We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel with Fabulous Service”
Review of Forty 1⁰ North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Forty 1⁰ North
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
New
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Hotel with Fabulous Service”
Reviewed July 6, 2010

I stayed at Forty 1 North over the 4th of July weekend, which was also the grand opening of the hotel. The hotel is absolutely BEAUTIFUL and Leed-registered so it is particularly attractive to us "green" guests. The customer service is unreal and everything from the food to the views is remarkable. Plus you really can't beat Newport in the summer. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to a friend; no doubt about it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristinNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    91
    41
    16
    19
See reviews for
92
323
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

I had booked this hotel months in advance and had asked about some potential construction that would be going on during my stay. I was assured that the construction was not near the Red Cottage and that my stay wouldn't be affected. It was quite different when I arrived--there was a "Pack Rat" container outside the front door and a chain link fence two feet away! The workers were there early and dust and dirt got everywhere! If you are planning to stay here in the summer of 2009 I would spend the five hundred dollars a night somewhere else in Newport. There are so many wonderful hotels that you shouldn't waste your money on this place!

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank eurotraveler214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2008

We spent a long weekend in Newport 5/16/08-5/19/08. We are 2 couples in our 50's. I was having a hard time finding a good place for 3 nights as it was graduation weekend for a couple of local colleges.I found this place at vrbo.com. I was not able to find any reviews on this place as it was new, but I figured it was a great location within walking distance to everything in Newport. We had free parking for 1 car and we didn't need to use the car for the entire 3 days.
There are 4 suites, we rented SeaBreeze, which is a 2 story townhouse on the 2nd and 3rd floor of a funky builiding steps from the Marina and several resteraunts and bars.(when the bars got out at night it was a bit noisy but closing the windows helped and it is a working waterfront)
The 2nd floor had a great kitchen, dining area and livingroom, off to the side was a small room, somewhat private with a trundle bed and day bed that slept 2. It was a very comfortable, convenient place to stay. Everything was brand new and it was super clean. Upstairs is a large bedroom with King bed and full bath. It was fine for the 4 of us cause we just wanted to hang out. Not great for 2 couples that want total privacy. It would have been great if there was a 1/2 bath on the 2nd floor. The beds were super comfy and it was a really cool place to stay for a few days. We got breakfast for 2 at Christies next door included in our package. We ate there one day and it was a good breakfast. The resteraunt was a little rigid on what you got for free but not a big deal.
The 1st night we discovered fairly late that we did not have any hot water. I called the desk and Peter arrived immediately. It turned out the hot water heater needed to be replaced. He was extremely apologetic and made arrangements for us to use the facilities at the Marina until our hot water heater was replaced. It was fixed 1st thing in the AM and was no big deal.
Before we arrived I had called to see if the kitchen was fully equipped so we could eat in if we wanted to. Although it had the basics I needed a casserole dish, I asked Peter if he could locate one and he went out and bought two. He went well out of his way to be accomodating. He also credited us for one free night due to the lack of hot water although we didn't ask.

We did not eat at the Grill, which is the resteraunt at the marina, or have drinks there. It looked like a really nice place to spend some time but it was also pretty pricey. We loved our little condo and were content to enjoy our own wine there. WE ate at the Red Parrot, the BLack Pearl and an Italian resteraunt up the hill, Puerini's. all were very good.

We walked the Cliff walk and then had Bloody Mary's at the Spiced Pear at the north end of the walk at the Cliffhouse. We toured 3 mansions, The Breakers, the Elms and Marble House. We also took the trolley tour around town and had an afternoon cruise on the Madeline Sailboat.
Newport is a great town and is very easy to get around. An excellent place to walk. We had positive experiences with everyone we encountered. I would surely go back to Forty 1 degrees North.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Hot tub would have been a bonus.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
646 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,014 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.3 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#6 of 21 in Newport
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forty 1⁰ North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forty 1⁰ North

Property: Forty 1⁰ North
Address: 351 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6654
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Forty 1⁰ North 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forty 1° North brings a modern elegance to historic Newport. Marrying a cool and casual luxury with the excitement of our downtown waterfront setting, we offer the best of Newport to all our guests including a sense of eco-consciousness beginning with our LEED-certified hotel, the first of its kind in Rhode Island. Spacious Guestrooms, Suites, Cottages, and Lofts are all outfitted with state-of-the-art technology and environmentally-friendly amenities, adhering to our philosophy of responsible consumption and design. Floor-to-ceiling windows and over-sized balconies in our Suites welcome the outside indoors with natural sunlight, fresh seaside breezes, and sunsets that our guests are not likely to ever forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Forty 1⁰ North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 1 North
Forty 1 North Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing