We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel”
Review of Forty 1⁰ North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Forty 1⁰ North
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Wantagh, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

My wife and I had a fabulous time at 41 North. The location is excellent and the staff is exemplary. The Seabreeze cottage we stayed in was very roomy and very clean. The Sunday brunch was fantastic. We strongly recommend 41 North.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dbtraveler58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    90
    41
    16
    19
See reviews for
84
318
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I was very excited to stay at Forty1 North, as it came very highly recommended. I was overall disappointed by my stay and wonder if perhaps my decision to stay in the lofts had something to do with that. However, I am uncertain that after this stay I would return or recommend it to others.

The high points-Valet was professional and efficient throughout and the breakfast in the Grille was very good.

The low points- The room. I had expected a certain level of cleanliness comfort and efficiency from such a well recommended hotel. The loft in which we stayed was away from the main building above Christies Restaurant. The area leading to the loft was often unlocked and open to anyone passing by. The door had no peephole. While we were assured of safety, we felt that a missing peephole was a major issue.

The room was not un-clean but it was not immaculate by any stretch. The baseboards were dusty and the bathroom could have used a going over. The bathroom amenities were sparse. There was a door in the bathroom that opened to a very dirty storage space with stacked folding chairs in it. The bathroom window did not open, nor was there an exhaust fan. There is only a standard tub in this room, not a soaking one. The water pressure is good.

The television did not initially work. We called down and a friendly man came and adjusted the cable. However, the television ran a samsung advertizement over half the screen every thirty seconds. We called down again, and again the young man came up. He was unable to fix the issue. So while we had cable we could only see half of any program we wished to watch. The refrigerator also had issues as whenever the fridge was open the freezer opened slightly as well. This was very disappointing.

We had chosen the room because it had several options for sleeping such as 2 pull out sofas and a day bed. Two days before our arrival I requested one of these be made up for sleeping. Upon arrival this had not yet been done. The front desk clerk confirmed this request and assured me it would be done by 9pm. Upon our return after 9 it was not done. By 10 we finally had to call someone to do this for us. This was very disappointing. A housekeeper then came up with sheets, a blanket and an air mattress. I asked her to make up one of the existing beds in the room. After attempting sleep on the pull out sofa I guess I can see why the air mattress would have been a better option. The living room where the sofa is is surrounded by windows that overlook the public space. The lights in this area are never dimmed or shut off. The Venetian blinds do not block out all the light either. Combined with one of the worst mattresses I have ever slept on, this was the worst sleep I have ever had away from home. It was comparable to spending the night in an airport.

The midpoints-I liked the in-room ipad and the provision set-up.

I do wonder if the experience differs when you stay in the main building, and can only assume it does. Otherwise this hotel would not be so widely acclaimed. I would strongly suggest not booking a loft if you do decide to stay here, and am uncertain that I would return.

Room Tip: Stay away from the loft!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mrsanders30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I got an amazing deal on the Forty 1 North through SniqueAway for a weekend trip in March. Although this is shoulder season for Newport, we had plenty to do and were perfectly located in the center of it all at Forty 1 North.

From the moment we walked in, I was in awe of the amazing and unique--and yet comfortable design. The check-in process had a few kinks -- our room wasn't quite ready when we arrived -- but the front desk staff was friendly and accommodating as we waited in the bar area.

Our rooms had fantastic views (definitely spring for the water view rooms!!), and the bathrooms were amazing. The multi-head showers and deep soaking tub were divine! I wish I had had more time to take advantage! Also, I cannot stop thinking about the gorgeous stemware available for in-room use. Gilded wine glasses, tumblers, rocks glasses, and martini glasses were on display like artwork on the mini bar area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

We docked our boat at 41 North marina for the weekend and had an incredible time. The marina is modern and the hotel has more than Any boater could ever need. The dockmaster Mark was great, checking on us regularly.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Billandmonica1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My husband and I live in Narragansett RI and periodically take little "vacations" across the bridge to stay at 41North. We always have great service, great food, unbeatable accomodations and an overall wonderful experience any time of year.
DInner is pricey, but worth it, where else do you dine while gazing at a world class harbor, mega yachts and a spectacular bridge?
You have not experienced Newport without experiencing 41 North, its unique!

Room Tip: GO for the waterview! We also loved the red cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank getawayRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

Came with my girlfriend, stayed for two nights. Can often gauge ones experience by how long you stay in the hotel vicinity on check out day -- we were there til sundown. Can also tell a lot about a hotel by the reactions you receive from locals and such when you tell them "I'm staying at ____". Everyone was both impressed and excited about us staying at the city's newest hotel.

Was more than satisfied with service, food, room, grounds. For being so central to everything in Newport this hotel felt secluded and like a waterfront retreat. Grt stay, recommended highly. Will be back during peak (summer).

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Hardshell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights , Sat to Tuesday. Nice welcome on arrival and room was certainly very well appointed. The hotel itself is furnished and decorated to a high standard. Sadly, the whole experience was marred by a very poor standard of service . The staff , with the exception of the car valets, were very inexperienced and this showed. Service at breakfast was slow and one morning we had to go and find someone to serve us at all! Security at the front desk was lax and I would suggest that anyone wanting a quiet hotel this summer should look elsewhere as the noise from the bar on Saturday night was heard all over the hotel. For such a lovely hotel, attention to detail was poor. The shower leaked, they forgot to bring hand towels when they serviced the room - they even ran out of orange juice at breakfast. How can any hotel, and especially one of this standard run out of orange juice. I was told at check out that my credit cards had been rejected, they then found out it was a problem with their system but did not even receive an apology. Far too many small problems.

Room Tip: Avoid a city view. They mean the car park....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garthlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
597 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.3 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#6 of 21 in Newport
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forty 1⁰ North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forty 1⁰ North

Property: Forty 1⁰ North
Address: 351 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6654
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Forty 1⁰ North 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forty 1° North brings a modern elegance to historic Newport. Marrying a cool and casual luxury with the excitement of our downtown waterfront setting, we offer the best of Newport to all our guests including a sense of eco-consciousness beginning with our LEED-certified hotel, the first of its kind in Rhode Island. Spacious Guestrooms, Suites, Cottages, and Lofts are all outfitted with state-of-the-art technology and environmentally-friendly amenities, adhering to our philosophy of responsible consumption and design. Floor-to-ceiling windows and over-sized balconies in our Suites welcome the outside indoors with natural sunlight, fresh seaside breezes, and sunsets that our guests are not likely to ever forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Forty 1⁰ North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 1 North
Forty 1 North Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing