We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location while visiting Newport”
Review of Mill Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mill Street Inn
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great location while visiting Newport”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The Mill street Inn was what I expected from the reviews and research but the location makes this property probably the best choice for an overall visit to Newport. The hotel is only two blocks away from the water front, very close but far enough away to be quite. Having visited Newport only once before I wasn't that familiar with anything other than the water front, it has much more to offer and the Mill Street Inn is perfectly centered between everything. The Inn does have a contemporary feel but is starting to show its age. The rooms were very comfortable, great amenities, bedding etc... and the continental breakfast was very nice. I am a nespresso fan so that is one of the reasons I selected the Mill Street Inn they have Nespresso machines for the breakfast and afternoon tea. The breakfast in the summer is on the roof top which has a stunning view of the water front, this view makes the room rates worth the slightly higher price. A young man named Sammy Hellger was also very helpful and friendly during the breakfast service, other than him the service at the Inn is none existent. Fortunately I did not need any additional service, if you need service during a hotel stay the Mill Street Inn is probably not for you. Overall we had a wonderful stay and I would recommend the property for a seasoned traveler. The location is outstanding but the price is pretty close to newer properties which would have more services available.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    163
    69
    32
    19
See reviews for
93
326
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

My girlfriend and I are Newport residents, booked here for a night out on her birthday. We were surprised to find such a great place having lived in Newport all of our lives and never hearing about it! The place was very modern on the inside with an awesome roof deck with a great view of the harbor. You can also bring dinner up there to use tables that are already set up for you! Service was excellent, the rooms were great, and we were lucky enough to get a room with our own private deck in the back of the hotel. Great place to stay in Newport! Great location for a short walk to the downtown area!

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to book a room with our own private deck. Towards the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by this little gem of a hotel located in the heart of Newport within a couple blocks of most restaurants and shops. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, and the staff was very friendly. The room includes a continental breakfast which offered a variety of breakfast foods, coffee, tea, and juice. Definitely enough to get you through until lunch or an early dinner. On nice mornings, the breakfast is served on the roof deck which has a decent view of the harbor. They also serve coffee, tea, and cookies in the afternoon for a light treat. The hotel is in a great location that is 2 blocks from all the action on Thames Street and a short walk to Broadway or Bellevue. It is a modest walk, but we were able to walk to First Beach, the Cliff Walk, and the Mansions. We'll definitely return to the Mill Street Inn the next time we stay in Newport.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so request a first floor room if you have a lot of luggage or have trouble clim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveP22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We loved the Mill Street Inn it was one of the best hotels we have stayed in during a 5 week visit to America. The hotel is well located walking distance to lots of restaurants and shops & a short drive to other attractions. The room was large and well appointed and there was an attention to detail missing in a lot of other hotels. The wifi worked well & we loved the quirky collection of books on the coffee table!! Parking is free and breakfast included which was on the roof terrace with great views to the water.
Staff were very helpful as well...a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: First floor as there are no lifts. There are no room safes either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 79suzannem79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed here for a weeding weekend. Location Great, Staff (Tiffany,Siren) very eager to please with a calm smile and can do approach! We stayed in a one bedroom suite #109 very nice. There is not an elevator so we requested 1st floor. Our 25 yr old son stayed in the main room on a sleeper sofa with a feather top added. Head of bed in master is right next to bathroom so any night time users woke up others in bed. Great blackout shades! No tub- robes- not a place to hold hand and wash towels. Free parking on property but VERY TIGHT. Breakfast was very nice just enough...fruit, mini quiche,oatmeal,cereal,breads.Also an afternoon tea with great pound cakes, cookies, fruit, tea and coffee. They put fresh water in your room daily. We walked everywhere from hotel! Don't miss the cliff walks!! Would stay again!!! VERY CLEAN!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMUNNY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our anniversary. We had a great time the staff was spot on especially the breakfast crew. They pay attention to detail and made our stay memorable. Love the townhouse room with the balcony thanks again Ms Rivera and your team. Special mention to the Red Parrot for a delicious lunch try the wraps.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMUNNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
768 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Central located in Newport. Modern very nice rooms. Don't go for the suites. They have 2 floors and we did not use the living room and the balcony. There is a wonderful terassen that is so much better with much better wiews. Very nice beds, bathroom and robes. No safe box in the room. This hotel has no elevator, a lot of stairs, fine with us. Afternoon tea and quality coffee is served from 3 to 6 pm. Complimentary breakfast was served on the terrace. Very friendly staff! Free parking.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank R_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,014 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
591 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.3 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#8 of 21 in Newport
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Street Inn

Property: Mill Street Inn
Address: 75 Mill St, Newport, RI 02840-3147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newport, Rhode Island’s Mill Street Inn is a former 19th century mill that is on the National Register of Historic Places and is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. It provides spacious, all suite boutique contemporary accommodations, just a block from the harbor in the exclusive Historic Hill district. Daily complimentary continental breakfast served on the rooftop patio with spectacular views, weather permitting and complimentary afternoon tea, wireless internet and parking subject to availability. Townhouse Suites offer two level accommodations with a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mill Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Street Hotel Newport
Mill Street Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing