We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Cute and Relaxing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castle Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Andover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute and Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in a beach front cottage, which was a great choice for us. The room is a little small, but very cute. You walk out the back door onto your deck and have a very pretty view of the small private beach. You can walk off your deck down to the beach in about 30 sec. It's like have your own little beach right in your back yard. We loved it. The hotel does offer room service to the cottages and they are very accommodating. We had dinner at the restaurant one night after enjoying a drink on the adirondack chairs on the lawn at sunset and really enjoyed it. It's only a short drive to downtown Newport (About 8 Mins.), which is great for shopping and eating. Overall it is a little expensive, but was a great couple of days.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    97
    26
    20
    22
See reviews for
83
378
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
98 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Drive into the Castle Hill Inn property created expectations of perfection and that is exactly what we found. The Mansion sits on a Bluff overlooking the Harbor of Newport where you see the lights from the Bridge in the distance The entire staff is warm, welcoming and very knowledgeable about not only the Inn but Newport in general. Our room was in the Mansion and was fit for a queen.. The oversized Soaking Tub in the tiled bath was just what I had been hoping for plus the sounds of the Fog Horns in the distance added mystery and intrigue. The breakfast selections were absolutely delicious and enjoyed on the porch outside where we watched the sailboats exiting the yacht basin. Initially disappointed that our room was not available for our second night's stay we were instead given the BEACH COTTAGE.. Well...How lucky we were as it turned out to be the most comfortable little getaway with a stone fireplace, four poster King sized bed more comfortable than you could imagine.. PLUS very large bathroom (again with an over sized Whirlpool tub) kitchenette and a porch right on the beach. Cannot wait to return..again and again!!! Being a kid at heart I walked the beach finding sand dollars and sea glass at sunrise.. It just doesn't get any better anywhere!! and....afternoon Tea was a delight!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at a small beach cottage over Easter this year. Whilst we loved many things, we had a bad nights sleep and could hear all our neighbours nightly activities.
I wrote to Brian, the manager and in June we decided to give this hotel another try.

It has taken me a long time to write this review as I don't want to come accross as vindictive. However the reality is, our second stay was a major disappointment. The hotel was aware of our issues during our first stay. You would think they would make an extra effort to make sure we had a pleasant stay. But oh no. We were give beach cottage 33. The room looked like it had not been used for a while. The floor was sticky, it smelled musty, the coffee machine did not work, the kitchen was not stocked with cups and glasses, the jacuzzi did not work.
At breakfast, only 3 tables were taken but serrvice was a disorganised shambles.

I expect perfection from a place like CH. I expect this because it is expensive and it a Relaix and Chateau property. This hotel should run like clock work. It is unacceptable that guests are shown to their room before a manager has made sure the room is perfect.
In the dining room, a maitre de should overlook the smooth running.

To top our experience, the reception staff took money of my account that was for someone's else's bill.
I wrote to Brian about this and he has responded. I also wrote to Relaix and Chateau but they are not interested in these issues.

I really like CH , the staff are lovely and the location wonderful but I was saddened after our last visit. I just wish they would get it right.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chocolate74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carver, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
98 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I indulged in a 3-night stay to celebrate my 40th birthday. I was so pampered I was glad to be turning 40! From daily tea, to wine on the lawn and amazing breakfasts and dinner, we loved it! We stayed in the turret suite and loved every minute of it (even when the view was fogged over). There was a young couple with a baby there, but I wouldn't recommend it for children. Castle Hill Inn is all about adult time! The price was high, but understandable given the level of service. Also, my husband and I slept fine, but I could see individuals sensitive to noise struggling with the fog horn in the middle of the night.

Room Tip: According to the in-room info book, the Turret Suite was where author Thornton Wilder had an affair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeannCarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed 5 nights here before moving onto New York - it was supposed to be our relaxing time. Instead we filled our time with trips into Newport, the excellent food and hospitality at Castle Hill Inn, 2 Segway trips (see other review for Newport Segways) and finished by cruising Newport harbour on the Hinkley motor-launch housed at the hotel - under the excellent captaincy of Jason. Whilst a busy place with weddings, external guests dining or drinking in the heavenly sunsets etc - we always felt that we Inn guests came first - particular thanks to Madeleine, Tyler and Erica at the Inn and Haydn on the beach - the young servers from various nationalities were all attentive, well trained and polite. The food is delicious (not necessarily inexpensive!) but quality - might benefit from a few daily 'specials' if only to vary the fare for the longer staying guest. Our Lighthouse suite was well appointed with a lovely huge shower - a side sea view (over the car park). Never tried the complementary afternoon tea - was too busy or too full!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steelsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

In April of this year, my boyfriend and I stayed at the Castle Hill in in one of the beachside cottages. It was a fantastic experience! It was a very nice, clean room right on the water. The main inn was just a short walk away. We were very impressed with the service—everyone was willing help with any request. It goes without saying but the Cast Hill Inn is situated on an unbelievably beautiful piece of property. We enjoyed just hanging out and taking in the view.


We had dinner at the inn one night and decided to eat at the bar rather than in the main room. We had mix of bar food and selections off the main menu. Again, the service was fantastic. Great drinks, bread, and seafood.



Would recommend the beach cottages for a special occasion!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank epetersonyake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT - USA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Highly rated, Relais & Châteaux affiliated property with some things I wasn’t expecting. There are plenty of favorable reviews here but what took me by surprise is below.

The Castle Hill Inn is;

- First, a tourist destination. It is a destination for people that are staying both at the Inn and elsewhere who come for a drink on the lawn or patio. On a nice afternoon there is a line in the driveway- to get in and park - guests with window tags are waved through after waiting in the line and can park close. Others are directed to the lawn of the marina and have a 2 minute walk. This isn’t a knock but it is reality - we thought we were staying at an secluded Inn that would be sedate - after breakfast ( if it is a nice day) it is not.

- Second, a banquet facility. There is a huge semi- permanent tent next to the Inn for banquets. It is attached to the Chalet and is supported by a series of temporary out buildings that range from tents to other temporary metal buildings. These are in a row on the right side as you walk from the Inn to the Chalet. Potted Arborvitae’s disguise the buildings -- This is may not be an issue unless you are staying in the Chalet. See photo attached.

- Third an Inn with cottages on the property. At breakfast when it is not busy you realize this is a really cool place. The main building is great as is the private beach. Caveat on the Chalet rooms- they are very nice but are above the banquet facility. After say 9am there will be staff breaking down tables on hardwood floors below you that is impossible to ignore. Also, while the Chalet rooms are on a cove there is only a water view from a few windows- the rest overlook the banquet tent. The view from the entrance belies the Inn’s ratings (see attached). Also in the Chalet rooms there is nowhere to sit outside such as a deck, porch or patio.

I was expecting the Castle Hill Inn to be the RI equivalent of The Mayflower Inn (also Relais & Châteaux affiliation) and it was not.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Tom2002a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
3.1 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#10 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Inn

Property: Castle Hill Inn
Address: 590 Ocean Drive, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#8 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dynamic and breathtaking, Castle Hill Inn promises an exclusive, luxury experience for each guest who visits. The property's 40 acres offer everything from panoramic water views, and rustic hiking trails to private beaches and hidden rocky coves. In summer, guests come to unwind and enjoy the Newport social scene that gathers on the Lawn, which slopes from an elegantly restored 19th-century mansion out to Narragansett Bay. During cooler months, Castle Hill becomes more of a private retreat, perfect for escapes from city life but still close to the amenities of downtown Newport. Year round, the property also boasts world-class dining that showcases the best of Rhode Island's seasonal bounty, Castle Hill's extraordinary setting only becomes more beautiful with each turn of season, and we do our best to match its brilliance with unmatched service for our guests. A Relais & Chateaux member and recipient of Forbes Travel Guide Four Star Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Castle Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Hotel Newport
Castle Hill Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing