We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expectations Satisfied”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Westfield NJ
1 review
“Expectations Satisfied”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Every level of service was exceptional. The setting has to be seen. We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary (with our immediate family)and came away with great memories. I have always tended to stay away from hotel food. You will make a mistake if you do not experience the fine dining at Castle Hill

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    98
    26
    20
    22
See reviews for
85
399
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

My mother and i were on vacation in august. We did not actually stay here. We drove around on ocean drive and thought we'd find the lighthouse, but instead, Great surprise found Castle Hill Inn. Wonderful service, pricey but Excellent food. The Rhode Island Muffaletta is too die for. The best part is the view and location. I'll say it again, Beautiful view, you are looking at the sun over the narragansett bay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank phillyburb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

The valet parking attendant had left our windows open overnight and we had a difficult time clearing up the windows and the windshield. Rather unexpected given the level of service we had experienced. Also, we had to leave earlier than expected and found that they hadn't billed us for the previous night's expensive dinner. Called their attention to it and after a LONG wait, finally got the bill sorted out properly. I was just doing the right thing, so to speak, but I expected some kind of gesture of gratitude given that it was a sizeable bill that I reported.

Otherwise, it was better than I had imagined. Photographs did not do justice. Service was otherwise impeccable and everything was beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludette867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Maitland_Young, General Manager at Castle Hill Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thanks very much for taking the time to write about your visit to the Inn. I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay, but was concerned about the two lapses in service that you encountered. Please accept my apologies for our not having prepared your car appropriately for the evening, and I am sorry you were the one who had to bring our billing error to our attention. Thank you for being so honest! If you have time, I'd very much appreciate speaking with you about your experience - please feel free to give me a call at your convenience. My direct line is 401-324-4507.

Kind regards,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Castle Hill Inn has the historic mansion, the perfect site, the best beach, and even a lighthouse! Like all Relais y Chateaux, it also has the luxury service on every front and in a city that is famous for all of the above. Newport is the queen of the Gilded Age as
well as the site of The American's Cup and the International Tennis Hall of Fame.

Room Tip: We love the beach houses which have a kitchen and large deck not to mention the best beach on Ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

unbelieveable views of Narragansett Bay. They are banking on those views to charge top dollar for food that is just ok. Our waitress was lovely but the reception for diners who are not staying at the hotel is much less than gracious. Second class citizens. Food was ok but our table smelled as it was close to dumpster situated right next to patio. Would return, but only for drinks and views.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulietRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
220 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Really cozy room and beautiful scenery, however, it was disappointing to get the bridal suite so late as we had a lot of people crammed into the one room we had paid for the night before to get ready in time. What if we didn't get a room the night before?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGcvn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

The Castle Hill Inn is the perfect example of what a prestigious Relais & Chateau facility stands for.

It's difficult not to be impressed when the man at the entrance gate knows it's your birthday. Each person you encounter seems to know who you are before you say a word to anyone. There are very attentive hosts who greet you, check you in and then continue to escort you to your room.

The Inn has a quaint and antique appearance. But every room is refreshed with the latest updates of modern amenities. The smallest room in the Inn was more than enough for us with marble bathroom, sitting area, desk and generous double door closet.

Each mornning begins with an exquisite breakfast on the lawn. The outdoor 5-star bar looks out over the Narragansett Bay as it meets the ocean. The rolling lawn is filled with an endless amount of white adirondack chairs. We spent most of our time in the lawn section reserved for Inn guests. ...hours on the padded couches of rattan furniture shaded by movable umbrellas. Tough to leave after a couple glasses of champaign and a cheese tray. Then again there is the 5 star restaurant in the all-glass round-room looking out over the slow floating yachts as they find their way back to Newport. And then there's Newport!

Romantic location, Stunning views, exceptional service and quality. The Castle Hill Inn is worth every cent you can spend there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
3.1 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
2.7 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Inn

Property: Castle Hill Inn
Address: 590 Ocean Ave, Newport, RI 02840-6518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#8 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dynamic and breathtaking, Castle Hill Inn promises an exclusive, luxury experience for each guest who visits. The property's 40 acres offer everything from panoramic water views, and rustic hiking trails to private beaches and hidden rocky coves. In summer, guests come to unwind and enjoy the Newport social scene that gathers on the Lawn, which slopes from an elegantly restored 19th-century mansion out to Narragansett Bay. During cooler months, Castle Hill becomes more of a private retreat, perfect for escapes from city life but still close to the amenities of downtown Newport. Year round, the property also boasts world-class dining that showcases the best of Rhode Island's seasonal bounty, Castle Hill's extraordinary setting only becomes more beautiful with each turn of season, and we do our best to match its brilliance with unmatched service for our guests. A Relais & Chateaux member and recipient of Forbes Travel Guide Four Star Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Hotel Newport
Castle Hill Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing