We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Sea Food lovers”
Review of Barking Crab - CLOSED

Barking Crab
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Thames
Transit: The Barking Crab is located just two short blocks south of Newport's Gateway Center on America's Cup.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great for Sea Food lovers”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great food and great service. We were visiting from the UK and our waitress helped us choose a starter that we could share and recommended the Clambake as a main course that came with a bowl of Chowder. Also great beer to wash it all down.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    151
    134
    60
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tripoli, Lebanon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very tasty crab”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very tasty crab there i had never eat before. and good waiters. The location was good. ....................

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adnan_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We happen to be in Newport during Restaurant week. My husband and I each had a different choice on their specials. For $16 dollars, we each had chowder or salad, main entree, and dessert. Each entree was equally good. The desserts were delicious. Since we were there in the off season, we were not rushed and it was very relaxing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank London044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrentham, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nothing special”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

most of our party ordered a 1/2 lobster boil with crab legs (not Alaskan) They said it was an assortment of crab legs but from what I could see it was an assortment of snow crab legs. Way overcooked. Service was ok. Just nothing special to say...a big yawn...however, they did have a 10lb lobster in their tank - that got the attention of everyone

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rmj723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Overpriced Lobster”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The market price of lobster is $3.99/lb, but the Barking Crab seems blinded to this fact. They charged me $44.00 for a 2l b lobster with no side dishes included, not even any bread. The waiter was attentive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing