We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely treasure!”
Review of Mill Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mill Street Inn
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Tucked away on a little cobblestone street is this most lovely treasure! The pics on line are nice but they don't due th hotel justice. The rooms are very spacious, recently renovated, very comfortable and clean. I slept as well in the king size bed as I do at home. The service was excellent. The staff there could not have been more pleasent and helpful. The unexpected pleasure was the complementary breakfast every morning. I highy recommend and will stay there on every visit to Newport. Usually I'm a pessimist..... anticipating the worst in my hotel stay. Nice when I'm proven wrong.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDub19106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
There are newer reviews for Mill Street Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 576 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2011

i've been going to Mill St Inn every year for the last 3 years. Always try to drive up from NYC in January or in February. i find that the location of Mill St Inn is great. once i get there i park the car in the lot and don't drive the whole time i'm there. All the restaurants and the bars are in walking distance. i love the fact that i can have couple of drinks and not have to worry about driving or cabbing back to the hotel.
I always stay in the town house. It has a great view. and its two floors. The best has to be the most comfortable thing ever. Very modern, with flat screen TV and DVD player in the room. Bathrooms are clean.

customer service at the front desk has been great ever since my first visit.
The past visit i notice that the toilet paper holder was broken. when i spoke to someone at the front desk, the first thing they said was sorry and asked if we wanted to switch rooms. it really wasn't a big deal and we told them it was fine. we just wanted them to know for the next guest. That night front desk sent of a bottle of wine and chocolate and fruits and apologized again.

we will def be going back again next January. Mill St Inn has become a winter tradition

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leexxxjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We stayed at the Mill Street Inn last September for two nights and loved it! We had breakfast both mornings while sitting outside on the rooftop deck. The views were great and it was so relaxing. The staff was very helpful and offered us great recommendations for dinner and which mansions to visit in Newport. Parking is included in the room charge which is an added plus. Our room was very nice and spacious. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Newport!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pax1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

We visited Newport and stayed at the Mill Street Inn December 8-12, 2010. The hotel was comfortable--the bed was very comfortable. The big story here is the location, as it is easy walking distance to anything you want to do in downtown Newport. We walked to many wonderful restaurants and shops, even though it was very cold while we were there. A longer walk would have made it more difficult with the cold and the wind, but with this location, we were fine. A special and unexpected treat was the quality of the contintental breakfast. You get accustomed to the "same old thing" for continental breakfast, but here, they had homemade granolas, greek yogurt, fruit and nut toppings, hand cut oatmeal, great breads with homemade jams and almond butter spread. Very nice. The service from the staff was great as well. Very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank ebbienc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here just for one night for our 24 hours in Newport get away and boy oh boy are we glad we did.
This is the perfect place to stay.
Nice staff here in particular, Doug and Mark at the front desk and the young woman who was in charge of the continental breakfast who encouraged and helped me get a tray of food together for my hung over boyfriend upstairs, I really appreciated that, she is a peach!
The breakfast was such a nice surprise to see the dried fruits, nuts, almond butter, blueberry jam and the excellent yogurt and of course the cappucino machine. I am gluten free so I cannot eat croissant and cereal.
I did try to house granola which was excellent.
They let us keep our car in the lot for an afternoon after we checked out which was really nice.
Overall, the whole experience at this hotel made out time in Newport the most possibly enjoyable. Loved staying here.
Will definitely stay here again and rave about it to all my friends!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USofAGenuine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We stayed at the Mill Street Inn with our college age sons and were very impressed. The decor is striking, the suite was large enough for all four of us, and the breakfast buffet was among the best we've ever seen. Good location, and the private parking lot was much appreciated in a town where parking can be tough to come by.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MindyHZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

For the past seven years, my husband and I have shared a weekend getaway in Newport Rhode Island. The constant in our annual escape is and always will be the Mill Street Inn. As soon as we walk in the door, we are warmly greeted by the front desk staff (My personal favorite is Siren, who has been greeting us almost as long as we have been going there!) The room is always clean and they have the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in! Every year we go, we see changes which we love because it means they care about their inn! One year we enjoyed all new showers (totally amazing!) another year the continental breakfast area was redecorated (with stainless tables and an impressive coffee/cappuccino maker) and this last visit I even noticed new artwork hanging in the lobby. The people at the front desk are always ready to tell you about a new great dinner location, a sight to check out or an event to take in, and of course help you find the best breakfast in the city! They are very accommodating and happy to make a reservation for you any time. The very best part of the Inn is not the gorgeous brick structure, or the large two room suite that you call your own for a few nights, but the warm friendly feeling you get when you are there….It’s like I’m Norm at Cheers, and everybody knows my name!
Thanks Mill Street Inn for so many great years…

Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank padams1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,035 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#8 of 21 in Newport
402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
600 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Street Inn

Address: 75 Mill St, Newport, RI 02840-3147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $167 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newport, Rhode Island’s Mill Street Inn is a former 19th century mill that is on the National Register of Historic Places and is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. It provides spacious, all suite boutique contemporary accommodations, just a block from the harbor in the exclusive Historic Hill district. Daily complimentary continental breakfast served on the rooftop patio with spectacular views, weather permitting and complimentary afternoon tea, wireless internet and parking subject to availability. Townhouse Suites offer two level accommodations with a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mill Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Street Hotel Newport
Mill Street Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing