We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don;t miss ther mansions”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Newport Mansions

Newport Mansions
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.90*
and up
Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive
Ranked #1 of 52 Tours in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In Newport, RI, the leading architects of the 19th and early 20th centuries built magnificent mansions for the nation's social and financial elite. These "summer cottages" provided the backdrop for a society centered on sport, fashion and parties in settings of spectacular natural beauty. Ten of these properties have been preserved by The Preservation Society of Newport County and are open to the public. From the homes of a colonial merchant and leading China traders of the Victorian era, to the great Italian and French Renaissance palaces of the Gilded Age, these houses span over 250 years of American architectural and social history.Visit the Newport Mansions: The Breakers, Marble House, Rosecliff, Chateau-sur-Mer, The Elms, Isaac Bell House, Kingscote, Chepstow, Hunter House, and Green Animals Topiary Garden.
Woodmere, New York
Level Contributor
240 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Don;t miss ther mansions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We bought a pass and saw each one. We have been to some more than once. Doris Duke's home is separate as is one other. Every one is a gem.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank peggyvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,053
    259
    31
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Williams, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Trolley Ride ,History and Newport Mansions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was our third visit to Newport, R.H.This time we took the trolley tour of Newport. Our driver/guide was very interesting and certainly knew his history. We toured much of the city including the drive along the ocean. When we reached the mansion of choice that day (Marble House ) we were given one and one half hours to tour the mansion and the Tea House, also part of the property. On entering Marble House we were given earphones whereby we could listen to as much or as little of the history of the family, the building of Marble House, the life in that era, as we choose to hear. Photos were not allowed inside but they were outside. When the time was up our driver arrived to continue the guided tour of the city. Price for the tour of Newport and the mansion was reasonable. It was very good value for the money . The was a good quality gift shop on the premises.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 814Eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
187 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Opulent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

What an example of opulence back in the days of railroads, coal mining, etc. The homes are richly decorated with incredible craftsmanship that is not seen today. We just got the combination ticket called "The Breakers Plus One" because we didn't have time to see all of them. Actually, touring one would be enough if you didn't have much time. We also toured The Elms. The homes are all examples of the same time period and have many of the same type features. We happened to be touring at the same time as I was reading about the plight of the coal miners during that time period and how they were extremely poor and worked in horrible conditions with no hope of doing anything better for their families so I guess that may have tainted my opinion of all the wealth that was accumulated on the backs of the miners. Still worth the tour though.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Trave2leverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing mansions of the past”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

the audio tapes were very informative and easy to operate..staff at all mansions were friendly and answered questions..the mansions were absolutely astounding.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Today's 1% has nothing on the old wealth that existed in Newport 100 years ago. This was an awesome experience to tour the homes of families responsible for building much of the wealth of this country during at the end of the 19th century

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newport Mansions also viewed

 

Been to Newport Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing