We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location....in dire need of new management”
Review of Forty 1⁰ North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Forty 1⁰ North
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Scituate, Mass
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great location....in dire need of new management”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and i spent a long weekend here in early September. Great locationas it is on the water with a nice marina. Excellent food and a decent bar. Room was nice and bed comfortable. My issue is with the attitude of the employees and the general feeling of the place being disorganized.i had the exact same experience as a previous reviewer. Bell man was great and directed us upstairs to check in. There was a podium with no one there. A woman came out with an attitude and made us feel like it was a chore to check us in. It was as if it was weird for someone to be checking in at this hotel. Same thing at the inside bar. We went down for a drink and the male bartender who was not busy made us wait about 10 minutes before asking us if we wanted a drink.
When he asked us what we wanted it was as if it was a chore for him to get a drink for us. This guy had absolutely no personality. You generally get a feeling of the employees saying to themselves that "they should feel lucky to be staying here". We will not be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank picklesmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    90
    41
    16
    19
See reviews for
84
318
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife are very seasoned travelers and having just come from a great stay on Marthas Vineyard
we were looking forward to our stay oa Forty 1 North. We were there for the Wine and Food Festival weekend and were working the event. From the moment we arrived and were totally ignored at the checkin desk where the two woman thought it was more important to chat and check out something on the computer than welcome guests. It was very uncomfortable and we knew right away it was a mistake. The $700+ per night room was very small and upon entering we found the phone did not work, the safe had to be replaced, the Ipod did not work, the TV did not work and did not shut off all night. Speaking of the night we were in 705 and the bar's music banged loud until 1am. I mean very loud. The best part of the stay was the young men out front at the valet, professional and very helpful.
This might not seem like much but they give you one small bar of soap for the weekend where you have to bring it from the shower to the sink to use, one bar. There is no coffee machine in the room and I went down to get some in the morning and well no one was there to help so I walked down the street to get some. Add this all up and it was a complete robbery. This is a bar who has a marina and oh by the way happens to have very expensive hotel rooms in that order. Never again, never again! We told the same young ladies upon checkout about our stay and were told how sorry they were and they were working on fixing the problems. I told to go look at Trip Advisor and customers were complaining about the same things we complained about for years and nothing has been fixed. We should have checked first with Trip Advisor!
Don't stay here, it will ruin your trip!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bcchocolat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Booked this hotel thru an online travel site where we selected a standard king room-ocean view-guaranteed. We were given a std. Queen Rm - no view. Staff was very gracious however when I showed the confirmation paperwork and upgraded us to a King Suite with ocean view that was outstanding!
Everything about the room was outstanding from the design, finishes, bed, and robes, to the bathroom with great lotions & soaps, a huge shower with multiple water jets and a jacuzzi type tub. (A lit make-up mirror would've been helpful though as the sink area is a bit dark and the counter very deep)
Since this is a new and "green" hotel, all information was housed within an iPad sitting on the room's writing desk. There was an iPod and docking station so you could listen to pre-programmed music or plug in your own iPod. There was a large flat screen tv and a fireplace! Room also had all kinds of hook-ups for any techie's delight!
Hotel was tricky to find tucked behind another hotel and restaurants-some street signs would be helpful. Once found though, it was a great location behind the main road of shops & restaurants, but set back far enough to be quiet and afford magnificent views of the water. I'd definitely recommend this hotel, although I will admit it felt a bit stuffy. Valet parking was unexpected, but since it was pouring like crazy, we went for it-pricey!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We Love Newport and we visit for a few days every August, this trip we decided to try Forty 1 North..(I gave the 4 rating due to the beauty of the hotel, & the location) We arrived and the Valet was very nice and said: please go to the front desk and I will bring your bags in. Well there really isn't a front desk... You walk in and there is a table with a book on it on your right, and a bar on your left. We walked passed the bar, and all the way into the restaurant and No one was around! A person came out of the kitchen and asked if he could help us.. He pointed to go back to the bar, and finally a guest service woman came out and said: welcome back did you have a nice walk? We said we are just checking in and she: said oh... She walked us over to the bar and very matter of factly checked us in...(Not a good first impression) no problem with where we are checked in, as it is a Trendy Hotel: problem is Missing Staff!!! Our room was really nice & we decided to look at the bar menu in the room.. No bar menu...called the front desk she said all the information is on the IPad.. Checked the IPAD No information.. Called back, she came to the room.. Couldn't find info.. She called guest services.. They were all confused.. Oh boy okay so they send up the price list hard copy.. one line item said: if the IPad charger was missing you we're liable to pay for it.. Guess what! It was missing..called the desk... We put the TV on it didn't work.. Called the desk.. 2 engineers came in they said: the TV Was wired wrong.. They fixed it and brought up the IPad charger .there is an IPod on the wall but it has no charge OMG Really!!!!!!..Went to take a shower: Amenities listed weren't there, called guest services again! Every time we went by the front desk at the bar.. No one was ever there! The Restaraunt is great : Food Fabulous, Staff all Young & Very NIce. The Hotel has it all with the "Huge Exception" of needing a few "Seasoned Hotel Professionals" that care about their guests. Owner/Management Really need to Audit their Establishment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SDG896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

After confirming our reservation with a credit card through Bookings.com, the hotel informed us three days prior to arrival that they overbooked labor-day weekend. We placed several calls to both the Front Desk Manager (Scott) as well as the General Manager (Khan); we received no return call from either of them. My best advice to anyone booking a reservation at Forty 1 North is to call prior to arrival since a credit card guarantee means nothing to this establishment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bazzer9797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a fantastic location on the harbor and a outdoor restaurant the most beautiful sea view. The staff is professional and friendly. The atmosphere is relaxed. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and modern. The restaurant is really good, we tried it out for breakfast and lunch. One of our best hotel experiences.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NARG68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Ya know- we have stayed in 5 stars and luxury hotels. Someone recommended to check out 41 north. I called to inquiry about booking a week.. and was greeting by a gentleman who basically didn't care that I wanted to become a guest. Oh well... booked our vacation somewhere else. All I can say is that to management is that they need to train their front desk or reservation people with respect and kindness!

Room Tip: Get someone who cares on the telephone to treat potential customers with respect and proper hotel bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank e t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
593 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.3 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#6 of 21 in Newport
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forty 1⁰ North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forty 1⁰ North

Property: Forty 1⁰ North
Address: 351 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6654
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Forty 1⁰ North 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forty 1° North brings a modern elegance to historic Newport. Marrying a cool and casual luxury with the excitement of our downtown waterfront setting, we offer the best of Newport to all our guests including a sense of eco-consciousness beginning with our LEED-certified hotel, the first of its kind in Rhode Island. Spacious Guestrooms, Suites, Cottages, and Lofts are all outfitted with state-of-the-art technology and environmentally-friendly amenities, adhering to our philosophy of responsible consumption and design. Floor-to-ceiling windows and over-sized balconies in our Suites welcome the outside indoors with natural sunlight, fresh seaside breezes, and sunsets that our guests are not likely to ever forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Forty 1⁰ North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 1 North
Forty 1 North Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing