We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not your Newport traditional hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forty 1⁰ North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Forty 1⁰ North
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not your Newport traditional hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

trendy and chic!!!!
I really like what they did in this hotel its beautiful, modern, chic not your traditional type of a hotel in newport and yet you get the comfort and luxury of a Martha Stewart's master's suite. The place where you frequently see the likes of Paris Hilton and the elegance of the Kennedy's combine. After reading few reviews, I booked for the red cottage which comfortably accomodate 4 was a great deal. The deck and courtyard was packed that weekend with DJ and on a party mode. Food was pricey but one of the best in town. Certainly because of the party going on at the marina side can be a concern for a good sleep but i guess the upper floors and those rooms on the city view are a great option to avoid the loud music but who cares me and my buddies was there to have fun. MY friends who were visiting from LA was amaze and didnt expect to see this trendy hotel in a traditionally oriented New England Inns, the ipad and ipod dock was truly a techy favorite options and i love it. The people running it was exceptional, they are my party buddies now!
Dont expect a guy in long tail tuxedo, it is not present at all. The reception is minimalist which is not your ussual hotel lobby set up, very simple i must say and delivers well. I will surely come back few day before the weekend to experience the property, the deck, the view, boat trip and the newport sunset by the marina...

Room Tip: get the room on the higher floor or the rooms on the city view which can be less stressfull because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meandmytravel_mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    90
    40
    16
    19
See reviews for
78
307
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

I have stayed for 3 nights at '41 North' and the experience that I had was outstanding.
From my arrival to the end of my stay, the staff has always been courteous and ready to assist me in everything. The room itself is above the standards of this range of hotels, ipad delivered newspaper, super comfortable beds, eco friendly atmosphere and attention to details were some of the numerous features of my accommodation.

All this wrapped into a 'Chic & Trendy' atmosphere, with upbeat music, yacht marina & sea view, that makes my cocktail at the bar very special.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fabrice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

extremely comfortable rooms, beds you want to sink into, linen to die for and spacey clean bathrooms...BUT, arriving in Newport from Europe, with jetlag issues, be warned, you will not be able to sleep in this hotel - especially if you have rooms 6 & 7. loud music from the deck bar/resturant in the evenings and piped music outside your room in the corridor starting from 6am - music so loud that you must turn up your AC to make your room very cold to block out the noise from the reception music and the piped corridor music. the hotel seems to be run by summer college students who you cant identify as they wear no kind of ID or uniform or even any kind of clothing that would identify them as employees of the hotel - not a hotel manager in sight, even when we asked to speak to the manager - no reception desk to speak of, just a table with a laptop and a young girl surfing the net..no concierge services and if local information needed, your answer will be found by the girl at the desk surfing the net for you. Saying that the employees were all very pleasant, especially the car parking guys, lovely hotel interiors - great location, just don't expect to sleep..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bernadettemccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cedar grove
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

Beautiful Hotel with TERRIBLE customer service!!!!!!! I took my girlfriend here for 3 days for a nice romantic getaway. The room was $700.00 a night so I was expecting an incredible room and incredible service and all we got was a decent room with no balcony and a side view or the water!!! You get nothing for the price of the room. We had to call down 3 x just for ice !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I highlu reccomend not staying here. Also we ghad to pay $25.00 a nite to park it was pathetic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We complained wrote a e mail and letter about how displeased we were and never heard anything back !!!! Do your self a favor look else where!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank teambbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

My boyfriend and I just got back from a one-night stay here. The hotel property, rooms and amenities are beautiful. With these rates, we were also expecting top-notch, or at least very good, service, and unfortunately it was amateur hour. Understanding check-in was 3 pm, we arrived early and were informed that we would get a call when our room was ready and our bags would be waiting for us in the room. We never received a call and no attempt was made to provide an early check-in. When we arrived back to the hotel at 5 pm, our bags were still in the closet. Also, each time we dealt with the front desk, there was an extended wait. While the desk area is very minimalist and lovely, the computers and printers are located in the office in the back so the one clerk manning the desk has to keep disappearing for periods of time. Later, when leaving for dinner, we asked the front-desk clerk for turn-down service and for the room service dishes to be removed from the room. After just checking us in earlier that evening and passing us leaving our room, she asked which room we were in and when we weren't sure which number it was and explained where it was located, she still wasn't sure which room that was and asked for my last name. Finally, the morning we checked out, several people were milling around the front desk and no clerk was there. Eventually, we had to flag down a waitress from the restaurant who had to go in the back to get someone to help us all. In an average-priced hotel, this kind of service might have been excusable, but with astronomical rates like this, it's really unforgivable. It's such a beautiful place, management just needs to concentrate a bit more on the service.

Room Tip: Note that the
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ka_1980_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
271 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

This hotel has a lot of style, from its streamlined tastefully nautical design to its clubby pool room and bar area. It is not fuddy-duddy at all which is a refreshing surprise. The service was personal and polished. The room was very large with a small balcony overlooking the harbour. The bathroom was very spacious and modern with huge tub, marble floors, separate walk in shower and a lot of square feet in between. We took over a suite for a business meeting and it was light-filled, modern, and comfortable. A great choice for a Newport getaway.

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank sfbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed here with my husband and 3 month old infant for 2 days on our way from NYC to Maine. Beautiful property, right on the water, walking distance to restaurants and shops. It looks more chic than other properties on the water and I can imagine that it gets pretty crowded with younger crowds during the weekends. Fortunately, for us, we were there from Sunday - Tuesday, and was very accomodated by the staff in terms of restaurant seatings and/or sitting in the lounge areas with the stroller. Rooms were modern with ipads and ipod touches in the room, as well as a fireplace that would be great in the winter time. Our room did not have a bath tub (not sure if that's consistent throughout the hotel); therefore it was difficult to bath the baby. There is valet parking for $15 day. Check in was delayed approx an hour though. Would definitely consider staying again.

Also, there's a rental (red barn) right next to the hotel, would be great for families and much cheaper.

Room Tip: Try to get a waterview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babywong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forty 1⁰ North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forty 1⁰ North

Property: Forty 1⁰ North
Address: 351 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6654
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Forty 1⁰ North 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forty 1° North is Newport's newest waterfront destination. State-of-the-art Hotel and Marina. Exciting Restaurants and chic lounges. Beautifully appointed lodgings. Extraordinary service. Everything you'd expect in a world class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Forty 1⁰ North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 1 North
Forty 1 North Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing