We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Museum of Newport History
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Small but worthwhile

You only need to spend about 1/2 hour here. But it’s definitely worthwhile. It gives you the... read more

Reviewed July 29, 2019
yellowlabmom
,
Boston, Massachusetts
Christmas Lantern tour

Took the 4 pm tour with my wife as part of a weekend get-a-way. Had an excellent tour guide... read more

Reviewed December 26, 2019
Stuart K
,
Southwick
Read all 60 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Newport
from $43.50
More Info
from $26.00
More Info
from $74.88
More Info
from $25.00
More Info
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
27
20
10
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
27
20
10
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gift shop lantern tour donation artifacts tours society
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 60 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

Didn't visit the museum upstairs but took ages wandering the fascinating shop on the ground floor. Interesting gifts which of course I purchased but received a flavour of the town just by wondering around the shop. Great place but Newport itself was a joy. Recommended:-)

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank Frances0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2016

When taking a break from shopping, walking, recommend this break and still getting a history lesson. Lots of easy to carry items back home in shop, and sure you'll learn something new.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank golfgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2016 via mobile

We stopped to learn a little about the Newport area. This museum has a nice shop down stairs and a history area up stairs. I learned about the early residents and about the contribution of the French .

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank BillY791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2016

Traditional text, photo and artifact museum. Interesting history of Newport, but could use an exhibit update with new technology, i.e. a video showing the changes of the city over the years. There is a small ipod displayed in the museum shop with interesting exhibit info. The shop does not have as many unique and historical items as you might find in such a shop, more touristy and gifty than authentic. They do run a walking tour of the city, but we had already walked by most of the buildings on the tour, so we did not go.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank 510toddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2016

For a suggested donation you can visit this small museum for a budget price. It tells about the early history of Newport, starting with the Native Americans. The gift shop is also very nice with a variety of items including candles, jewelry, nautical things and replicas of historical Newport things.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank travelingwoman45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews