We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Ranked #4 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Latham, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Charming Surprise”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Like Edward 1956, we also stayed in the room behind the reception desk in October 2012. We were also surprised as we did not expect a small suite. It was very comfortable, sweet, and quiet. The breakfast provided by the Inn was delicious with many different options and served in a charming dining area, I particularly loved the ladies portrait that serves as a focal point. The staff at the Inn was courteous and very helpful! The Inn itself is very centrally located and within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. We really appreciated the parking lot in the back of the Inn, no need to worry where to park! We also loved their packages and like the choice of restaurants offered. Sardellas and Red Parrot are our two favorites! If you go, don't forget to go up to the roof! Great view! We really enjoyed our two night stay and hope to return the year!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, but they have an elevator so there is no need to hesitate about stayin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Sue, thank you for this very nice review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay in October. You're the first person to mention the portrait of the lady! Many years ago we had an essay contest asking guests to "tell her story." Maybe we will try that again! We're also glad you mentioned our packages since they are a great way for guests to save and get a little "taste" of Newport. We recently added some new packages for 2014 and hope you'll come again to try them out.

Happy New Year to you! Thanks again for taking the time to write a review.

Angela Craig
Manager/Inn Keeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    95
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
52
272
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at the Inn this September. The room was very comfortable and clean. We needed a room for 3 so that each person could have their own bed. Our room had a trundle which was very comfortable and worked perfectly for our situation. During the day we were able to use the area as a sitting room. You may need to keep your windows closed at night. We did experience some street noise.
The continental breakfast had plenty of variety including some homemade items.
The staff was very friendly and helpful with suggestions of where to eat and what to do.
One of the best features was the free off the street parking. You can easily walk to anywhere in town and if you're really into walking you can even go to the mansions (roughly 2 miles one way).
I have recommended the Inn to many of my friends and would definitely go back next time I visit Newport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTraveler48572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
HappyTraveler48572!

Thank you so much for your review, we always like to hear from our guests and are especially glad you had a nice time with us. Thanks also for passing on you recommendation to friends, we hope to see you at the inn again next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We spent one night at the Admiral Fitzroy Inn, one of the two rooms we booked, was pleasantly large, the other average. Both rooms had all the amenities you need for a night. The rooms were clean, but price range was rather high (>USD 400 for 4 persons). What is great about the inn is its location. Vey close to harbour, restaurants and shops but still very quiet. They allowed us to leave car in the parking lot after check-out, which was a nice addition. Breakfast room is extremely tight - you can hardly sit down without asking the person at the next table to get up and make room... Food quality was fine, there's bagels, cereals, fruit etc. but nothing fancy and no cooked items.
Inn is a bit aged as other reviewers have noticed, but there's also a charming side to that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicol090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Point, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Spent two days at The AFI. More Inn than B&B, the room we had was roomy and clean, serviced without incident. Loved having on site parking. We arrived early and left after checkout and they allowed us to leave our car in the lot. Great spot near the wharfs, museums, dining etc. Breakfast is continental, but be sure and ask for warm ham and cheese on a crossant. Enjoyed the complimentary bottle of wine on the rooftop at dusk. Don't expect 4 star, but if clean and comfy suit you, this place is great. The off season visit allowed us to interact with lots of locals hanging out at O'Briens, Newport Storm Brewery and Coddingtons. Take the Cliff Walk to enjoy views of the mansions and coastline. Great Romantic Weekend Getaway.

Room Tip: Find a local bar and ask for dinner recommendations. The locals will point you to happy hours, disc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and posting some fun pictures too! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and especially glad you tried the warm ham and cheese croissant :) We hope you'll think of us next time you're in town!

Cheers to happy traveling!
The AFI Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a lovely property. The location is prime, plus it has off street parking on site. The room was spacious, comfortable, tastefully decorated and welcoming. The bottle of wine, bottled water and chocolates were a nice surprise as was the roof top deck...spectacular views during the day, sunset and evening.

Breakfast room is a bit tight but that means you can chat with other guests...hear about their day etc.

Definitely a place to return to over and over.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hisandhers102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Three of us stayed here in early October for a night and were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room and how quiet the room was that faced out to the main street, notwithstanding we had the window open as it was a warm night.
The breakfast the next morning was good, mainly a selection of cereals, toast and yogurt, cheese and ham.
Reasonably priced at around $170 for the 3 of us.
The hotel is a bit on the old side but its clean and the beds were comfy

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for a week in August. We had a room on the ground floor at the back and three rooms inside; they were all very well presented, and clean and not too 'chintzy' and ye olde worlde!

We were looked after very well and nothing was too much trouble. We particularly enjoyed the fresh cookies on the reception each morning!

Room Tip: The ground floor room outside at the back has its own access and is very newly decorated. Room thre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lipscombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,992 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
582 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
393 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Fitzroy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Fitzroy Inn

Property: Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Address: 398 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admiral Fitzroy Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Admiral Fitzroy Inn is an 18-room bed and breakfast conveniently located in the heart of Newport's bustling waterfront district and within walking distance to many popular local shops and restaurants. The Inn offers three floors of unique, hand painted rooms with private baths in each and an elevator for easy access. A Signature Continental breakfast, on-site parking, wireless internet and roof top deck are additional amenities included in your stay. The Inn was built in 1854 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It is approximately 1.5 hours south of Boston, 1.5 hours from Hartford, Ct, and 3.5 hours from New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Admiral Fitzroy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Fitzroy Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing