the bay also overlook the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    99
    26
    21
    22
See reviews for
86
402
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Amazing views and atmosphere and equally amazing food.
It looks like it could get pricy during dinner, but brunch was affordable . We tried their lobster gumbo, arugula salad, and rise and shine burger - all were exceptional.
We'll definitely go back and try their dinner menu too - although we'd have to break the bank.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janice282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Spent a recent weekend staying in one of the beach cottages. What a view, the ocean waves are breaking on a private beach just off your deck. Room was great and the heated floor in the bathroom was a pleasant surprise. Staff was both welcoming and friendly. Breakfast (included with room) is over the top (lobster hash with poached eggs!). Had such a great stay that we booked another long weekend in the beach cottages for the fall. Expensive but worthwhile.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogerwilco123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in one of the cottages and had a lovely and peaceful stay. Very quiet; nice mature landscaping. Very luxurious bathrooms and cute mini kitchen complete with a espresso maker. I also booked a tasting menu at the restaurant and it was simply not up to par with the price point... in terms of service or food quality.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank primpolished
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
245 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This beautifully restored and maintained inn met all of our expectations. Situated on a promontory overlooking the harbor entrance water views were abundant. The breakfast was hearty and served in a spacious dining room with sunshine and vistas. Staff were well trained and eager to please. Surely will return!

Room Tip: Select a room in the main Inn. #5 was terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, CT
Level Contributor
167 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Castle Hill has a group of small cottages right on the rocky beach that are just about perfect. In addition to a really comfortable bed, there's a lovely sitting area with a gas fireplace and a small self-service sink/fridge/microwave/coffee maker area. It was very nicely decorated with muted colors and no kitch. Very, very pleasant. The reason it didn't really deserve an excellent rating is the floor wasn't clean. I understand it was on the beach but there shouldn't be sand over most of the floor when you check in. After the turn down service we realized even the sheets were gritty. Breakfast was included and quite good. Call me crazy but I'm looking forward to going back again. Maybe I'll bring my Swiffer!

Room Tip: The cottages are really special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2peripatetics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Maitland_Young, General Manager at Castle Hill Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
No need to bring your own Swiffer - rest assured we'll do a much better job of ensuring that the sand is properly swept from your cottage! I do apologize for this oversight, and we were happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Gazing out my rear french doors this morning, sipping my coffee, the only sounds being waves lapping, seagulls cawing and the cry of a hawk. A small rabbit which was nibbling on some freshly dewed greens skittered away into the safety of the sea brush. A small muskrat slinked quickly out of and then back into the same rustic, thorny, shorline.
I felt a thousand miles from home, abiet just an hour and a half from my starting destination.
We stayed in one of the Harbor Houses which was clean a richly appointed with comfortable linens and cozy surroundings.The semi-private deck is the very nice amply sized for two with comfortable furniture.
We enjoyed a tasty lunch on our arrival date. Service was excellant, the lobster roll and chowder as good as it gets, the chicken also cooked perfectly on the romaine salad.
We also enjoyed a soothing massage therapy session in their spa room at the inn.
Overall the Castle Hill Inn provided us with excellant service and we will return
If any suggestions I would make to give a 5 star rating. Here are some small but I think important features, at least to me, a contractor about 50.
In my room just about every wall fixture, ie. light switch, plug plate, telephone jack CROOKED, some laughably.Ok maybe most don't notice but like I said I am a contractor and I notice the fine points in a building. Also the bathroom sink water stop woud not stay down and the shower faucet control albeit fully funtional, clearly needed a little attention. Again almost over picky but then 5 star is 5 star!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
3.1 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
2.7 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Inn

Property: Castle Hill Inn
Address: 590 Ocean Ave, Newport, RI 02840-6518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#8 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dynamic and breathtaking, Castle Hill Inn promises an exclusive, luxury experience for each guest who visits. The property's 40 acres offer everything from panoramic water views, and rustic hiking trails to private beaches and hidden rocky coves. In summer, guests come to unwind and enjoy the Newport social scene that gathers on the Lawn, which slopes from an elegantly restored 19th-century mansion out to Narragansett Bay. During cooler months, Castle Hill becomes more of a private retreat, perfect for escapes from city life but still close to the amenities of downtown Newport. Year round, the property also boasts world-class dining that showcases the best of Rhode Island's seasonal bounty, Castle Hill's extraordinary setting only becomes more beautiful with each turn of season, and we do our best to match its brilliance with unmatched service for our guests. A Relais & Chateaux member and recipient of Forbes Travel Guide Four Star Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Hotel Newport
Castle Hill Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing