We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Inn in a Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mill Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mill Street Inn
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
261 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Nice Inn in a Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We were looking for a winter getaway, and decided to go to Newport’s Winter Festival and stay a night. I booked the Mill Street Inn through Jetsetter. We were given a suite which had a small living room area, and a separate bedroom. The decor was well done and had a Newport vibe. I loved the personal touches, there was a welcome letter, and at turndown they left a note with the weather and activities for the next day (as well as a little glass of jelly beans!). In the morning they offer a continental breakfast that had a great selection. The front desk was pretty friendly, and they have onsite parking. Best of all, the inn is only a short walk from downtown. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChantalTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caron R, General Manager at Mill Street Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear ChantalTravels,

We sincerely appreciate the time you took to write a review and are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again as we continue our efforts to provide a positive and memorable experience for all of our guests!

Kind Regards,

Caron Rivera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    162
    68
    31
    17
See reviews for
89
313
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
prolifictravels
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are modern as are the bathrooms with Aveda products but management and service is lacking quality. We waited an hour before our room was ready with a less than apologetic staff member.

The room was very noisy, walls are very thin so you can hear the people talking upstairs. Good luck trying to get a decent night's rest.

There were dirty dishes lying in the alcoves of the hallway! This was shocking for us.

Breakfast does not include eggs. You need to know how to operate the machines to get your cup of Java. Cereal varieties are great. On the whole it is a very average breakfast.

We will not return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank prolifictravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caron R, General Manager at Mill Street Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay last November at Mill Street Inn.

We guarantee all of rooms for 3:00 p.m. but cannot always allow early check in depending on business levels. We always offer to allow you to park your car in our lot, store your luggage and enjoy the sites or relax in our lobby or small dining area while waiting.

During the day when cleaning our rooms, the housekeepers must remove all dirty dishes and because our property is on multiple floors, the dishes are occasionally placed in the back stairwell as out of site as possible while the housekeeper retrieves whatever else they might be able to bring downstairs at that time. We assure you that they are not left there for significant amounts of time, solely for the brief time for the housekeeper needs to gather everything they might have to take down with them.

Our property is a small inn and we do not have a restaurant which is what limits us from being able to provide a full breakfast inclusive of egg options. We provide a complimentary continental breakfast. It includes assorted cereals, oatmeal, nuts, additional toppings, assorted yogurts, whole fruit, fruit salad, assorted bagels, breads and pastries, smoked salmon with tomatoes and capers, assorted jams, butters and spreads as well as mini quiche (our current egg option) and fresh squeezed juices, coffees, espresso and more. We do provide instructions for our Nespresso machine and our breakfast attendants are always on hand to assist if you have any questions at all.

We welcome suggestions for changes and improvements to our breakfast that might work for a business without a formal restaurant and continue to try to come up with new ideas to vary the breakfast and keep it interesting ourselves.

I appreciate your feedback as it can only help us to continue to improve and invite you to contact me directly if you wish to give our property another chance in the future.

Kind Regards,

Caron Rivera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed in one of the Inn's two-story suites and WOW, incredible. Impeccably decorated and extremely romantic. The second floor bedroom feels like a romantic loft with gas fireplace, walk-out deck/balcony with views of the harbor. Super comfortable king sized bed with premium sheets, and a newly updated bathroom with glass shower and rainwater shower head. To top it off, there is a well-stocked & delicious buffet-style breakfast available from 7am to check-out (smoked salmon, cereals, breads, etc.). All this in downtown Newport!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

My husband and I recently spent the night at the Mill Street Inn. Our room was clean and comfortable, the brick wall on one side a charming reminder of the building's history. There was a note of welcome personally addressed to me, complimentary bottled water, fresh fruit, and candy. The staff were smiling, courteous, and helpful and gladly suggested a restaurant within easy walking distance of this well-located inn. The complimentary breakfast was everything I look for: juice, coffee, bagels, cream cheese, smoked salmon, granola, oatmeal, sweet rolls, and a variety of condiments. No one rushed us, and we were able to leave our car in the inn lot past check-out time so we could explore the downtown on foot. I am sorry I did not discover this inn earlier. This is the only hotel I have ever felt strongly enough about to want to review!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtenay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Great price, lovely quaint room, delicious/plentiful/varied breakfast "bar" of noshings.
Very friendly/helpful staff. Located in the heart of the downtown area. Easy to walk to pubs and restaurants and galleries. Not fancy, and that is as it should be in a sailor's town.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a room facing away from Thames Street during the summer due to lively sidewalk noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FGBIVCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
187 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had a alining Social deal for this place & I'm glad I took advantage of it. Its dog friendly for an extra $50.00. The location is right in the middle (4 blocks walking) of Thames & Bellevue. There is a little park for walking the dog on both ends of the street (with doggie bags!). The suites are spacious enough to have some extra room for your dog. We had the separate bedroom which is great since my husband & I have different sleep/wake cycles. The staff are very friendly & helpful. They have complimentary afternoon tea & cookies. The continental breakfast was impressive, hot oatmeal, lots of fresh fruit, teas, juices, milk, cereal, pastries, breads. Pretty good spread. We came in after tea time & someone was nice enough to bring us a carafe of hot water s we could have our evening tea. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdventureGirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Totally my kind of hotel. I stayed in the townhouse suite. Contemporary style...loved everything about it. From the rug to the artwork, the beautifully tiled bathroom, fireplace, two flat screen TVs, and a small private porch deck with a view of the harbor. A block from Thames street and a very short walk to area restaurants. Complimentary breakfast was superb. Cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, vegetables and salmon. Bagels, muffins, Danishes and the most scrumptious mini quiches! Coffee, juice, espresso. Awesome place to stay!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Street Inn

Property: Mill Street Inn
Address: 75 Mill St., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mill Street Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newport, Rhode Island’s Mill Street Inn is a former 19th century mill that is on the National Register of Historic Places and is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. It provides spacious, all suite boutique contemporary accommodations, just a block from the harbor in the exclusive Historic Hill district. Daily complimentary continental breakfast served on the rooftop patio with spectacular views, weather permitting and complimentary afternoon tea, wireless internet and parking subject to availability. Townhouse Suites offer two level accommodations with a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Mill Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Street Hotel Newport
Mill Street Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing