We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful walk” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bellevue Avenue

Bellevue Avenue
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.00*
and up
Scenic Overview of Newport Viking Trolley Tour
Ranked #7 of 109 things to do in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the 10-mile Ocean Drive and home to many well-known mansions.
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delightful walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We covered about 6 miles down Bellevue & neighboring streets. Glad my camera is digital b/c I would have exhausted a roll of film in the first mile! Beautiful estates.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sallywing313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    136
    21
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Jealous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Bellevue avenue, where alot of the Newport Mansions are is a jaw dropped. I truly felt like I was back in time. If you good at networking, definitely try to make some friends in Newport. Who knows, they may live on Bellevue Avenue.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katharine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“newport landmark”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

if you go to Newport, you have to at least drive down Bellevue. There's some nice shopping, but more than that it's home to the Tennis Hall of Fame, and many of the mansions.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alexis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
266 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were introduced to this area by our coach driver and it was so interesting we decided to go back on our own when we left the tour.

Easily reachable from town, this starts with a stretch of nice B&Bs, hotels, shops and restaurants then develops into a fantastic boulevard of 'holiday cottages' of the rich and famous. Many of these are open to the public for a fee and you can get multibuy deals. We visited two - The Breakers and Rosecliff and that was probably enough for us. Breakers is huge with magnificent masonry, ceilings and ornamental woodcarvings, whilst Rosecliff ismore intimate and homely. Very well run with good audio guides so you can go at you own pace. Good gift shops. Probably worth 60-90mins each as a minimum.

Weather wasn't great when we were there but we did a little of the cliff walk which would be great with better weather, seeing the backs of all these beautiful mansions. Parking can be a little tricky but is available at all the open houses.

We also tried the International Hall of Tennis and adjoining La Forge Restaurant, both of which we can recommend.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank IanSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Chateau de sur”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Mansion tour-little crowded with some noisy tourists but the tour guide very through and patient.We have done almost every mansion and this ranks as a favorite

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank foxchasePhila_pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellevue Avenue also viewed

 

Been to Bellevue Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing