We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent if your jewish or a history buff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Touro Synagogue

Touro Synagogue
Ranked #11 of 109 things to do in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dedicated in 1762, this is the oldest synagogue in the United States.
Falls Church
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent if your jewish or a history buff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The building is nice enough but the reason to go is to see and be part of the history of the place. The place is too small to have a tour per se but you sit in the sanctuary and hear an interesting presentation. Good exhibit in the visitor center. If your thinking about going you should.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lewas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    61
    15
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice presentation before the tour but tour itself was lacking in its presentation.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Having visited numerous synagogues around the world, I was a bit disappointed by this tour. We had a senior citizen who spoke unclearly in a monotone voice to us while we sat in modern colonial style hard wooden chairs in a hot sanctuary which was sparce in its decor. It would have been more exciting to be able to roam around the grounds a bit more and even see some of the relics in more detail. The ancient worn scrolls were understandably behind glass. The arc was not opened at all. We were not permitted to visit the upstairs portion where the women sit during services. The lecture the guide gave could have easily been found on the Internet or in a US History textbook, so we didn't come away from the tour much more knowledgeable. I came to this tour hoping to connect my Judaism with those of this synagogue's history but failed to do this as the tour was a bit uninspiring.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ELLENTALK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlefield MA
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Make sure you spend time at the Loeb Visitors Center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Time your arrival so you can spend at least 15 minutes in the Loeb Visitors Center before you go into the synagogue for th guided tour. The Center provides historic background on the building of the synagogue, religious freedom in Rhode Island from the 1600s, relations between Jews and christians in NEwport in the Colonial Period and, most importantly, George Washington's Letter on Religious Freedom written to the Hebrew congregation in Newport in 1790. Also, a multimedia exhibit shows images and gives biographical notes on more than 200 American Jews whose portraits were painted before 1865.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank historyconsultancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Level Contributor
143 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The tour was interesting. The guide was very good. There is also a nice exhibit where you can see small movies about the life in 18th century.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 649001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“History galore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

There are so many historical sites in Newport. This is one that we found very interesting. The tour guide was knowledgeable and the history of the synagogue is very interesting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aussum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Touro Synagogue also viewed

 

Been to Touro Synagogue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing