We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mill Street Inn
Nearby Hotels
Yankee Peddler Inn(Newport)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Viking(Newport)(Great Value!)
$305
$297
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$499
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$385
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Newport Bay Club & Hotel(Newport)(Great Value!)
$329
$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$535
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina(Newport)(Great Value!)
$329
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Chanler at Cliff Walk(Newport)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (619)
Filter reviews
619 results
Traveler rating
325
171
70
33
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
325
171
70
33
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstownhouse suiteexposed brickcontinental breakfastold millchocolate covered pretzelsbagelsrooftop deckmy husband and ifree parkingno elevatorafternoon teasqueezed orange juiceseparate bedroomcookiessmall hotelturn down servicebathroom shower
Filter
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 619 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I had an absolutely wonderful stay at Mill Street Inn. The Hotel was very located close to Thames Street and the Marinas, but tucked away from the chaos. The amenities are beautiful, rooms are clean, spacious and accommodating. We brought our dog and found that our room had a little dog bed and bowls laid out for her. highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Townhouse is quite nice
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Penny15C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed in room 212 (townhouse suite). Checked in and found a bottle of wine in our room with a hand written note from the manager (it was out 10 year anniversary). Very nice, thank you!!

The pro's
-great A/C, room was always comfortable even though it was 2 floors. ceiling fan in the bedroom.
-beautiful view of the harbor
-the bed is fantastic
-minibar fridge has enough room to hold some of your own drinks
-the breakfast is enough to where you don't need to eat out

The con's (the small things that prevented this from being a 5 star rating)
-breakfast wasn't always ready by 7:30 am. It's a small detail, but if breakfast is served from 7:30 to 10, it should be there at 7:30 am. I think this is just a matter of having the person who sets it up, just start setting up a little earlier. again a small detail, but for $400+/night, all the details should be buttoned up.
-room 212 has a private balcony but the view gets partially blocked by the umbrellas on the roof deck. At night, these umbrellas should be put away to give an unobstructed view of the harbor. Another small detail, but it would go a long way towards allowing for better use of the townhouse suite balcony.


Overall we loved the hotel but it could have been even better by addressing these small items.

Room Tip: room 212 has private balcony, but umbrellas where they setup the breakfast will partially block your view
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hydroxybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed one night in July. The location is fantastic. Easy to walk to all the shops and restaurants. Parking is free and they have both outdoor and indoor spots. We stayed in room 106. It reminded me of a beacon hill studio apartment. Exposed brick on the walls... Cool decor and the bathroom was very modern. Loved the rain shower! The room felt large.. Plenty of space. It was a little dark but there is plenty of lighting. The king bed was amazingly comfortable!
They served a very nice continental breakfast on the roof deck overlooking the water. Lots of fresh fruit, bagels, coffee, juice, Greek yogurt, etc.
The hotel is very much an old Mill. Neat architecture. There are no elevators but plenty of hands to help with luggage. They allow pets in some of the rooms and a dog was barking when we came back from dinner. The woman at the front desk swiftly took the dog out to the front until the owners arrived back at the hotel. We never heard another bark. Overall a great hotel, good price for newport and the free parking and breakfast are a bonus.

Room Tip: We liked 106. Little dark but spacious and the bathroom was new.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 831meghana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The Mill street Inn was what I expected from the reviews and research but the location makes this property probably the best choice for an overall visit to Newport. The hotel is only two blocks away from the water front, very close but far enough away to be quite. Having visited Newport only once before I wasn't that familiar with anything other than the water front, it has much more to offer and the Mill Street Inn is perfectly centered between everything. The Inn does have a contemporary feel but is starting to show its age. The rooms were very comfortable, great amenities, bedding etc... and the continental breakfast was very nice. I am a nespresso fan so that is one of the reasons I selected the Mill Street Inn they have Nespresso machines for the breakfast and afternoon tea. The breakfast in the summer is on the roof top which has a stunning view of the water front, this view makes the room rates worth the slightly higher price. A young man named Sammy Hellger was also very helpful and friendly during the breakfast service, other than him the service at the Inn is none existent. Fortunately I did not need any additional service, if you need service during a hotel stay the Mill Street Inn is probably not for you. Overall we had a wonderful stay and I would recommend the property for a seasoned traveler. The location is outstanding but the price is pretty close to newer properties which would have more services available.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

My girlfriend and I are Newport residents, booked here for a night out on her birthday. We were surprised to find such a great place having lived in Newport all of our lives and never hearing about it! The place was very modern on the inside with an awesome roof deck with a great view of the harbor. You can also bring dinner up there to use tables that are already set up for you! Service was excellent, the rooms were great, and we were lucky enough to get a room with our own private deck in the back of the hotel. Great place to stay in Newport! Great location for a short walk to the downtown area!

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to book a room with our own private deck. Towards the back!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews