We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real find in Newport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Ranked #5 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Staten Island, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A real find in Newport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2006

We found this inn by blind luck, really. I had to take some vacation this month, we wanted to go somewhere we'd never been before within driving distance, and I had always wanted to see the Newport mansions. A quick web search turned up the Admiral Fitzroy, they offered a fantastic off-season package, and we booked it.

The location was perfect, the rooms clean and invitingly decorated, with nice little touches like fresh bottles of spring water left in our room every day and a basket full of specialty teas. The staff were uniformly knowledgeable and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed the plentiful and delicious continental breakfast each morning.

Our trip, planned the day before we left, was wonderful, despite inclement weather. Newport (and the Admiral Fitzroy Inn) will definitely be on our list of return trips for next year!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michele714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    87
    16
    6
    1
See reviews for
46
243
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterbury, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2006

This B&B was the first we'd ever stayed in. We got a fantastic deal with one of their winter specials so the price was excellent. It's close to everything, many restaurants surround it. Decor was okay. Walls are a little thin, but staff was incredibly helpful.

Breakfast was great too.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ladybug11780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2005

A wonderful, relaxing and inviting experience. Managers and staff knowledgeable, helpful and welcoming.Located close to just about everything,harbor, dining, shopping and historical locations. Just a short drive to Bellview Avenue. Continental breakfast was superb with wonderful coffee!Unpretentious, cozy and warm, makes you feel like you are sleeping in your own bed.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jda24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne, pa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2005

stayed at admiral fitzroy- took a room on the top floor as we wanted a "private" deck- turned out was adjacent to the public deck, anyway. The decor just wasn't there- TV and fridge housed in a terrible looking entertainment center. Decor just wasn't there. Public rooms were fine and staff most friendly and helpful, however.

Helpful?
8 Thank ssvw27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2005

very nice B&B- unfortunately we chose to stay on the top level, so we could have a private deck- that room was not beautifully decorated to say the least. It was comfortable, but the decor was just not there- not like the ones pictured on the website. lLocation is great and staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank susanvwPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2005

Spent 4 days here during the Newport Boat Show. The location couldn't be better and the staff couldn't be more accomodating. Their prices reflect this excellence. However, the Corporate owners refusal to install wireless computer technology is really astonishing. Instead, they provide a single computer....with an obvious dial up connection. This seems so short sighted since the Fitzroy caters to such a large number of business people during the year. A free wireless hookup is what you would expect when you are paying up to $300/night. The cost of providing this service would be so little compared to the benefits both to the guests and the Inn.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
masschusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2005

This was my 4th time to Newport, but first time staying at the Admiral Fitzroy...The other places we stayed at were booked or only one nite available...We were there 8-20-8-22...We stayed on the first floor- room 1 overlooking parking lot....I did have a choice of other rooms but prev posts stated that overlooking Thames street is noisy. The other room was close to the elevator- which I didnt really know about the noise factor...Our room was average but nice...Queen bed, comfortable couch, small Tv w/ cable, small refrigerator....Continental breakfast each morning from 8.30 to 10(cereal, muffins, toast, fruit, coffee, juice). A nice sitting area across from kitchen to read, catch up on the daily news, computer to chk email...We were there prime time so rates were expensive- but at $275.00 + tax- I did think that was alot as other B+B's were a little less money but again you are paying for a great location- walking distance to shops and restaurants.....

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lilymae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.6 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#6 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Fitzroy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Fitzroy Inn

Property: Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Address: 398 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admiral Fitzroy Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Admiral Fitzroy Inn is an 18-room bed and breakfast conveniently located in the heart of Newport's bustling waterfront district and within walking distance to many popular local shops and restaurants. The Inn offers three floors of unique, hand painted rooms with private baths in each and an elevator for easy access. A Signature Continental breakfast, on-site parking, wireless internet and roof top deck are additional amenities included in your stay. The Inn was built in 1854 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It is approximately 1.5 hours south of Boston, 1.5 hours from Hartford, Ct, and 3.5 hours from New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Admiral Fitzroy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Fitzroy Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing