We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 1:30 PM
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Newport
from $39.95
More Info
from $69.00
More Info
from $26.00
More Info
from $25.00
More Info
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveler rating
345
75
16
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
345
75
16
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews religious freedom united states visitor center jewish community rhode island colonial america non jews president george national historic site american history beautiful building fascinating history our tour guide on display congregation worship torah
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 442 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2019

Lovely Shabbat services on a snowy day. I don't usually daven in a shul with a mechitzah, but the ability to gaze up and see the sun shining on my wife's punim made for a wonderful morning. People very warm, welcoming and friendly.

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank BrooklineJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2019

Visiting Touro Synagogue provides a glimpse into the past, to pre-Revolutionary and Revolutionary times. It chronicles not only the history of Jews in colonial America, but also documents the religious freedoms afforded by Rhode Island. The visitor center offers a brief film as well as exhibits, then a docent describes the building and its history in wonderful detail, and shares a view of the 500-year old Torah housed in the synagogue. The Colonial architecture alone is worth a visit.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank SmartSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2018

The history here is truly extraordinary for Jews and non-Jews alike. The synagogue is beautifully preserved, and the history is well presented in the visitor center.
We left knowing that Touro is symbolic of the strength of the Jews resisting persecution throughout history (including today), as much as it is an American symbol for religious freedom and the similar ideals upon which our nation was founded.
Sitting in the same room where former U.S. presidents sat and reflected upon such powerful concepts gave me goose bumps! And, the direct connection to George Washington is almost a bit overwhelming. The fully readable and intact 500 year old deer-skin inscribed Torah brought tears to my eyes. This really is a sacred space.
Linda, one of the members of the congregation, gave a wonderful fact and heart-filled presentation that was well worth the cost of admission, and our time.
I strongly recommend a stop here where in the Newport area.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Father-of-Dragons71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2018

What a treat to learn about this synagogue and its founders and the respect that Rhode Island had for people of all faiths as far as as 1763. The grounds are beautiful and the synagogue is definitely worth the stop!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank nancypH6606EN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2018

Touro Synagogue has a rich and beautiful history that the tour explains. It's a real treasure and Newport is lucky to have it as part of our historic building & cultural history.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank NewportBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews