We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a perfect stay: we're glad we spent it with you...”
Review of Castle Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed for two nights and wished it could have been a week. What a team at Castle Hill. The best all-round stay we have enjoyed in the USA. Gorgeous food, beautiful triple-aspect room, attentive staff, lovely grounds and ocean views. Nothing was too much trouble, but we didn't need to trouble the team for anything: they already had it covered.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel to get full information as there are many different options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gapdecader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Maitland_Young, General Manager at Castle Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Castle Hill, and rest assured I will share your kind words with our staff. You are absolutely correct...we have many rooms from which to choose, and each one in the Aggasiz mansion has its own aspect and personality. We look forward to having you back with us on your next visit to New England, when you might like to try another room on for size!

Warm regards,

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 714 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have gone nearly every year for about 10 yrs but tried Ocean House, also nice, but Castle Hill is still a big fave. I want to be sure to get there in 2013 as we missed the beach house and tasting with wine dinner. We enjoy their woods, cliffs and grounds. The dining room is so beautiful with water and bridge views. Newport is great anyway; cliff walk, art museum, nearby wineries and water everywhere.

Room Tip: We tried many rooms, even the tower, but nothing beats the beach houses and the bath view is of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peggyvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

From the moment we stepped out of the car, Castle Hill was an increasingly pleasant experience. The staff were extremely kind and helpful, the location is gorgeous, and the accommodations were just as expected: top-notch. Not only that, but Castle Hill also has a very interesting history that made me feel like Steve Zissou would be arriving imminently. Located a short, scenic drive from the hustle and bustle of Bellevue (if you can call it that), Castle Hill is a historic gem of a B&B that is close enough to provide access to the wonders of the area while being remote enough to let visitors feel like they've gotten away on their getaway. To put it simply, I'll paraphrase one Ferris Bueller: It is so choice. If you have the means, I highly recommend visiting this place.

Room Tip: The Lighthouse Suite is perfect for couples or small families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phildozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Maitland_Young, General Manager at Castle Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thanks very much for your kind words. Professor Alexander Aggasiz, the renowned Harvard educator and marine zoologist who built Castle Hill in the 1870's, would have been delighted to know that his beloved mansion might warrant a visit from Steve Zissou! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a reunion weekend with 6 other couples at Castle Hill Inn to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday in September. It was so amazing. From the luxury accommodations to the wine pairing dinners and delicious breakfasts (and afternoon tea), every detail was perfect. I cannot recommend this spot enough. The staff can help plan any event, large or intimate. They helped me coordinate everything so that it was the best it could be. It was a wonderful New England weekend that we will remember forever.

Room Tip: The beach house rooms are well worth the price. They had fireplaces that added to the atmosphere an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Maitland_Young, General Manager at Castle Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

I was happy to learn that you and your friends enjoyed your husband's 50th celebration at the Inn, as well as our beachfront accommodations and wine selections. Please know that I'll share your kind comments with our team.

Best regards,

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

If one needs rest and relaxation with things to do just a short drive away this is your place to be. Castle Hill Inn is a perfect choice for special weekend getaway. Our 25th wedding anniversery weekend at CHI for my husband and myself is one we will always remember. Watching the boats coming and going in the harbor was just what we needed. One day maybe we will share it with our children and friends but for now it is our little secret place to go! Many thanks to the staff for making this worth trip!

Room Tip: All accomodations are suitable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Maitland_Young, General Manager at Castle Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, and we were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Happy 25th anniversary to you both, and we look forward to welcoming you back for many more, whatever the occasion may be, or not be!

Kind regards,

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Perfect location on the water with great sunsets!
Rooms are beautiful, immaculate. Dining at the
Castle Hill for breakfast, lunch, dinner and
afternoon tea is fabulous; superior chefs prepare
gourmet, seasonal cuisine.
Friendly, helpful, professional staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janbaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were treated as second class citizens behind the people staying in the actual hotel even though I was a part of a wedding party, that I would imagine spent $5k-$10k on food and drinks.

When complaints were made to management about some of the staff's rude behaviour, the management did nothing to fix the situation and actually defended some of the behaviour.

The place has nice views, but I would never spend a dollar here given the unprofessionalism and generally condescending attitudes of staff and management.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Maitland_Young, General Manager at Castle Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

I was sorry to learn of your disappointment, but I truly feel that our staff were trying to make the best of a challenging situation. which revolved around competing requests to view two different college football games on television. Our dining room managers had approached your party in reference to an animated request to turn the television in the small lounge adjacent to your wedding party to a different game than the one that was being shown. Two of our other guests who were already seated in the lounge were enjoying that game, and your party were insistent about your request to change the TV to another game. The lounge is a small one, with one television, and is certainly not a sports bar,. Our practice is to maintain the channel that is being watched, unless the guests come to an arrangement to share or change the channels.

Unfortunately, a member of the wedding party became verbally and physically abusive to the those two guests, using profanity, and our staff had to intervene. What should have been an enjoyable evening for all turned into an unfortunate incident, but our staff reacted appropriately.

Please feel free to contact me at 401-324-4507 should you wish to discuss further.

Sincerely,

Brian Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
2.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
3.1 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
610 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
689 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Inn

Address: 590 Ocean Ave, Newport, RI 02840-6518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#8 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $379 - $958 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dynamic and breathtaking, Castle Hill Inn promises an exclusive, luxury experience for each guest who visits. The property's 40 acres offer everything from panoramic water views, and rustic hiking trails to private beaches and hidden rocky coves. In summer, guests come to unwind and enjoy the Newport social scene that gathers on the Lawn, which slopes from an elegantly restored 19th-century mansion out to Narragansett Bay. During cooler months, Castle Hill becomes more of a private retreat, perfect for escapes from city life but still close to the amenities of downtown Newport. Year round, the property also boasts world-class dining that showcases the best of Rhode Island's seasonal bounty, Castle Hill's extraordinary setting only becomes more beautiful with each turn of season, and we do our best to match its brilliance with unmatched service for our guests. A Relais & Chateaux member and recipient of Forbes Travel Guide Four Star Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Castle Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Hotel Newport
Castle Hill Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing