We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much better than we anticipated” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Adams State Park

Fort Adams State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.00*
and up
Gilded Age Mansion Newport Trolley Tour
Ranked #9 of 109 things to do in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This venue of the Newport folk and jazz festivals is a stone citadel.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Much better than we anticipated”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We toured the fort our last day in Newport. It wasn't on our top list of things to see but we had some extra time and decided to try it out. We're very glad we did. We found the fort and the tour very interesting. The fort has a lot of unique aspects including the large size, defensive strategies, etc. The fort is still be restored so much of it was still the original structure which was kind of interesting to see. The highlight of the tour was being able to go down and walk through the dark tunnels.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lucky_3_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    238
    67
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tour & Free Parking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I took the guided Fort Adams tour three times this past season, and every trip was different. All of the tours highlighted the Fort, but each had a little different angle depending on the tour guide. I highly recommend this tour if you're visiting Newport, not only for the history of the fort & military strategy, but for the amazing views it offers of Narragansett Bay.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank captcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice walking trail!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Besides the fort, there is a nice walking trail that takes you along the harbor oceanfront. There is a pretty cool graveyard at about the midway point too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank pirate3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Dundee, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was a last minute decision to visit and I am glad we did. We had a great tour guide who was full of so much information and enthusiasm. Took about an hour and a half. Worth the ten dollars. The fort is huge and has a great story behind its construction.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank wharkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Guided tour with Steve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

This was an absolute highlight of a 2 1/2 week trip to New England. Our tour guide was Steve. So so so entertaining and full of information. This guy is obviously passionate about what he does and has a wealth of incredible history in his head. I was thrilled with the entire tour, and my previously skeptical travel companions (3 of them) were very thankful they'd followed me on the tour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank adventure97701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Adams State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Adams State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing