We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and fun place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forty 1⁰ North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Forty 1⁰ North
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unique and fun place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here for two days at the end of June....the views are very Newport and the overall atmosphere is certainly unique...in a good way. As some others have noted its a bit quirky, like no defined front desk, the place is very open and your not always sure where you are going, Its not too big so you can't really get lost, so it doesn't really matter...Associates are not easily identified, but yet they managed to be there whenever you needed something. Our room was smartly decorated and fully stocked. Shower was awesome with multiple shower heads spraying water. Ipads in the room is a nice touch. The bed was comfortable and the linens nice quality. Our dinner was very good and the bar on the dock is a great location to enjoy the evening...It's not a resort type hotel so don't expect resort type amenities...not cheap but nothing in the summer in Newport is a bargain. This isn't place may not be for everyone but I'm sold and will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fins13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    90
    38
    16
    19
See reviews for
77
296
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
143 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

After staying a Forty 1 for a few nights, I'm still confused if the owner(s) understand what they're missing.

First, the property is very nice. Nicely appointed, trendy, and really looks much nicer than the webpage. The location is the best in Newport by far - park the car, and you can forget about having to drive for almost everything. The staff are all very friendly, and nice - they have surely collected the nicest looking young men and woman in Newport to work here!

Now with all that said, this is a boutique style property, with what appears to be no management. Again, I'll keep saying this, the staff is very nice, and we had little issue with them personally, but there is a lack of professionalism for this price point. We have stayed all over the world, in old, new, trendy, boutique'y hotels, and some can pull it off, and some can't.

Staff wear no uniforms, nor name tags, and there were a few random people in suits, and business attire, but no one new who they were, and quite frankly did not even acknowledge guests presence. I don't mind a lack of a "front desk", although it's silly really, but one needs to know who actually works at the hotel. Not sure it makes good business sense for staff to abandon MacBooks for a period of time with loads of information about guests (?). Now the nice part is that the actual wait staff are all easily identifiable, so there was no confusion there. Although one has to ask for water, salt & pepper, refills on coffee etc. Once again, there is no one really running the place, it's almost like this is a college class for learn-as-you-go hotel management!

The hotel room itself was okay, way over priced. As others have stated, the music piped throughout the property is trendy and edgy, but playing loudly in the hallways - really? I really like the concept of paperless eco-friendly IPads in the rooms to look at newspapers, and menus, etc. but that all needs a solid WiFi back bone to operate from, and during our stay we were relegated to the lobby for good WiFi. The safe did not work in the room, we promptly reported it, and upon our return it still did not work, but it appeared that they had added one under the bed - huh! There were other things that fell off, or didn't work, but I decided to leave well enough alone, and not complain since for $700+ a night we should not have a anything not be close to perfect.

I won't list my usual Pro's and Con's rundown because I'm still confused with this property, and not sure where to start. In the end, this is a VERY pricey hotel, and unlike other expensive boutique hotels, this one let me down and sadly I'm the one who picked it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altoona, pa United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

North 41 is a boutique hotel of 24 rooms. Heard about it on The Today Show. Stayed here in late June. Our room had a harbor view. Hotel has a Full bar, great restaurant- 41 Grill- and spectacular views! Service is top notch and most all employees seem to be young, energetic and very service oriented. Save up as prices are rather steep but I found well worth it. Excellent location in heart of Newport within walking distance of many good restaurants and shopping. They Provide transportation to Cliff Walk and Mansions. Will certainly stay here again when in Newport!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaCardFan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great. You are in the center of town and right on the harbor. The room was nice and spacious. This is a boutique hotel so there are very few amenities. For the price I would have expected a full water view and excellent services. It's a nice hotel, but way overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HMH60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
154 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

After much serious thought I have decided to add my input to this hotel. There are many things to like about this place. Firstly, the location is absolutely perfect for Newport. You are right in the middle of everything and basically you can leave your car and walk. The setting on the marina is beautiful and we enjoyed drinks and breakfast on the beautiful deck while watching fabulous boats coming and going. A couple of the employees were just tremendous -- Jim and Darlene come to mind. The room is modern but very comfortable. Even in May the fireplace was just wonderful. TV was great but never could sync the IPod but the music stations through the TV was just as effective. We had one of the more economical rooms facing the parking lot but it was fine. It had two semi comfortable chairs and a desk. The bathroom was large and modern but as throughout the room, the lighting was dim. There was a very well stocked mini bar but the prices (which had to be looked up on the IPad in the room) were way over the top. $90 for a small bottle of Grey Goose! So why the trepidation, well...the hotel in its effort to come up with a distinctive vibe has no real front desk just young ladies walking around with IPads. They are delightful when they find you but there is really no way to find them. They always seem to stumble on the guests, like, "oh, can I help you." When checking in I walked into the very attractive lobby and no one was around. A young lady said she would find someone to help me, a little longer than I would have liked another employee came by but so had some other people just wanting to look around. She had no idea as to who was who. After straightening that out she said the room was not ready since it was 2 PM and check in was 3PM. When I asked about the specific room, she said she could not tell me anything about the specific room. On returning at 3PM the room was ready, when I asked about a room with a view at that point she said it would be $100 a night extra even though I was very sure the hotel was no where near full on this Tuesday and Wednesday, especially since we never saw anybody in the restaurant except for breakfast. We were lucky to have scored with the hotel through Jetsetter so we did not have to pay the additional $25 parking fee and they did include an excellent breakfast with the package. I am sure that I would not have been happy paying near $400 a night even in this beautiful property with the great setting. I would return only if had another great price ($230) and I would hope that the hotel would upgrade folks when it is so easy to do so.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hidden gem in Newport couldn't have been any better. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with smiles and accommodating employees. The room was fantastic with its fireplace and amazing view of the harbor.
The icing on the cake was when my girlfriend and I got a private tour around the bay. They have their own skipper to take you around the island. He knows the ins and outs of the town and gave us some great history lessons while we sipped on our vino that they let us take on board.
Highly recommend, especially if you need a quick get away from NYC its a fantastic place to spend the weekend.

Room Tip: Try and get the harbor view room, they give great deals during the week!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skinnymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Bread -- no butter, Soup -- no spoon. Wrong entrees. Half hour bewtween courses. Like being in an SNL skit. Nearby tables had similar issues. No leadership. Pretty faces who don't know their jobs.
Avoid this place. Much better choices in Newport!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SMurraylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#10 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forty 1⁰ North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forty 1⁰ North

Property: Forty 1⁰ North
Address: 351 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6654
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Forty 1⁰ North 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forty 1° North is Newport's newest waterfront destination. State-of-the-art Hotel and Marina. Exciting Restaurants and chic lounges. Beautifully appointed lodgings. Extraordinary service. Everything you'd expect in a world class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith and Jetsetter so you can book your Forty 1⁰ North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forty 1 North Hotel Newport
40 1 North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing