We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pier 49 Seafood and Spirits, The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina, RI” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pier 49 Seafood & Spirits - CLOSED

Pier 49 Seafood & Spirits
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Newburyport
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Pier 49 Seafood and Spirits, The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina, RI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

We were very impressed with the wait staff and
especially Sid at Pier 49. He was very professional, personable and caring as well.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank carlucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharod B, Manager at Pier 49 Seafood & Spirits, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this glowing review regarding your dining experience at Pier 49. We are thrilled to hear that our service level exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to serving you again the next time your travels bring you to Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    34
    22
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend in Newport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Always have a great time at Pier 49, love Jen, but what is up with the new uniforms. It looks like hospital scrubs and not the right outfit for a nice outside bar. Bring back the black golf shirts.

Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharod B, Manager at Pier 49 Seafood & Spirits, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
We appreciate you stopping in to Pier 49 during your weekend in Newport. We thank you for your feedback regarding our new uniforms. I’m glad we continue to provide you with the same level of service you have come to expect. Thank you for your continued business and we look forward to seeing you to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not my first choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

They have a nice selection on the menu. However, they didn't enter drink orders, and ran out of some items. The place wasn't packed. I'm not sure I would return. Bathroom was clean.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharod B, Manager at Pier 49 Seafood & Spirits, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write this review on Pier 49. Our Chef inspired menu features some of the most delicious entrees in Newport. We are sorry to hear that your experience was less than satisfactorily. It is our hopes that you will provide us with the opportunity to have you dine with us in the near future to better serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Bar at Pier 49”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Again another Great weekend at the Pier 49 Bar in Newport ,RI with the GREATEST BARTENDERS, Jennifer, Denval and Chris! They are always smiling and laughing which creates a great atmosphere. They are awesome with all the customers! They are the reason we and others keep coming back! Love them all!!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharod B, Manager at Pier 49 Seafood & Spirits, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
It’s truly an honor to have you share your experience with us on Pier 49. Pier 49 offers great food, picturesque views of the harbor, live entertainment and top shelf service. We appreciate your loyalty and patronage, as we look forward to your next weekend visit to Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Easton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best crab cakes I have ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stopped here for lunch today. We were seated outdoors on by the wharf. There was a beautiful view of the harbor and the sun was shining. My husband and I shared a crab cake appetizer. It was scrumptious with pineapple and salsa. I can't describe how it was seasoned, but it was definitely special. I then ordered a caesar salad that was also tasty. My husband ordered a broiled seafood plate that has scallops, haddock, and shrimp with fresh vegetables. I tasted one of the scallops and it was perfect. My husband loved the vegetables, too. There was also a nice musician playing James Taylor and Neil Young type music, which added to our enjoyment. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PVLocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharod B, Manager at Pier 49 Seafood & Spirits, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We appreciate you sharing your dining experience at Pier 49. Our waterfront location, succulent menu items and live entertainment make Pier 49 a top choice when visiting “The City by the Sea”. We are thrilled to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your menu selections. It would be our pleasure having you back the next time your travels bring you to Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pier 49 Seafood & Spirits also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing