We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moderate, but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Ranked #5 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Moderate, but nice”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

This is the second time we stayed at the Admiral Fitzroy Inn with sets of grandchildren. The Inn is modest, but clean, centrally located in the harbor, well equipped and kid friendly. Free on-site parking and a generous breakfast are two other perks.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    102
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
56
286
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middle Island, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

After a recent 2-night stay, I can only reiterate what my fellow visitors to the Admiral Fitzroy have been saying - this is a very nice Inn. The location is perfect - you never have to use your car to walk down by the harbor; the staff is attentive, helpful and courteous; the accommodations are clean and well-maintained; and the breakfast is plentiful and varied. It even has an elevator! Add those homemade cookies in the lobby, a fresh breeze blowing off the harbor, and you have the makings of a perfect place to stay during a trip to Newport. My stay could not have been any better!

Room Tip: We stayed in room #14 which faces the street and the harbor. Nice sized room with a sitting area, d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Guy, thank you so much for the complimentary review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again!

-Your friends at the Admiral Fitzroy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atco, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

On the advice of my son and daughter-in-law, my husband I stayed here for 2 nights. I really can't say anything more than some of the other reviewers. The place was lovely, and in a great location. Staff were pleasant and accomodating. Breakfast was similar to a continental but better and more variety, just enough to start the day. The dining room was set up with different size tables so you were able to sit alone with your spouse instead of with strangers. And, don't forget to try the chocolate chip cookies before you head off to bed.
My husband and I would definitely stay here again if we were to return to Newport!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for the review! We're glad you found us and enjoyed your stay here. There will always be fresh cookies, so come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is a charming B&B and located so well on a street in Newport with everything in walking distance. The room was clean, pretty and comfortable. The breakfast was good and we enjoyed the afternoon homemade cookies. The staff was friendly and helpful when we asked questions. We would definitely stay there again if in Newport!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for spending your anniversary with us and also for this kind review and cute pictures! We're glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you again on your next visit to Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarsdale, ny
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Admiral Fitzroy Inn! This inn is in a great location, right on Thames Street close to nice restaurants and the waterfront. Our room on the second floor faced the back and was nice and quiet and spacious. The room and bathroom were clean and inviting. The staff at the front desk and in the breakfast room were helpful and cheerful. Would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We liked having a room in the back that was more quiet than one facing Thames St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hatty07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you! We're so glad you decided to stay with us and had the chance to walk around Newport in July. Please come visit us again next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Admiral Fitzroy for our first anniversary in June of 2014. From check in to check out, this place is top-notch! Just the right mix of "being home" and "right in the middle of downtown", pretty much every major attraction/restaurant/bar/experience is within walking distance! If we got tired, walk back and nap. If we bought something and didn't want to carry it around all day, just walk back and drop it off! It was great! The bed was really comfortable, and the deck has a great view of the harbor. The parking was free for all of our stay, which was made even better when I saw parking spots being sold near by for $25 per 6 HOURS. Breakfast was tasty and ready every morning when requested, too! Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: It's more expensive, but the 3rd floor rooms have a semi-private deck. Perfect if you are lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
So glad you were able to celebrate your anniversary with us and that you enjoyed it here! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This bed and breakfast was perfectly located to be able to walk to shops and restaurants. The front desk staff was very helpful with restaurant suggestions. The room was big and had a refrigerator and coffee service. Breakfast was good, just enough to get the day started.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgiatrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Sounds like you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us and we hope to see you on a future getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,015 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
592 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#8 of 21 in Newport
399 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Fitzroy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Fitzroy Inn

Property: Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Address: 398 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admiral Fitzroy Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Admiral Fitzroy Inn is an 18-room bed and breakfast conveniently located in the heart of Newport's bustling waterfront district and within walking distance to many popular local shops and restaurants. The Inn offers three floors of unique, hand painted rooms with private baths in each and an elevator for easy access. A Signature Continental breakfast, on-site parking, wireless internet and roof top deck are additional amenities included in your stay. The Inn was built in 1854 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It is approximately 1.5 hours south of Boston, 1.5 hours from Hartford, Ct, and 3.5 hours from New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Admiral Fitzroy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Fitzroy Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing