We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms but issues with noise”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Forty 1⁰ North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Forty 1⁰ North
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms but issues with noise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three days in lovely water view rooms. The rooms were clean and well equipped except they could use a coffee maker. The location of the hotel was ideal - within walking distance of almost everything. Staff were very willing to shuttle us to and from more distant mansions.
The problem we had was with loud music filtering into our room. The first night we called, and they gave a reply which seems to have been a standard reply. "This is a trendy hotel". We finally determined that main source of the music was a speaker just outside our door that played the same "trendy" music that was playing in the lobby. I tried sleeping with a pillow on my head but did not sleep well that night. The next morning the manager said he would take care of it and we were provided with free breakfast but told we should realize that this was a "trendy hotel". We explained that trendy doesn't mean noise in our room to keep us awake. The second night it was a bit lower but we managed to sleep by downloading a sound machine on our iPad. Sometime during the night, the music went off but it was back on bright and early. The third night we used our sound machine again.
We think the hotel was lovely but consider a quiet room for sleeping a necessity unless the noise is coming from a busy city street and cannot be controlled. This was coming from the hotel. They did lower the speaker a bit but we continued to have noise in our room.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KnitNPurl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    90
    40
    16
    19
See reviews for
80
312
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great hotel, fabulous location, wonderful staff
Couldn't have chosen a better place to stay while in Newport.
The hotel is absolutely beautiful . Rooms are fantastic.
Can't go wrong staying here!!!
Everything is walking distance. The staff went out of their way to make our stay excellent.
The decor is fresh, modern bright and beautiful

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2trvlfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I were in Newport just for one night and we didn't want to waste our time driving around town. Forty 1 North is in a perfect location, only a couple of blocks from the main shopping wharfs, LOTS of restaurants and bars with in a few block radius. The shell mural in the lobby is absolutely stunning.

The room was huge, the mattress was so comfortable we didn't want to leave. Our view was overlooking the parking lot, which was fine, we were only there for one night, and it was a bit cheaper.

After reading some of the reviews, about clueless staff and being confused about checking in, that was certainly not our experience. The valets took our car, yes you have to pay to park just like every other hotel in Newport, a staff member, Elizabeth was just inside to greet us, took us to our room explained all the cool features - ipads instead of ugly binders hold all the hotels information - key fobs instead of card keys.

We had drinks on the deck before venturing out - a bit pricey but then again you are surrounded by multi million dollar yachts.

There was a bottle of water waiting for us when we got back after dinner and bar hopping. The mini bar in the room is really expensive, so beware. The room was quiet - the hotel is set off the main street so you don't hear the traffic.

We would stay here again anytime!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4_Travlin_Fools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verbier, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

This is a pretty new hotel in a great location, right on the water, with an awesome open restaurant and bar also right on the water with nice views, great food and ambiance and good and friendly service. We strongly recommend the restaurant and bar, a destination to have dinner at in Newport, , and the hotel itself is quite nicely laid out also, although some of the rooms could be a bit bigger. They appear to have hired many young and attractive or beautiful and pleasant workers, however some of them are somewhat inexperienced and were making a few errors, leading to our rating the hotel as very good but not excellent. We discussed this with the new hotel manager, Scott Sumner, who was excellent and very attuned to what was needed to make this a top class hotel. We were inspired by his attitude, knowledge and approach and hope that he is able to execute and make this a truly superb place to stay, and deserving of an excellent rating. We normally stay at the 4 seasons, Mandarin Oriental etc so the bar is set very high...

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank B X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Perfect location to stay for access to the main locations. If not staying at the hotel, definitely worth a visit for the food. New chef, great choices, great food. Good choice of places to dine both inside and outside.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 850Art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milltown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
102 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

A little pricey but definitely worth it. A concierge is available in the lobby and the bar and restaurant are as well. Close to downtown, an easy walk to all the action.Nice view from the room as well.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toddwillms1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Friendly staff, very informative... Relaxed atmosphere...
Room was so very clean, spacious bathroom, best shower ever.
Beautiful property...Outdoor bar and eating area right on the water.. Hotel is located within a short walking distance of great restaurants and shopping....

Room Tip: Don't think you can go wrong with any room that fits your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stella3913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forty 1⁰ North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forty 1⁰ North

Property: Forty 1⁰ North
Address: 351 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6654
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Forty 1⁰ North 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forty 1° North is Newport's newest waterfront destination. State-of-the-art Hotel and Marina. Exciting Restaurants and chic lounges. Beautifully appointed lodgings. Extraordinary service. Everything you'd expect in a world class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Forty 1⁰ North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 1 North
Forty 1 North Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing