We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Cliff Walk
from $4.12
More Info
from $47.50
More Info
from $55.00
More Info
from $105.00
More Info
Reviews (5,139)
Filter reviews
5,139 results
Traveler rating
3,629
1,249
216
31
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,629
1,249
216
31
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews narragansett ave paved path bring water wear good shoes large rocks easton beach memorial blvd great exercise salve regina university gorgeous views sunny day breakers mansion visiting newport free parking rough point new england rhode island
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 5,139 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

True to its name...there are parts of when you walk on the rocks for a good bit of time and have to manuaveure the path like a puzzle. Recommend sneakers or hiking boots. It's better to go early as I noticed it became more crowded as the morning progressed. Parking is also less crowded in the am. I parked toward the middle of the cliff walk near Salve University and there was an entrance there for easy access. Views of the mansions is great as well as the water and rocks. There are public bathrooms near the 40 steps. This is a must do in Newport.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank MelissaMar831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very beautiful trail that stretches between the "summer cottages" (mansions) of Bellevue Ave and the open expanse of ocean. Lovely flowers and plants line the edges from time to time, and there are benches scattered to rest at. Definitely lots of "Kodak moments" to be had as you work off the decadent meals you ate in downtown Newport!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank schoonerbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful walk to blow away any stresses .... the smell of the sea air uplifting, the view breathtaking.
You can walk just the easy bits or tackle the tricky bits but then you need your proper walking boots.
There are maps en route to show where you are so you can decide which parts of the walk you can manage.
You will have a good view of the mansions and there is a tiny beach on the boulder part to sit and rest.
Definitely something nice to do in Newport... forget shopping...

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank J5028KIrachelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We walked a short distance of the Cliff Walk around The Breakers with our 3 kids. The kids thoroughly enjoyed hopping from rock to rock on the unpaved portion. There was a detailed map at the entrance next to the Breakers. There was no parking at this entrance unless you had visited the Breakers. They have a small parking lot.
The Cliff Walk was quite busy during our morning visit. Wish we had had the time to walk more of it. It was a nice place to stroll. The scenery was beautiful.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank simplyheartfelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I didn't realize we would be climbing boulders, I felt like a goat! Honestly, I was so engrossed in watching my footing that I didn't enjoy the views during the dangerous portions. This was quite a vigorous 3.5 mi walk which was lovely. There were some humongous mansions with gorgeous lawns. This, and tours of the homes, seem to be the main tourist areas of Newport.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank MelissaScottkk58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews