We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Ranked #5 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I had a weekend with "no kids". We purchased a "Groupon" for the Inn, which included a bottle of wine and chocolates. Breakfast was included. The inn was beautiful. The rooms were very large and comfortable. The breakfast was a healthy choice of many items, including fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, scones, yogurts, and more. The location was right in the middle of everything, very convienent! There were fresh cookies always available, along with a candy jar (which my husband loved!) The only issue was you could hear people in the adjoining rooms. It wasn't too bad, but definitely noticable. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Admiral Fitzroy Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 445 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Admiral Fitzroy for 4 nights in June, 2011. I had a difficult time choosing a location but am glad we decided to stay here. This is a lovely inn, full of character and in a great location for exploring the area. The room was charming and very clean. The breakfast was excellent -more continental than American but filling and more than enough choices. Staff were friendly.
We brought our bicycles and loved biking on the trails in the area. Great sea side rides. We also did the cliffside walk, explored the mansions and did a sunset cruise. All in all, a great area to explore.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZoeTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed at the Admiral Fitzroy Inn for two nights with my boyfriend, and from start to finish we had a welcoming, warm and hassle-free experience. From the variety of fresh breakfast food each morning (and fresh-made cookies each afternoon) to the charming decor of the rooms, the staff who were always willing to answer any questions we had or offer advice on local attractions, and the convenience of the location, this was a fantastic 'home base' for us to have for the weekend. On top of that, Newport is a wonderful little city with a lot to do and see. We walked along Thames street and the waterfront, as well as the scenic Cliff Walk, twice, toured a mansion, visited a local vineyard and enjoyed the nightlife (the restaurants and bars host a lot of great live music). We will absolutely be going back to Newport in the future, and we plan to stay at the Admiral Fitzroy again!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mbMuchaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I went to Admiral Fitzroy for a winter weekend getaway. Our room was spacious, comfortable, clean, and priced right. It was on the top floor and we had a view of the water. The staff was friendly, made us feel right at home. We really enjoyed the continental breakfast, it's similar to breakfasts served in European inns and the breakfast room is adorable! The location of the Admiral Fitzroy is great, within walking distance to many restaurants and bars. We had a nice relaxing weekend and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor facing the street will have a view of the water.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I went to Admiral Fitzroy for a weekend with another couple. We had such a nice time. The staff was so nice and helpful. The continental breakfast was wonderful all fresh and homemade. We can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlottie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed their last fall. The staff was friendly, the room clean, and price fair. There is on site parking. The best feature is the location. We were able to walk around old Newport, peer into the various yacht yards, and drink at the local waterfront joints. We would happily go back.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the parking area are probably quieter during the high season.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matman830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here and we would not return. I'm not sure who's writing all these wonderful reviews but it's not what we experienced at all. Honestly, we felt duped by all the reviews on this site. For starters the sheets on our bed were dirty when we got there. They had some disgusting green and red dried crusty stuff on them. It grosses me out to even think about it now but it appeared to be somebody's bloody snot that they had excavated and then wiped on the sheets. The bathroom was also apparently missed in the cleaning process. There was old hair on the floor and in the tub and there was a swipe of old toothpaste smeared on the wall next to the sink. There was also what appeared to be short hairs and/or dust actually painted into some of the trim in the bathroom. The decor was tired, dated, and just looked dingy. I know it's an historic structure and all but you can still freshen the paint every 10 years or so. Oh yeah almost forgot, on Saturday morning somebody with a cart of some sort (or a drum set made of plastic buckets) started slamming things around out in the hall around 7 or 8 o'clock. This went on for a good 15 to 20 minutes. Nothing like being woken up on what was supposed to be a relaxing weekend by somebody playing crash up derby in the hall.

Oh, just an FYI, if you're going to splurge and get an additional package with the chocolates don't expect too much. They were tasty I'll give them that - all 4 of them. It is a tiny box with 4 chocolates in it. It was actually kind of funny and yet insulting at the same time.

At least the breakfast was ok. It's as they describe it - a continental deal. If you're expecting a real breakfast you'll need to go somewhere else but if you're cool with muffins, danish, toast, juice, coffee, etc. then it's good for what it is. No complaints here. Nothing fancy but it did the trick and It was all pretty fresh. I knew what to expect and it was just that.

The staff was present, not good, not overly bad, just present - didn't seem too concerned about or interested in us much at all. They were kind enough to get us new booger free sheets when we asked but we weren't really offered any kind of real apology from management or anything (given the disgustingness of the situation) and nobody asked us how everything was for the rest of the weekend, including at checkout when just about every hotel, motel, inn, and B&B in the world asks you how your stay was or says, "We hope you enjoyed your stay." or "come back again". Nope, nothing. Just a generic, "Thank you. Have a nice day." I overhead some staff members talking about the snot incident the next day and one of them actually said, "I looked at it and you could hardly even see it." Implying that we were being overly nitpicky for expecting sheets free of another guest's bodily discharges. (The nerve of us.) I don't even want to think about what was on the sheets that we didn't see (ick!). I guess that was probably the tipping point for me and why I'm wasting my time writing this review. I usually don't bother doing this kind of stuff but I felt obligated so the rest of you could have fair warning.

We've stayed at other Inns/B&B's in Newport and elsewhere and this is by far the worst we have experienced. It's too bad because the location is great and we really had high hopes for this place. Based on the reviews we expected more, much more. If the price was lower (and there was some level of remorse for the snotty sheets) it would have been acceptable as our expectations would have been less but this place wasn't cheap. We expected more - great service and a clean room isn't too much to ask for at a supposedly fancy, historical inn. Bottom line, you can do better than the Fitzroy for the money if you're staying in Newport.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank abcxyz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Our entire staff is extremely disappointed to read what felt like a very mean spirited review of our inn regarding your recent stay with us. We would first like to point out that over the past10 years of operation that our team has been at this property, complaints about the cleanliness of the Admiral Fitzroy Inn could be counted on one hand. It is absolutely rare for any guest to note our inn as anything but immaculate and we go through great effort to maintain this reputation.

All of our linens are laundered on site daily in extremely hot dryers and our housekeeping does a thorough inspection before dressing each room. The unfortunate event that your sheets were not pristine is upsetting, however we feel our staff handled this instance with courtesy and timeliness by immediately providing you with a fresh set of sheets. The night staff apologized to you personally and took care of the matter. We were sorry to read that you were not satisfied with our initial apology and solution to the problem at hand.

We would also like to note that you reserved your stay with us through Groupon, for a discount of 40% off a regular reservation. For a stay on Thames Street in Newport, Rhode Island, it is difficult to find accommodations for less than what you paid.

We are also sorry you were disappointed with the chocolates in your package. The sampler box of 6 chocolates are handmade at a local shop and is more about quality than quantity. We will be careful in the future to state this more clearly.

In response to your noise complaint: our housekeeping staff does not arrive until after 9am so what you heard could have been caused by another guest, and was something we feel could have been solved by calling our front desk.

Lastly, we never proclaim to be a “fancy” inn, as you stated in your review. We pride ourselves on comfort, cleanliness, friendliness, and most importantly attention to our guests’ needs at our historic property. We are sorry that your experience was less than wonderful and hope that travelers considering our inn will do their own research about our reputation, which includes the many authentic reviews by satisfied guests who have stayed with us and enjoyed their experience.

Sincerely,
Angela Craig, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,035 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
600 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#8 of 21 in Newport
402 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Fitzroy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Fitzroy Inn

Address: 398 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $184 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admiral Fitzroy Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Admiral Fitzroy Inn is an 18-room bed and breakfast conveniently located in the heart of Newport's bustling waterfront district and within walking distance to many popular local shops and restaurants. The Inn offers three floors of unique, hand painted rooms with private baths in each and an elevator for easy access. A Signature Continental breakfast, on-site parking, wireless internet and roof top deck are additional amenities included in your stay. The Inn was built in 1854 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It is approximately 1.5 hours south of Boston, 1.5 hours from Hartford, Ct, and 3.5 hours from New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Admiral Fitzroy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Fitzroy Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing