We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary Hotel With Historic Flair”
Review of Mill Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mill Street Inn
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2009

I was looking for a small, clean hotel for a romantic weekend with my beau and the Mill Street Inn was a perfect choice. I called the hotel directly and was able to book one night instead of the mandatory two for summer weekends as stated on their website. It is very difficult to park for free in Newport, so one of the great features about this hotel is the free parking space you get with your room. The hotel is located on a very quiet, lovely street and the view from the roof is gorgeous with plenty of clean chairs and tables made from iron instead of tacky plastic. We were given a junior suite, which I was told is their smallest room so I was anticipating opening the door and seeing just a bed and a table, but no! There was a large living room area decorated in neutral colors with pleasant and flattering track lighting. There was also a large screen TV with cable, a plush sofa (that was also a pullout sleeper), a large coffee table, a modern chaise with a reading light and end table and a touch lamp. The bedroom was a good size with elegant end tables, a dresser and more track lighting with two unique wall lamps over the end tables. Both rooms had ceiling fans. The comforter and mattress pad were made of down, the sheets were of excellent quality and there were many, many pillows. Additional pillows and a blanket were provided in the large closet as were two exceptionally soft and plush bathrobes that were adorned with the hotel's logo. The bathroom was ultra modern with stainless steel shower accessories, a bamboo bench in the shower, extra large shower head, and another additional unique detachable shower head for getting those hard to reach places. Aveda toiletries were provided along with ample towels of all different sizes and thick, exceptional quality. The bathroom looked brand new and was completely tiled (as opposed to painted). Two bottles of complementary Poland Spring waters were provided in the room. There was also complementary breakfast served on the ground floor with lots of different food choices ranging from yogurt, fruit, pastries, granola, bagels, Starbucks coffee, cream (not just milk) and a range of Celestial Seasons tea. Complementary afternoon tea was also provided - a nice touch if you want to stop in midday after sightseeing for a bit of a break and a snack. We had our tea on the rooftop. The only negative thing I can say about this hotel is that the rooms do not get a lot of natural light and the walls do seem a bit thin. We heard our neighbors on the floor above us at one point and could hear a shower running from the hallway. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank risagirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 591 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2009

Very disappointing I am afraid. Advertised as having a handicapped accessible room ~ but it is not. There is an almost 4 inch lip to get in the side door and they have no portable ramp. Accessible room does have a walk in shower with 2 grab bars; but no bars around the raised toilet. No shower bench. Bedroom door is barely wide enough for a wheelchair and there is not enough space between side of bed and wall to transfer from wheelchair to bed. Lots of small things wrong in our room, too, especially considering we paid $375/per weekend night. 2 light bulbs burned out. Shower head broken. Blinds didn't close in one room. A/C (window units no less) was very noisy and the fan speed adjustment didn't work. Housekeeping did not give us clean glasses until we asked for them. Smoke detector goes off if bathroom door open while showering. As experienced travelers, we were very disappointed that we paid so much for this hotel. The manager did compensate us some for the issues; but I would not likely saty here again unless the price were less.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lototravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Our Daughter was married last week on Sandy Point Beach in Portsmouth-our family and friends stayed at the Mill Street Inn-It was perfect. The staff was very helpful in every way. Mill Street was being dug up on her wedding day-the staff at the Inn made sure the construction vehicles were out of the way before the Limo arrived and also made sure the sideway was swept. We have traveled quite a bit but have never had the attention to detail that we received on this trip. The location is within walking distance to the center of Newport-We enjoyed our stay so much that we are talking about returning soon. Thank you Mill Street Inn for making our daughters wedding a memorable one. The Jordan's

The rooms were so comfortable-we enjoyed the view, Aveda products, and the plush bedding!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bytheseatci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2009

Two night 3-girlfriends getaway. We had a townhouse room, total cost only $225 including taxes. Positives: view & semi-private outdoor deck, quality of king bed, excellent linens, shower, free wireless and parking (1 car per room.) Breakfast was ok, but not enticing enough for us to use both mornings. Negatives: fridge had groceries, including milk, left by previous guest still in it. Sofa sleeper terrible (but they always are!) Toilet paper holder fell off wall and was not repaired during our stay. Lower level ceiling fan screeched and wobbled frighteningly. Not necessarily a negative, but the hotel is at least a quarter mile walk up a quite steep hill from the waterfront. Good exercise, but difficult for someone with mobility challenges. Next time, I'll surely check out some of the many B&Bs nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maine-ah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

We live in NYC and drove to Newport for a weekend getaway. We had a fantastic time and LOVED our room at the Mill Street Inn. We stayed in a townhouse suite - the simple modern & chic style of the decor was beautiful. The private balcony was perfect - sweeping city and water views. The price was EXCELLENT - $99/night for a bi-level suite with terrace. We paid an extra $50 because we were a party of 4 but the value was still amazing. Loved the Aveda aromatherapy bath products too. The customer service was great, except for the woman who initially checked us in was unpleasant & unfriendly. Regardless, I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Newport. The location is excellent too and is within walking distance of everything. Free parking and very simple continental breakfast with complimentary starbucks coffee.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MadelineNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2009

We stayed at the Mill Street inn for 5 days and liked the proximity to town.

It was clean, althought we needed to contact them for more towels, as they told us they usually like you to recycle. I thouguth for 5 days is a bit much. Also, we had to ask for more Aveda products, but we were told one set per room.

Also, as another poster mentioned, they did not vaccuum the floor at all while we were there.

While I did not pay $500 a night, I paid over $200 and I would have liked better service. I did not expect a 5 star hotel, but simple amenities like this should have been taken care of (as it would be in some 2 & 3 star hotels).

The breakfast & afternoon tea were of low quality. Breakfast was mediocre at best. It would be nice to have a variety of fresh fruit & fresh muffins. Instead it was from prepackaged bagels & muffins that are bought in bulk from Costco - very poor quality really.

Its only saving grace was the location.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennac_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2009

My husband and I and his 20-year-old daughter spent a couple of days in Newport after Christmas and very much enjoyed our experience here.

We had originally booked a suite for the three of us but decided it wasn't really adequate for a 20-year-old to sleep on a pull-out couch (particularly since there is no bathroom downstairs and it would have meant her walking through our room every time she wanted to use it -- not much privacy for any of us). We managed to find another room for her and that made the experience lovely for all of us.

The decor in the hotel is somewhat minimalist and would not be suited for anyone looking for decorative, colorful or romantic rooms, but we found it be very comfortable and soothing. We particuarly appreciated the amenities -- great flat-screen TVs in the bedroom and downstairs sitting room, excellent shower heads with powerful water pressure and massaging heads and (mostly) huge fluffy comforters and pillows and incredibly comfortable mattresses that invited you to linger in bed....

The bathroom does not have a lot of space so don't take too many toiletries, and we skipped the complimentary breakfast as there was nothing much there to take our fancy.

The location of the property is fabulous and we loved being within walking distance to everything in Newport and very much appreciated having a spacious and comfortable suite for our two nights' stay.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#6 of 21 in Newport
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Street Inn

Address: 75 Mill St, Newport, RI 02840-3147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $161 - $529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newport, Rhode Island’s Mill Street Inn is a former 19th century mill that is on the National Register of Historic Places and is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. It provides spacious, all suite boutique contemporary accommodations, just a block from the harbor in the exclusive Historic Hill district. Daily complimentary continental breakfast served on the rooftop patio with spectacular views, weather permitting and complimentary afternoon tea, wireless internet and parking subject to availability. Townhouse Suites offer two level accommodations with a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mill Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Street Hotel Newport
Mill Street Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing