We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TYPICAL NEW ENGLAND”
Review of Castle Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Suresnes, France
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 671 helpful votes
“TYPICAL NEW ENGLAND”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights in May 2012. We had researched Newport for a luxurious accommodation, and of course had a biased idea of the place, based on European views ; we saw it as a small walkable island, which it is not. It a totally different scale !
Castle Hill Inn is located well out of the way, be it the historical center or the mansions. Well it was quiet and secluded, and we just drove to and from. I suppose during the America's Cup or a typical summer week-end, i might be a different less pleasant experience.

We had booked a Superior Beach Cottage. We drove past some units while just entering the property, saying to ourselves, I hope it is not this; drove uphills under a pouring rain, checked in in the main house, and had to follow a nice guy in a Mercedes SUV downhills, right back to the entrance, to the units I had hoped would not be ours.
Well, they were fantastic. Pristine, secluded after all, quiet, enjoying a beautiful view (that's when the fog gave us a break), with a nice terrace to enjoy whenever it stopped raining (which it did, eventually). Storage space is not big, qnd we ended storing our bags under the bed. I do not see a point myself to the small kitchen, except the Nespresso machine which comes in handy. We could not hear our neighbours. We never even saw them, which is perfectly fine with me, but their car was there.
fantastic bed. Good lighting. Efficient aircon. Good bathroon with nice toiletries (guys, we are supposed to use them, not sample them. Having to ask for more is beyond me). Housekeeping not the best : forgetting rags, not repleneshing toiletries, not putting more towels even when asked for). This was gracefully taken care of at check out.
Breakfast is served is a beautiful dining room with a great view (when available). Good selection, and propt service, including and older maitre d, probably fron italian background, talking too loudly and for too long to guests, and behaving like he owns the place, or better, like he is entertaining. Slightly beyond one's position, I would say.

Check out was very efficient, under a beautiful shining sun, only to make us feel like going back soon. Good value for money, even if they make you prepay, which is very old style, like before the time of internet or fax.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PASCAL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    101
    26
    21
    23
See reviews for
88
415
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
east coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My wife loves to travel, and she found Castle Hill Inn on a search. We arrived Friday afternoon and stayed in the Turrett Suite. Service was excellent, staff was very attentive, almost overbearing.
Sunday brunch with the jazz trio was fun. Had no complaints, we're easy to please.
I read all the reviews before we arrived. the negative reviews ? get over yourselves....Life is to be enjoyed, not criticized.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This was the first stop on our tour of Coastal New England and we were extremely pleased that we chose Castle Hill in Newport as our first destination. This is an absoutely beautiful property. We stayed in the Inn. Our room was so beautifully appointed and had a delightful water view. The bed was probably one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in!
Dining at Castle Hill was very good. The breakfast was excellent, dinner was also good and a little pricey.We wished they had served dinner past 8:00pm, but that was fine,We loved the jazz at the Sunday Brunch. They also had a wine list which could please just about anybody.
The staff was very attentive and friendly. We did not get to stay long enough in Newport, as there was much to see. We do hope to return someday, and if we do we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYGram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I have stayed at the finest hotels around the world and I can honestly say Castle Hill is among the best of the best. EVERY staff member went out of their way to do whatever it took to make you happy and provide what you want. We had an amazing experience. And the live jazz on the lawn on Sundays watching the boats sail by is an absolute must. Such a treat. Really, I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an exceptionally elegant experience.

Room Tip: We had both a beach house and a suite in the hotel. The beach house was ADORABLE, so cute and peacef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolasiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful extended weekend celebrating our 20th anniversary in a beach house at the Castle Hill Inn. While I certainly recommend this inn for all, the service is inconsistent and does not hit the mark. For instance, the maid service varied greatly from day to day for each of our four nights, the room service forgot to deliver at least one element of the service every one of the five times ordered, the beach attendants made fine efforts, but awkwardly delivered service to guests. The worst experience had to be when we attempted to enjoy an evening cocktail on the lawn. It seems that every tour operator and book recommends that visitors to Newport go to CHI for a drink on the lawn. Regrettably, CHI is all too happy to accommodate all of these outsiders. So, when we went to have our cocktail, as guests, the attendant at the receiving podium suggested that the fastest way for us to get a drink would be to go to the inside bar, get our drink ourselves, and then go to the lawn. Unfortunately, we took that advice, got the drinks, and returned to the lawn to find not a single available seat and many people standing or sitting on the grass. Although there was a sign indicating "reserved for guests", this was either not observed, not enforced, or not sufficient. We ended up walking our drinks back to our beach house. Such a shame that guests paying a super premium are shut out of this experience. Despite this and the seriously inconsistent service, I would recommend the CHI with the proviso that you spring for the beach houses or beach cottages and just plan on steering clear of the main inn building for most of your stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

My wife and I both love the ocean so last summer we stayed at a Castle Hill Beach House. This spring, we were just going for one night; we stayed at a Harbor House. The Harbor Houses are closer to the main house but the views are equally as outstanding. In fact there’s much more boating traffic if you’re interested in photos of sail boats and yachts. The complementary breakfast was as good as we remembered it and they will deliver it to your Harbor House. The terraces on the Harbor Houses are not as large as the Beach Houses so there are two small cocktail tables in place of a full size patio table but it worked out just fine. In the evening it’s just a few steps to the outside bar and al fresco dining on decks or the lawn overlooking the sunset. The bar menu is smaller than the main dining menu so you won’t be able to experience some of their signature dishes but what is served is excellent. We’ll be back again later this summer.

Room Tip: No elevator in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, RI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We had a Brunch on Mothers Day for 4. We left with very mixed feelings. The food was ok - although the variety of the buffet could have been broader. The service was mediocre, sometimes not even that. I wouldn't have complained, if the price had been reasonable. But we left the place with fivehundred bucks less than we had when we arrived. It was definitively not worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Schnupfel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rirestaurants, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hill Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to review Castle Hill and for choosing to spend Mother’s day with us. My apologies that your brunch experience did not meet your expectations. The menu at Castle Hill is created with the highest quality, locally sourced ingredients. We strive to deliver all our guests with exceptional food and service during each visit. Thank you again for providing these comments. We understand that it is through guest feedback we are able to improve and grow and I look forward to sharing your feedback with the Castle Hill culinary team. We recently opened The Lawn, our al fresco restaurant overlooking Narragansett Bay and I do hope you choose to join us! Please feel free to reach out to me directly should you need any further assistance.

Best Regards,

Andrea Greenberg
Customer Loyalty Concierge
Castle Hill Inn
401.847.0560
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
2.9 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
628 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
2.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
2.7 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Inn

Property: Castle Hill Inn
Address: 590 Ocean Ave, Newport, RI 02840-6518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#8 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dynamic and breathtaking, Castle Hill Inn promises an exclusive, luxury experience for each guest who visits. The property's 40 acres offer everything from panoramic water views, and rustic hiking trails to private beaches and hidden rocky coves. In summer, guests come to unwind and enjoy the Newport social scene that gathers on the Lawn, which slopes from an elegantly restored 19th-century mansion out to Narragansett Bay. During cooler months, Castle Hill becomes more of a private retreat, perfect for escapes from city life but still close to the amenities of downtown Newport. Year round, the property also boasts world-class dining that showcases the best of Rhode Island's seasonal bounty, Castle Hill's extraordinary setting only becomes more beautiful with each turn of season, and we do our best to match its brilliance with unmatched service for our guests. A Relais & Chateaux member and recipient of Forbes Travel Guide Four Star Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Castle Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Hotel Newport
Castle Hill Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing