We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conflicting Experience...”
Review of Forty 1⁰ North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Forty 1⁰ North
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Newport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Conflicting Experience...”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

First, my back-story. I am a local and have been to 41 North for drinks on the deck and dinner at the Grill.... expensive, but you have to do it once, in the summer and just take in the view, the decor and the feeling of exclusivity just being there. OK, so we were attending a fundraising event and decided to book a room because we would be drinking, it was off season and we had always wanted to stay here and enjoy the whole experience that is suppose to be "Everything you would expect in a world class resort" as their web page reads. My boyfriend went online to first reserve tickets for the event, clicked the “Buy Tickets” link, put date and name of event in subject line, followed by a brief email requesting 2 tickets to (again) the date and name of the event. He received an email back telling him no problem, the price, the charge card form and as he continued to read, he realized it was not the same event, different dates and names, he replied back with the correction and was told that by this person, she was not the one handling the event we wished to purchase tickets for, he explained the link took him to her....she then called him to say, she was sorry and after checking, she was in fact the person he needed to speak with. So he fills out the paperwork, etc and is charged a different price then the event is advertised for, we check to verify the price and he lets the person know and she corrects the amount. OK, it happens, I understand...but it continues. He books the room at $425.00 plus taxes for a Thursday night in October, we are staying at the Seabreeze cottage, which is on property, short walk away and now we are getting excited. As the event gets closer, actually a few nights away, he goes back to the website to check on spa's services, (again, we want the whole experience for our 1 night stay) he notices the room rate has changed to $275.00, so he calls and request a price adjustment, he is told the higher rate is a weekend rate, he explains it's a Thursday night and not a weekend and after some back and forth, the rate is changed. OK, great!, we arrive, he goes to check in and is told by the guest service person that all adjustments have been made to his charges and he can just sign here....he looks at the statement and notices the room rate was not adjusted, so he points it out and she takes it back, goes into the back room and comes back with an apology and the corrected statement. On a positive note, David in valet was great! Ok, she walks us to the room and gives us the nickel tour and the usual, any questions, just call the front desk. Great, we are ready! We check out the space, first it is very spacious, nice kitchen area, no complimentary anything…no bottle water, no coffee, weird mini bar (see photos) and very underused and under decorated. All the walls, upstairs and down are the same bone white color, there is 1 picture on the living room wall and 2 what looks like oversized hot plates on the dining room wall (see photos) the couch is wicker and not comfortable at all and the color is also bone white and can clearly see it's needs to be washed, the ottoman has stains on it, there is no coffee table so no where to your put drinks, there is 1 end table with a lamp with a cracked, dented lampshade. There is a small room with a trundle bed, quaint and cute, OK, lets go see upstairs!, it's loft style so no door and 1 bathroom and it's upstairs, so if there is someone else staying there, they have to go upstairs to use the bathroom and shower.. The room is nice, it's big, the bed is super comfy, the headboard is off white and dirty, see photos, the weird part is again, the bathroom, the whole unit is big, over 1100 sq ft so having 1 bathroom is odd enough but it's so small, with no vanity, it has a pedal stool sink and a small glass shelf that is attached right on the mirror, not very well thought out. (See photos) about the only updated thing in the room was the ipad and that was great. We order a light lunch from room service, it was very good and what we didn't finish went into garbage disposal, we turned it on and thought it was going to blow up, something was in there, turned if off and checked, there were 4 beer bottle caps, grinding away..again, I get things happen but it's little by little, it doesn't align with what they are trying to be or advertise and it certainly doesn't align with the prices they charge. We went to the event, it was really nice, what a difference between the wait staff and guest services, everyone was attentive, really nice, did all the right things, our water was never empty, the dishes cleared right way, napkins, refolded or replaced, the dining room/ event manager, Dawn was fabulous, again, just on top of things and you could tell, she knew what she was doing. The food was outstanding; the shorts ribs were the best we ever had, not one complaint about the event or dinner. Check out is 11:00, we have the next day off and sleep in, until the maid lets herself into our room around 9:00 and yells to see if anyone is here, basically waking us up, we yell back that we are there and she leaves….I’m sorry, did we check out? Again, does anyone in guest services talk to anyone else? So to end my review of the our stay the main building is chic, modern, really well designed, state of art everything, plush furniture, etc, I am trying to figure out why this space is so bland, under decorating, under furnished, etc, it definitely does not say "World class resort", the chain hotels are better decorated than this place. So, that is my conflict with this place, they spent millions of dollars and advertise style, service, experience and it simple fell flat on all 3. It’s like they ran out of money after completing the main building. They clearly are in need of a manger that is better suited to run this type of boutique hotel, the guest service people do not communicate, they seem very disorganized and clearly do not have the experience or training that one would expect for this type of hotel, most appear to be college aged. It was not about the money for us, we wanted the 41 North experience and we left confused about what it really is.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank grose415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    90
    41
    16
    19
See reviews for
84
318
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

As an entertainment tour manager I've stayed in the best hotels around the country - this is by far my favorite!! I first took one of my higher profile celebrity clients to Forty 1 North a couple years ago and we were both so taken back by how beautiful the hotel was AND how courteous and helpful the staff was. Not to mention the amazing food!! Because we were in town on business we didn't want to stay in a bed and breakfast - we wanted a more modern, cool and fun feeling NOT the weekend at grandma's house vibe I usually get from bed and breakfasts. Forty 1 North was above and beyond our expectations - the views were magnificent and the rooms were spectacular, they even came with an iPod docking station AND an iPad in the room. I can't say enough great things about this place - I tell all my friends about it whenever they tell me they're gonna be in the area and anytime I am anywhere near Newport, Forty 1 North is the only place I'll stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank philtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for our 10 year wedding anniversary. Great location. The staff was extremely attentive. The room was immaculate with all the amenities and then some. If you are going to Newport this is a no brainer. The Grill and Christies are excellent as well.

Room Tip: We opted for a room facing the city side. No regrets with that decision
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodRVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We drove down to Newport from the Cape....arrived and were greeted at the front door by the concierge....the check in is quite informal..which I loved and we were escorted to our room....
it was a beautiful and contemporary...which in Historical Newport I'm sure is rare..but we loved it....the bathroom was like a spa with with a deep soaking tub, and a shower with multiple water jets.....the room was incredibly comfortable with a gas fireplace which you can choose the amount of time you want the fire on, which is great if your in bed getting ready to sleep..you can time it form 30 mins- to 120mins....so it just shuts off after you fall asleep...we had lunch in the dining room and it was incredible...Lobster sliders, rare Tuna Nicoise...yummm..we had a private Harbor Cruise(Thank you Mark/Captain) and a picnic lunch all scheduled and prepared by the Hotel staff.....what a great time....we will definitely go back!!!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 9, toward the front of the Hotel, it had a harbor view...sliding doors with a Juli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson Island, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Forty 1 North greets you with its enormous, varnished Entrance doors and continues to fascinate its guests with spectacularly innovative approaches and design details...a sculptured abalone wall mural, terrace privacy dividers that move with the wind, fireplace & custom bar in the room. And the details aren't overlooked in any other aspect of this gorgeous spot on Newport's busy waterfront. Our room was immaculately clean and beautifully furnished. Baths are a beautiful combination of surfaces and fixtures. Dining in the hotel restaurant - a menu of appealing selections and food prepared expertly. For cocktails there is a round lobby bar and cozy clusters of seating inside or several areas outside for enjoying the harbor sights in any weather. The staff persons were attentive, diligent and extremely enjoyable.
This was a special weekend for us celebrating our wedding anniversary, the college graduation of a friend in a nearby town and the Narragansett homeport return of a sailboat after its circumnavigation of the globe! (The sailors were particularly impressed with Forty 1 North).
This is one of the best lodging/dining experiences in our 33 years together.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed in the "Red Cottage"during Christmas vacation. Very cozy. clean and a nice layout made for a comfortable experience. King size memory foam mattress was a treat! Close to many places to see. The hotel was beautiful. The staff was very helpful and the food was fantastic! Great selection of wines. Excellent views of the harbor. Winter rates were very affordable.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margot I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

For our anniversary we chose to stay in Newport at this beautiful boutique hotel. We were thrilled to find a package called the, "youRIsland Retreat". With a lovely 3 course dinner included in the package, we went for it. The hotel was all it promised to be. With a huge soaking tub, fireplace and incredibly comfy bed, I almost forgot that we were waterside. The views from the room were lovely and while eating a delicious breakfast on the terrace we were disappointed we didn't book a longer stay. Forty 1 North brings a vibrantly fresh feel to Newport's charming seaside city.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
593 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.3 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#6 of 21 in Newport
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forty 1⁰ North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forty 1⁰ North

Property: Forty 1⁰ North
Address: 351 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6654
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Forty 1⁰ North 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forty 1° North brings a modern elegance to historic Newport. Marrying a cool and casual luxury with the excitement of our downtown waterfront setting, we offer the best of Newport to all our guests including a sense of eco-consciousness beginning with our LEED-certified hotel, the first of its kind in Rhode Island. Spacious Guestrooms, Suites, Cottages, and Lofts are all outfitted with state-of-the-art technology and environmentally-friendly amenities, adhering to our philosophy of responsible consumption and design. Floor-to-ceiling windows and over-sized balconies in our Suites welcome the outside indoors with natural sunlight, fresh seaside breezes, and sunsets that our guests are not likely to ever forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Forty 1⁰ North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 1 North
Forty 1 North Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing