We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great long weekend getaway”
Review of Forty 1⁰ North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Forty 1⁰ North
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great long weekend getaway”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Modern, well designed boutique hotel in the heart of Newport. We were so comfortable in our exquisitely appointed room, we didn't want to leave! Ultra cozy bed, gas fireplace, balcony with a harbor view, soaking tub in a luxurious bathroom, ipod and ipad,....need I say more? Oh yes, on more thing-exceptionally helpful, friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    90
    41
    16
    19
See reviews for
87
320
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just returned from an impressive four night stay at 41 Degrees North.Vanessa and her whole team know all about excelling in service.Nothing at all was too much trouble and as well travelled discerning people, we were made to feel so comfortable at every turn.
Yes, the in - house music is loudish in the public areas but the choice of music was very cool and only,in our opinion, added to the appropriate atmoshere of 41! In other words, if you are not up for the true boutique experience, then this fab place may not be for you.
The Grill and Bar were gorgeous with great views and great service though perhaps a little pricey.
The bedroom we were upgraded to was a harbour view suite and absolutely stunning and cosy,not minimalist at all.The fireplaces throughout are a lovely touch.
Only criticism was ,though ipod system available in every room....connecting the system up to use wasn't quite so easy!...Hopefully a little blip in an otherwise perfect set up!
Only complaint is that 41 has no other properties for us to stay at ANYWHERE ...as we would go tomorrow!

Room Tip: Harbour view if you can stretch the budget!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shellx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Beutiful Hotel and great location. From the first impression to the end of the stay was was offered excellent service and attention to detail. Remind me a mini Delano Hotel in South Beach, FL:) Fouty 1 North - loved it all. Little pricy although my expectations were met. Having latest techology in the room (ipad and ipod) was fabulous. I enjoyed and suggest to choose this hotel when you are in Newport, RI.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, England
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The old expression, horses for courses, comes to mind here. I loved this hotel, fantastic staff friendly, helpful and up for a laugh. The position is exquisite and service second to none. Granted there is no fitness suite or pool ,but why would you need one in a hotel of this type? Is this my European attitude coming out as opposed to the American expectations? The food in the Grill Room was exceptional as was the more casual Christies. The chef was very good at accommodating my husband's allergy without a fuss at all. The room was great, third floor, harbour view and the bed extremely comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel without hesitation?

Room Tip: I would suggest the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DATP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, on the waterfront, at the marina. When the weather is good, there is a beautiful terrace available with an outside bar, with harbor view. The room rate is, however, quite expensive, given the limited room size (one chair only, no desk). Facilities are good (in room ipad and ipod). There is indeed loud music in the hotel, but if you keep your windows closed, it is fine. Parking is USD 25 per day (and no option to park elsewhere). It is a small scale hotel, so personal service. But hey, USD 500 per night (breakfast not included) is only fine if you get a top room and top service. That is not really the case. There is no pool, nor a fitness room. So, you pay for the location....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ML-NL-Amf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We came to Newport to escape the South for a few days, and our first stop after a 14-hour drive was Forty 1 North. Reaction? This hotel is simply a head above. Hidden in the marina in building that blends in almost seamlessly with its surroundings, Forty 1 North was quite the surprise. Once you step through the door you're transported into a luxurious, ultra-modern venue that rejuvenates you with every step. The room was wonderfully put together, and the attention to detail was top-notch. Add to that a bit of tongue-in-cheek humor ("The Cat in the Hat" was laid out on the bedroom's coffee table), a deep-soak bathtub, and eye-catching amenities all around, and Forty 1 North becomes possibly the freshest boutique hotel for miles in any direction. Now to just get that yacht . . .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phildozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Overall our two night stay here was great. The room was one of the nicest I have stayed in, huge comfortable bed, lovely cosy fireplace, very modern amenties and a bathroom we could have lived in. A couple of niggles let it down only slightly. Loud music plays throughout the hotel all day and into the late evening, fine if you are in the bar or restaurant, not so great if you fancy a nap in your room. Could be very easily remedied by isolating the music to the ground floor away from the bedrooms. Also no reception desk which was weird and slightly unnerving on check-in and check-out. Fee for parking also seems excessive considering there appears to be ample parking available on site. Having said all that I would return for the room and the location.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michellepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
627 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,989 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.3 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forty 1⁰ North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forty 1⁰ North

Property: Forty 1⁰ North
Address: 351 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6654
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Forty 1⁰ North 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forty 1° North brings a modern elegance to historic Newport. Marrying a cool and casual luxury with the excitement of our downtown waterfront setting, we offer the best of Newport to all our guests including a sense of eco-consciousness beginning with our LEED-certified hotel, the first of its kind in Rhode Island. Spacious Guestrooms, Suites, Cottages, and Lofts are all outfitted with state-of-the-art technology and environmentally-friendly amenities, adhering to our philosophy of responsible consumption and design. Floor-to-ceiling windows and over-sized balconies in our Suites welcome the outside indoors with natural sunlight, fresh seaside breezes, and sunsets that our guests are not likely to ever forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Forty 1⁰ North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forty 1 North Hotel Newport
40 1 North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing