We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Exquisite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forty 1⁰ North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Forty 1⁰ North
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Hutchinson Island, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply Exquisite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

Forty 1 North greets you with its enormous, varnished Entrance doors and continues to fascinate its guests with spectacularly innovative approaches and design details...a sculptured abalone wall mural, terrace privacy dividers that move with the wind, fireplace & custom bar in the room. And the details aren't overlooked in any other aspect of this gorgeous spot on Newport's busy waterfront. Our room was immaculately clean and beautifully furnished. Baths are a beautiful combination of surfaces and fixtures. Dining in the hotel restaurant - a menu of appealing selections and food prepared expertly. For cocktails there is a round lobby bar and cozy clusters of seating inside or several areas outside for enjoying the harbor sights in any weather. The staff persons were attentive, diligent and extremely enjoyable.
This was a special weekend for us celebrating our wedding anniversary, the college graduation of a friend in a nearby town and the Narragansett homeport return of a sailboat after its circumnavigation of the globe! (The sailors were particularly impressed with Forty 1 North).
This is one of the best lodging/dining experiences in our 33 years together.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    90
    40
    16
    19
See reviews for
78
307
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed in the "Red Cottage"during Christmas vacation. Very cozy. clean and a nice layout made for a comfortable experience. King size memory foam mattress was a treat! Close to many places to see. The hotel was beautiful. The staff was very helpful and the food was fantastic! Great selection of wines. Excellent views of the harbor. Winter rates were very affordable.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margot I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

For our anniversary we chose to stay in Newport at this beautiful boutique hotel. We were thrilled to find a package called the, "youRIsland Retreat". With a lovely 3 course dinner included in the package, we went for it. The hotel was all it promised to be. With a huge soaking tub, fireplace and incredibly comfy bed, I almost forgot that we were waterside. The views from the room were lovely and while eating a delicious breakfast on the terrace we were disappointed we didn't book a longer stay. Forty 1 North brings a vibrantly fresh feel to Newport's charming seaside city.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

I have stayed twice at Forty 1 North - once in summer 2010, and more recently in August 2011. Each time I stayed 3-4 nights. What a stunning hotel! Every detail of the surroundings has been considered, and it shows. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable - the bed is amazing!!! - the showers and bathrooms are luxurious.
The views of Newport Harbor are gorgeous in the summer months. If you can get a room that faces the water - you will love it. I also had a room with a partial view, and although not as amazing...we ended up spending more time on the deck instead.
The bar is a lovely, upscale Newport-style scene. The views are beautiful, and you can spend time just watching the boats manuever through the harbour. The drink list is fun, although pricey. I recommend experimenting, and trying something new.
Overall dining is fantastic. Service is great, menu is outstanding, and the food is delicious. I have eaten breakfast overlooking the harbour, and have had both lunch and dinner inside and out on the deck. My only caveat - there is a very limited in-room dining/late-night option.
Overall, I think this is the best place to stay in Newport.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the water if you can. And, the higher floors are a little more insulated from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kln999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Was worried after booking this hotel as the more I read the more I feared it was one of the "trendy" hotels that get by on cheap but stylish renovation and bad service. Almost canceled when I got the email about DJ and dancing till 1 am but instead replied asking for a quiet room. Turned out my fears were ungrounded--while it clearly was a trendy hotel, the staff could not have been nicer and more accomodating. The room we were given (21) was completely quiet and very elegant with a nice new bathroom (room was a little small for the price of $750 per night but overall was very nice). Would make sure to specific a quiet room as you would not want one of the rooms on the front with the best views if you wanted peace and quiet as they are directly over bar/restaurant. Bar and restaurant area and outside firepits are beautiful. Had dinner there on Saturday evening and while wait between appetizer and our entree arriving was over 40 minutes, the entree was absolutey delicious so we forgave them. Based upon what we saw of Newport, clearly the best place to stay and we would return.

Room Tip: 21 is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

I had a FANTASTIC time at this sumptuous, inspiring and comfortable hotel. I attended the special dinner prepared by Iron Chef Jose Garces and was blown away from start to finish (by both the dinner and the hotel). My room was spacious, beautifully designed, and clean as a whistle with the perfect aesthetic mix of modern and warm. My room had a full view of the marina, a cozy fireplace, and a stocked bar (with full size bottles and various wine glasses from which to choose). I was in heaven. The dinner was divine - the staff was professional and friendly (they seemed to take their work VERY seriously). One of the sensory highlights (besides the intimate tables bathed in the light of the candelabras) was the smell of the burning firewood outside at several gathering areas designed for relaxing and having a drink by the marina. It was a chilly night - and the woodsy smell took my senses to a new level. After dinner, we all took over the large oval bar and stayed for hours enjoying great conversation. In the morning - after a great nights rest, I awoke to hear the sounds of sea birds, bells chiming in the wind and could feel soft breezes coming in through the window. I could have stayed there forever. I plan to go back many times - I would actually travel to Newport just to stay at the wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelPieofmyeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

I was here on a business meeting, stayed one night. The hotel staff were great, very pleasant and attentive. The rooms were spacious and modern. i love the fact they had an Ipad in the room for you to use - nice touch. The food was excellent. I was most impressed with the outside dinning experience. When the weather is fine, there is no better place to enjoy the evening. I would definitely come back here - though I can imagine this place getting very busy in the summer months.

Room Tip: I was in room 6. It was great. The bath is stunning, very deep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blackbeard007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forty 1⁰ North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forty 1⁰ North

Property: Forty 1⁰ North
Address: 351 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6654
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Forty 1⁰ North 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forty 1° North is Newport's newest waterfront destination. State-of-the-art Hotel and Marina. Exciting Restaurants and chic lounges. Beautifully appointed lodgings. Extraordinary service. Everything you'd expect in a world class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Forty 1⁰ North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 1 North
Forty 1 North Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing