We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great shore drive!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Drive

Ocean Drive
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.00*
and up
Scenic Overview of Newport Viking Trolley Tour
Ranked #2 of 109 things to do in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The marked scenic route along the dramatic Atlantic shoreline that circles Newport.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
468 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great shore drive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

This drive is well worth your time when in Newport. Great views of the ocean and many huge homes along the water. Be sure to stop at spots along the route to take pictures. Sunset is a great time to go, but worth the ride anytime.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,064 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,593
    405
    62
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Drive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We drove through on a sunny Sunday afternoon, and we were pretty impressed. Nice to look at all the big houses & stop at the park to walk down to the water. We had great weather which I am sure adds to the trip. It is a short drive, about 20-30 min.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“My family is crazy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I have been to Newport before........The rest of my family and I went this past weekend for a college visit! We arrived Saturday night.....After a wonderful dinner...in the dark.....They made me drive it twice.....What can you see at night? They loved it...Then on Sunday I made them drive it in the day light....Keeping in their sick humor they swore it was better at night! However we stopped for pictures every ten seconds! :-) It's great!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
385 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A Must Do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

The drive is the best way to get an overview of Newport. Best views of mansions and rocky coastline. I hope you catch a sunny day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1Rahhalatun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenic tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We opted to take a trolley tour, and the bus driver/tour guide was very knowledgeable. It was an amazing experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank twin0830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Drive also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing