We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disturbing display of opulence to excess”
Review of Newport Mansions

Newport Mansions
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.90*
and up
Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive
Ranked #1 of 56 Tours in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In Newport, RI, the leading architects of the 19th and early 20th centuries built magnificent mansions for the nation's social and financial elite. These "summer cottages" provided the backdrop for a society centered on sport, fashion and parties in settings of spectacular natural beauty. Ten of these properties have been preserved by The Preservation Society of Newport County and are open to the public. From the homes of a colonial merchant and leading China traders of the Victorian era, to the great Italian and French Renaissance palaces of the Gilded Age, these houses span over 250 years of American architectural and social history.Visit the Newport Mansions: The Breakers, Marble House, Rosecliff, Chateau-sur-Mer, The Elms, Isaac Bell House, Kingscote, Chepstow, Hunter House, and Green Animals Topiary Garden.
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
281 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Disturbing display of opulence to excess”
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I have always enjoyed architecture; particularly the victorian era; however, to see mansions; sorry cottages; such as these built to live in for only a few months every year was disturbing considering the times when they were built. I realize I am in the minority and I apologize if I offend anyone with my comments; but, for me I found spending millions of dollars to show off ones wealth is not for me.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Merrymonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,071
    262
    31
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rock Springs, Wyoming
Level Contributor
111 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Ridiculous opulence, but still interesting”
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Can't imagine why anyone would spend money on creating these white elephants, but it is still a great way to look back at the Gilded Age. A bit pricey, but definitely a unique experience.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank viajeroso71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Vanderbilt Breakers Mansion - stunning”
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Only had time to check out one of the mansions while visiting Newport, RI. And was told by locals, If you are going to see just one, this has to be the one. Fabulous tour, stunning property, very interesting history. This is where I learned that Anderson Cooper from CNN is part of the Vanderbilt family, had no idea. Definitely worth the time and money for a visit. It is a self guided tour with a pre recorded device and headphones. Very well thought out tour, they also add additional fascinating stories to the tour if you have the time to listen. Big 2 thumbs up. No pictures are allowed to be taken inside, so do not have any to post.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank Lvv2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camarillo, ca
Level Contributor
175 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
“The Breakers... and what else?”
Reviewed April 23, 2011

We got the ticket for The Breakers and one other house. We chose Marble House, based on the reviews here. However, as lovely as Marble House is, we felt it was 'more of the same'. In retrospect, we would have preferred to have chosen a 2nd house that had a slightly different feel to it than The Breakers. (ho hum, more over the top opulence!) That said, as mentioned, the audio tours at both places were very well done. The ticket taker at The Breakers suggested The Elms, so that might be an alternative others might consider.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank miznina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Maine
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wow - See how the other half lives!”
Reviewed April 13, 2011

The Newport Mansion tour was probably one of the best tours I've ever experienced! They offer a 5 mansion pass - for around $30.00 per person and it is worth every penny. The rich history as well as the wonderful 'self guided' tour information was fascinating. Learning about each property - and each one although has similar rooms - all have different decor and history. When you go in (to most of them) they give you a set of headphones with a little recorder. The recorder tells you all about each room - complete with light background 1890's music. Sometimes the caretaker will say a little tidbit and sometimes an actual person who stayed or visited the mansion in younger days will give insight. One of them even talks about President Kennedy and his family being one of the last visitors to have dinner there. And the cost of running one of the mansions for the 10 week summer stay in 'those days' - $250,000! This tour has stayed with me several days after actually doing it - it's not really for young kids - but adults would surely enjoy it. We hope to go back at Christmas time and see the decorations. Each mansion takes about 30 - 35 minutes but you can also use the recorder to hear extra more detailed information about some of the specific things in a room and can make the tour longer - but that is optional.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank anselsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newport Mansions also viewed

 

Been to Newport Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing