We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful..”
Review of The Breakers

The Breakers
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$57.00*
and up
Newport Viking Trolley Tour with Admission to The Breakers and Marble House
Ranked #1 of 114 things to do in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Breakers is the grandest of Newport's summer "cottages" and a symbol of the Vanderbilt family's social and financial preeminence in turn of the century America. Commodore Cornelius Vanderbilt established the family fortune in steamships and later in the New York Central Railroad, which was a pivotal development in the industrial growth of the nation during the late 19th century. The Commodore's grandson, Cornelius Vanderbilt II, became Chairman and President of the New York Central Railroad system in 1885, and purchased a wooden house called The Breakers in Newport during that same year. In 1893, he commissioned architect Richard Morris Hunt to design a villa to replace the earlier wood-framed house which was destroyed by fire the previous year. Hunt directed an international team of craftsmen and artisans to create a 70 room Italian Renaissance- style palazzo inspired by the 16th century palaces of Genoa and Turin. Allard and Sons of Paris assisted Hunt with furnishings and fixtures, Austro-American sculptor Karl Bitter designed relief sculpture, and Boston architect Ogden Codman decorated the family quarters.
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful..”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Loved that every room told a different story and its incredible that people lived so lavishly. the audio tour was very informative. Will go back again. the views are breath taking

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sightseeing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,981 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,075
    778
    99
    17
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leek, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Inside an Insight: The Vanderbilt's Summer Shack”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We love visiting America and when our Arcadia New England cruise came into newport we had to visit The Breakers. What an amazing home. How it was built to such a degree of opulent decor and in so short a time is truly amazing but then 'only in America' is a phrase we've got used to saying over the last years since we retired and have been fit and able to afford such explorations.We did not have time to see any of the other mansions as we wanted time to see Newport itself .However, we will be back. I have to say the audio guide system that you have to take yourself around this magnificernt house is I the best I've ever come across anywhere.
It is a credit to the Mansions Trust folk that such gems of America's heritage are now safe for generations of Americans and visitors to the Unitied States to enjoy. By the way, using the excellent local bus is by far the best way to travel. The dirvers are great and only to pleased to have you alight at the places you particularly want to see.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dieselspills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you only visit one grand "cottage" in Newport, make it the Breakers”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Breakers is incredible. Beautiful architecture and even better views of the ocean. If you only have time for one house I would recommend the Breakers.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
467 reviews
171 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“137,000 square feet of glamour”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This house is a must see when visiting Newport. It is so big and the views to the ocean are fantastic. Take the time to listen to all the extras on your headset as you tour this house. The tidbits you learn are well worth the extra time. You can purchase a ticket to see only one or two houses and then “upgrade” and pay the difference if you decide to tour more. And the nice thing is that you don’t have to visit all the houses in one day, which would be overwhelming.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RBonTheLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Taste of Grand Gilded Age Luxury”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is arguably the one mansion to see in Newport (if you're limiting yourself to just one). A testament to the good old days of criminally low (or no) taxes, tycoon-level fortunes, and gaudy excess, this final, fire-proof incarnation of the Vanderbilt clan's summer cottage is a treat to tour. The self-guided audio tours are just the right length, allowing you to zip through just the basics or learn a variety of extra details depending on your schedule. Also, each segment of the tour is just long enough to be very informative without droning on and on. I'd recommend getting there later in the afternoon (give yourself a couple of hours), as our experience was relaxed and uncrowded. Other mansions that we toured in the mornings were slam-packed with their own school-, senior-, or international tours. I find that if you're feeling cramped in a 100,000+ square foot mansion, maybe it's better to wait until after lunch.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phildozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Breakers also viewed

 

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing