We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable Stay at Admiral Fitzroy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Ranked #5 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Stay at Admiral Fitzroy”
Reviewed May 20, 2008

I booked our 3 nights at the Admiral Fitzroy based on the many positive reviews here, and on the reasonable price compared to many other Newport B&Bs. I'm very happy we did! The location is great; you can walk to so many things. The room (we had a queen size room on the 2nd floor) was spacious, and immaculately clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations. The continental breakfast was fresh and plentiful. I personally prefer a continental breakfast; other B&Bs I've been at have huge breakfasts full of sweet things and it's just too much for me. I'd rather have a normal size breakfast and have room to try one of the local restaurants for lunch. I would defintely recommend the Admiral Fitzroy and will stay here again if I ever get a chance to return to Newport.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yankeegirl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    90
    16
    6
    1
See reviews for
47
253
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Fitzroy for two nights and we had a great time. The staff was very friendly and was more than happy to direct us to places to see and do in the area.
The breakfast was also excellent - not your typical coffee and roll fare, with home baked goods, fresh fruits, etc.
The room was nothing fancy but it was very cozy - kind of like staying at grandma's house.
Due to the close proximity to Thames Street there is a good deal of street noise at times. The trade off is the many shops and harbor side attractions that are all within walking distance. Parking on the narrow streets is scarce so we appreciated the ample parking lot behind the hotel.

We look forward to visiting the Fitzroy again.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2007

I stayed here during the Boat Show in Sept 2005 and was delighted with both the good standard and friendliness of the staff. The location is ideal, right in the centre with a private car park but quietly set back. The room was clean, comfortable and the addition of a tea kettle made our visit just perfect!(We are English) The daily freshly baked cookies were also a wonderful suprise that we looked forward to. Breakfast was simple but good. I was taught how to slit and toast an English muffin by the helpful breakfast assistant which was a nice touch.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sucal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2007

What an absolutely fantastic Bed and Breakfast! The food was OUTSTANDING! The most friendly staff - the beds were more comfortable or as comfortable as our own at home! You must stay here!!!

  • Liked — Atmosphere Staff
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NanaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2006

The Admiral Fitzroy isn't the most enchanting or pretty B&B you'll find, but for a last minute weekend get away, it was perfect. The rooms were clean and modest. The service was friendly but not attentive. If you're looking to be pampered, this is not the place. but if you plan to get out and explore Newport, I think this is a great base.

We were able to get a second floor room in the back of the property, away from Thames (the main commercial street in the old town area). It had two exposures - East and West - to the parking lotin rear and the small courtyard next to the property. Breakfast was lavish neither gourrmet, but simple and fresh.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JJHSh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2006

We booked the package deal which included dinner at Pronto and 2 Mansion tour tickets. The best deal around. The Inn exceeded our expectations. The entire staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast was outstanding every morning. The rooms were spacious and the beds so very comfortable. Free use of the internet was a bonus. Overall, this is a GREAT place to stay.

  • Liked — The package deal with dinner and the Mansion tour
  • Disliked — The fighting couple above us
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank kvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2006

If you like smaller places to stay with comfortable rooms and a unique style then this is the hotel for you. We loved the friendly, serene desk staff and the laid-back atmosphere. The free internet pc in the lounge area was great for keeping in touch with family and it felt very relaxed to go in and sit down with no fuss and bother. The bedroom was beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean and thankfully, there was a kettle for making hot drinks which we found very unusual in New England. We really enjoyed the breakfast as well - everything was very fresh and you could order a hot croissant with ham and cheese if you were hungry. Btw the inn is in a great position within walking distance of the harbour, restaurants and the tolley bus tour - I suppose you could walk to the Mansions and the Cliff Walk but it would be a hike! All in all a very pleasnt stay and free parking to boot!

  • Liked — Individuality and comfort of bedroom/in room tea-making facilities
  • Disliked — No sea view
  • Tips/Secrets — Try the free cookies on the reception desk - delicious!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ConsideredOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.6 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#7 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Fitzroy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Fitzroy Inn

Property: Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Address: 398 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admiral Fitzroy Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Admiral Fitzroy Inn is an 18-room bed and breakfast conveniently located in the heart of Newport's bustling waterfront district and within walking distance to many popular local shops and restaurants. The Inn offers three floors of unique, hand painted rooms with private baths in each and an elevator for easy access. A Signature Continental breakfast, on-site parking, wireless internet and roof top deck are additional amenities included in your stay. The Inn was built in 1854 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It is approximately 1.5 hours south of Boston, 1.5 hours from Hartford, Ct, and 3.5 hours from New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Admiral Fitzroy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Fitzroy Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing