We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great anniversary visit!”
Review of Forty 1⁰ North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Forty 1⁰ North
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Westford, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great anniversary visit!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed there for our 20th wedding anniversary. When we arrived they upgraded our room to help us celebrate. We had an awesome suite overlooking the water. We had the perfect spot to sit out on the balcony and watch the beautiful sunsets. Everything as wonderful, the bed was comfy, the fireplace was beautiful the shower and tub were awesome. The mini-bar was impeccably stocked. The only thing missing was a coffee maker in the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobinP1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    90
    41
    16
    19
See reviews for
87
321
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Enjoy either a small bite or a decent meal by the water. Relaxing atmosphere and clever culinary bits make this a fun rest stop. If you are on a budget you will want to skip, but if you want to treat yourself I'd say this is one spot. The staff was pretty attentive, fresh shrimp, lobster small plates were delightful. watch out over the Marina and relax.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

I am a personal assistant and was in a jam! My boss was set to arrive at 41 North via yacht. At the last minute he found out he had to leave the hotel for a meeting a few hours away.
I called the hotel and Arlynn contacted Hertz Rental Car and arranged to have a car dropped off the night before and arrange for the car to be picked up in upon its return on Saturday. Arlynn kept me up to date on what was going on and what was needed to reserve the car.
This type of customer service (unfortunately) do not happen every day and, I am so grateful to her for making my job a bit easier..

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank corresources
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is Newport's 1st boutique hotel and it's about time however, just like I found with the overpriced Chanler Hotel when it opened and Castle Hill Inn, there doesn't seem to be proper hotel management in these places as in, someone who was trained in actual hotel management.

This hotel is run by inexperienced college kids and it shows. I don't know about anyone else but for $900/night - not at all what we were expecting.

We had a great time but it was a girls weekend reunion so we could've have fun in a box however, purely speaking about the hotel, what it offers and the service...we ALL felt it was poorly managed. We didn't see one person that looked like an adult who had enough experience to run a hotel that charges up to $1350/night per room.

Don't let the new & pretty boutique feel fool you, it's run by college kids.

1st The Good:

- If you have a harbor view, you're in luck. We had room 14 which was gorgeous. The beds are extremely comfortable and the hotel is very clean.

- They have gas fireplaces, ipads and a dock for your phone or ipod which is a nice touch. Although I would recommend they put cases on them so they don't get ruined before their time.

- The food was tasty. The french fries are addictive and the shrimp cocktail and oysters were fresh and yummy.

- The location is extremely convenient, right in the heart of Newport so shopping and restaurants are within walking distance.

- The staff were for the most part, always polite albeit inexperienced.



The Not So Good:

- They nickle and dime guests. No matter what you're paying for a room, they charge an additional parking fee to park your car in the lot. It's $25 a day, although I was told it was $43 by someone else!


- They don't offer beach passes, comp for parking at the beach or beach towels to guests. Personally, for a hotel that claims on it's website to be "world class" and again for the price your paying, I think that is a touch that's required.


- The inexperience of the staff was not acceptable in our opinions for the price being paid.


- For example; the 1st night we decided to stay there. Our waitress took a while coming over. We ordered drinks & she was so nervous (& new), she dropped the drinks and the glass went everywhere & the bottom of my dress got soaked. We were cool about it & didn't make a big deal, but we didn't get much of an apology and no offer for the drinks to be comped that round. In fact, I bent over & was picking up glass shards that fell in between the floor boards because they did such a rush job in trying to clean it.


- We all ordered tap water & all got sparkling. We asked our server if that's what she gave us & she apologized but said she might have given us sparkling but wasn't sure. We laughed & asked why that was & she said that they took the labels off the canisters of water so none of them actually know what they're giving the guests. It's a crap shoot. We asked her why the restaurant management would do that but she just laughed & said she didn't know.


- Outdoor Dance area:
They have a nice outdoor bar & dance area however I've never seen a DJ not want to do his job before. The music was awful. Cheesy, euro remixes, the same set night after night. They need a better DJ. He actually cleared the floor time & time again. Just when we'd get out there and he was playing something good, he'd change it to something awful. I can only listen to LMFO so many times.


- Room service:
It took ONE HOUR to get 2 frittata's and coffee in the morning. We called down to check and the girl came in & told us she had the wrong room. Er...OK? That's why it took an hour?

The presentation was odd. No water (even if I don't ask, I've never received room a service where they don't provide you with tap water as a courtesy with your meal), no salt, pepper, ketchup etc. The sugar was just in loose packets on the tray and it cost about $50.


- Valet:

So they lost the keys to my friends brand new car. A very, very NICE, expensive car. We arrived Thursday, on Friday we went to the beach. When we came back she noticed her car wasn't in the same place they parked it (the lot is completely above ground & in the front of the hotel so it's not hard at all to keep track). Not only that but she couldn't see it anywhere. She made a joke that the valet took it out for a joyride. We all blew it off but it bothered her.

Saturday we went to get her car from valet to go to the movies & all of sudden there was a flurry of activity but we were left standing there wondering what they heck was going on. We surmised that one of the valet's pocketed the keys since we were left standing there for so long & everyone was studiously avoiding eye contact.

WE had to approach valet & just get them to admit this is probably what happened. Of course they didn't cop to it but kept saying "we'll find the keys". It was bizarre though b'c NO ONE of senior management came up to us to offer us an apology or money for a cab or to take us to the movies themselves & in fact one girl working to "help" was quite dismissive & borderline rude in her attitude toward my friend about it all.

At this point we were late so my friend told them to call her & made sure they took down her number. Twenty minutes later we get a call they miraculously found them.

When we get back they give her this fugasi story about how they found it in the back of the key cart inside an umbrella. The umbrella must've been open & so the key fell in but they had the wherewithal to open the umbrella & there it was!

Are you kidding me with the story? I hate, hate, HATE customer service BS. This isn't a hotel claiming to be amateur hour. You're not paying Best Western prices. Get it together.

What should've happened was they should've admitted the valet pocketed the keys, that they were tremendously sorry & are ensuring this doesn't happen in the future and not only that, but also offered to comp the parking fee for the weekend and let us send you a couple of bottles of champagne for your trouble. Is that so hard?

What they did instead was ...nothing. No senior management ever took over or offered an apology. They gave a bogus story & that was that.

Upon checkout, one of our other friends had to argue the case & got all of our cars parking comped for free for the weekend. Too right! It's a shame we were the ones that had to resolve this.

How would you feel if it was your beautiful & expensive brand new car that was missing from the lot one day & then they keys weren't there the next? Would you feel this was the mark of a "world class hotel" as it claims to be?



- Billing
Check your bills people! They double charged us for numerous items such as meals etc.



All in all we had a great time together however the reality of the hotel is that it is WAY overpriced for how unpolished and unaccountable the service is.

It's completely a case of, looks great, less filling.

Pretty can't cover it all up IMO & I don't like hotels who rest on their laurels b'c they know they look good.

My friends & I have spent much less and have had much better service and amenities in all of our years of travel.

Room Tip: Note the Room 14 has the gorgeous harbor view but if you get it, the club (which is to the rear, lef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LAZ1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Had a great time at one of the nicest spots right on the water in Newport. The atmosphere was lively, fun, and we had a great time. Our server Lauren was very friendly and helpful too. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sah209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

For us particularly, this place can be described by filling in the blanks a couple of times in this sentence: on the one hand WOW because_____, BUT eh! because ____.

WOW, they had luxurious toiletries BUT they were so thick, you couldn't squeeze them out of the bottles. WOW, they are on the harbor, BUT the beach you can walk to in 15 minutes has weird red algae that drops leaves into your bathing suit. WOW, the rooms are beautifully appointed BUT somehow not relaxing. WOW you can valet park and walk to wonderful downtown, BUT you have to pay a lot per night. WOW it has an urban, hip vibe with staff to match that say "perfect!" to everything, like Stepford Wives, even if you're asking for toilet paper BUT there are a lot of stairs to climb, far enough to walk for the really good places, and loud music that shuts down at 11 pm, all of which could bother some especially the non-fit and the early sleepers.

Room Tip: Check your confirmation to ensure accuracy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadTrip19Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

In the heart of the tourist area, on the water. Very upscale and wonderful service. Everything was first class...except the size of the room. Beautifully appointed bathroom, but the room was really small. For almost $500 we would have expected a bit more.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite, if you can. The room we had. which was an upgrade was really small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicetoeatout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
628 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,992 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.3 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forty 1⁰ North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forty 1⁰ North

Property: Forty 1⁰ North
Address: 351 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6654
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Forty 1⁰ North 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forty 1° North brings a modern elegance to historic Newport. Marrying a cool and casual luxury with the excitement of our downtown waterfront setting, we offer the best of Newport to all our guests including a sense of eco-consciousness beginning with our LEED-certified hotel, the first of its kind in Rhode Island. Spacious Guestrooms, Suites, Cottages, and Lofts are all outfitted with state-of-the-art technology and environmentally-friendly amenities, adhering to our philosophy of responsible consumption and design. Floor-to-ceiling windows and over-sized balconies in our Suites welcome the outside indoors with natural sunlight, fresh seaside breezes, and sunsets that our guests are not likely to ever forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Forty 1⁰ North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forty 1 North Hotel Newport
40 1 North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing