We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great views and delicous food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Hill Inn to your Saves list
Castle Hill Inn
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   590 Ocean Drive, Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Newport Mansion Tour
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great views and delicous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My friend and I went to Castle Hill Inn for their Sunday Jazz Brunch. We decided to walk to their lighthouse which was a very nice walk. Then we sat out on the front lawn till our reservation was ready. The wait staff were very nice. The food was great. It was $16 for the brunch which included an appetizer, lunch, and desert. I highly suggest the flat bread for appetizer, if you like hummus you will love it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smashk4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    86
    25
    19
    21
See reviews for
69
335
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The staff at Castle Hill was extremely polite and helpful. The moment we walked in the door we were greeted with a friendly staff, who later showed us our room. The room had a breathtaking view, with a clean bathroom. The only small concern I had was for the shower pressure to be a bit stronger, other than that everything was perfect.

The bed in the room was very comfortable. For me, its the little things that make the experience. I loved that when we went for our evening run, the robes were arranged by the bed, along with slippers, delicious pieces of chocolates and water on the counter by the bed.

There is also an excellent espresso maker in the room. Aside from that, the hotel rate includes a wonderful "tea-time" experience with delicious treats and varieties of tea. The breakfast and dinner were also delicious and I would certainly come back to this place and recommend all my friends and family to come back here again. The views all around the hotel are breathtaking --- the sunset was amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

My wife and i spent a lovely weekend here celebrating her birthday with another couple. We stayed in a "beach house" - fabulous room with fireplace, heated floors, and deck overlooking the immediately adjacent ocean. Right on a private beach cove. Also delicious breakfasts in a dining room perched cliffside. Pricey, but great choice in this price range.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
654 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

What a nice relaxing place for lunch! It is so calming to view the sailboats as they pass. The staff is super friendly and the food delicious. The crab cakes were almost all crab meat and seasoned great! And, the lobster roll is a pleasant twist on the traditional without loads of mayo so that you can really taste the lobster meat.
I would definitely make this a recommended stop on any visit to Newport, RI.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoInTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed for two nights and wished it could have been a week. What a team at Castle Hill. The best all-round stay we have enjoyed in the USA. Gorgeous food, beautiful triple-aspect room, attentive staff, lovely grounds and ocean views. Nothing was too much trouble, but we didn't need to trouble the team for anything: they already had it covered.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel to get full information as there are many different options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gapdecader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Maitland_Young, General Manager at Castle Hill Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Castle Hill, and rest assured I will share your kind words with our staff. You are absolutely correct...we have many rooms from which to choose, and each one in the Aggasiz mansion has its own aspect and personality. We look forward to having you back with us on your next visit to New England, when you might like to try another room on for size!

Warm regards,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodmere, New York
Level Contributor
177 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have gone nearly every year for about 10 yrs but tried Ocean House, also nice, but Castle Hill is still a big fave. I want to be sure to get there in 2013 as we missed the beach house and tasting with wine dinner. We enjoy their woods, cliffs and grounds. The dining room is so beautiful with water and bridge views. Newport is great anyway; cliff walk, art museum, nearby wineries and water everywhere.

Room Tip: We tried many rooms, even the tower, but nothing beats the beach houses and the bath view is of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peggyvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

From the moment we stepped out of the car, Castle Hill was an increasingly pleasant experience. The staff were extremely kind and helpful, the location is gorgeous, and the accommodations were just as expected: top-notch. Not only that, but Castle Hill also has a very interesting history that made me feel like Steve Zissou would be arriving imminently. Located a short, scenic drive from the hustle and bustle of Bellevue (if you can call it that), Castle Hill is a historic gem of a B&B that is close enough to provide access to the wonders of the area while being remote enough to let visitors feel like they've gotten away on their getaway. To put it simply, I'll paraphrase one Ferris Bueller: It is so choice. If you have the means, I highly recommend visiting this place.

Room Tip: The Lighthouse Suite is perfect for couples or small families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phildozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Maitland_Young, General Manager at Castle Hill Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thanks very much for your kind words. Professor Alexander Aggasiz, the renowned Harvard educator and marine zoologist who built Castle Hill in the 1870's, would have been delighted to know that his beloved mansion might warrant a visit from Steve Zissou! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
3.0 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#2 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 556 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#11 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,589 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Inn

Property: Castle Hill Inn
Address: 590 Ocean Drive, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#8 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dynamic and breathtaking, Castle Hill Inn promises an exclusive, luxury experience for each guest who visits. The property's 40 acres offer everything from panoramic water views, and rustic hiking trails to private beaches and hidden rocky coves. In summer, guests come to unwind and enjoy the Newport social scene that gathers on the Lawn, which slopes from an elegantly restored 19th-century mansion out to Narragansett Bay. During cooler months, Castle Hill becomes more of a private retreat, perfect for escapes from city life but still close to the amenities of downtown Newport. Year round, the property also boasts world-class dining that showcases the best of Rhode Island's seasonal bounty, Castle Hill's extraordinary setting only becomes more beautiful with each turn of season, and we do our best to match its brilliance with unmatched service for our guests. A Relais & Chateaux member and recipient of Forbes Travel Guide Four Star Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Castle Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Hotel Newport
Castle Hill Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing