We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls Weekend in Newport”
Review of Perro Salado

Perro Salado
Ranked #20 of 269 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed May 28, 2019 via mobile

Our group of 12 was given a private room in this interesting house (built in 1714) turned restaurant. We ordered many drinks and tons of food and all of it came out timely and tasty! The blood orange margs were amazing!! We order guac and sticky ribs for the table. Both were great! Most of us ordered the fish or lobster tacos which everyone loved! One in our party was gluten free and loved her options! Overall it was a great experience for our fun weekend! I would visit again if ever in Newport!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank HCowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 339 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2019

This place had the best ribs by far of any place I have ever eaten. We did a foodie tour a few years ago and this was one of the stops. Tried to eat here again as were here on a cruise ship but the restaurant does not open til 5 so we missed out this trip.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank tellmemore2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2019

My daughter lives in the area, and took us there for a special treat. Prices were high, and food just okay. Did not appreciate the 1% fee for the kitchen staff - really - at their prices they should cover their own costs.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2019

this place has the best dishes, freshest ingredients, excellent service, all in an old historic home..you have to at least try it... our fav in Newport

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2019

I am a local of 30 years and try to support the local establishments throughout the winter months when things are slow here. I have dined a Perro Salado numerous times. While the food is good, the service has been quite slow the last few times I have been there. But now the reason for not returning...We were a party of 6 dining midweek. Two of us had the local Dine-Out book. Lowest priced meal is taken off the bill. Two may be used for parties of 4 or more. We were told that we could only use one, as it's at the discretion of the establishment. Now it's the middle of winter and we are locals out supporting local businesses. Most of the other restaurants we dine at don't even stamp your card..."we want you to come back!" Also they add a percentage gratuity for the kitchen staff! Pay them more.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LovelyGirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perro Salado also viewed

 

Been to Perro Salado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing