We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mill Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mill Street Inn
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“A perfect spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

My husband and I recently spent the night at the Mill Street Inn. Our room was clean and comfortable, the brick wall on one side a charming reminder of the building's history. There was a note of welcome personally addressed to me, complimentary bottled water, fresh fruit, and candy. The staff were smiling, courteous, and helpful and gladly suggested a restaurant within easy walking distance of this well-located inn. The complimentary breakfast was everything I look for: juice, coffee, bagels, cream cheese, smoked salmon, granola, oatmeal, sweet rolls, and a variety of condiments. No one rushed us, and we were able to leave our car in the inn lot past check-out time so we could explore the downtown on foot. I am sorry I did not discover this inn earlier. This is the only hotel I have ever felt strongly enough about to want to review!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtenay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    162
    68
    32
    17
See reviews for
91
317
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Home
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Great price, lovely quaint room, delicious/plentiful/varied breakfast "bar" of noshings.
Very friendly/helpful staff. Located in the heart of the downtown area. Easy to walk to pubs and restaurants and galleries. Not fancy, and that is as it should be in a sailor's town.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a room facing away from Thames Street during the summer due to lively sidewalk noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FGBIVCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
187 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had a alining Social deal for this place & I'm glad I took advantage of it. Its dog friendly for an extra $50.00. The location is right in the middle (4 blocks walking) of Thames & Bellevue. There is a little park for walking the dog on both ends of the street (with doggie bags!). The suites are spacious enough to have some extra room for your dog. We had the separate bedroom which is great since my husband & I have different sleep/wake cycles. The staff are very friendly & helpful. They have complimentary afternoon tea & cookies. The continental breakfast was impressive, hot oatmeal, lots of fresh fruit, teas, juices, milk, cereal, pastries, breads. Pretty good spread. We came in after tea time & someone was nice enough to bring us a carafe of hot water s we could have our evening tea. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdventureGirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Totally my kind of hotel. I stayed in the townhouse suite. Contemporary style...loved everything about it. From the rug to the artwork, the beautifully tiled bathroom, fireplace, two flat screen TVs, and a small private porch deck with a view of the harbor. A block from Thames street and a very short walk to area restaurants. Complimentary breakfast was superb. Cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, vegetables and salmon. Bagels, muffins, Danishes and the most scrumptious mini quiches! Coffee, juice, espresso. Awesome place to stay!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
316 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Good: The staff was efficient and helpful such as bringing ice to the room (no public ice machine) and calling a taxi. The continental breakfast is varied and the fresh fruit was excellent. Cookies and tea in the afternoon were a nice touch. Room was nice. Bed was comfortable. Within easy walking distance to Thames Street shopping, dining and activities. It is also an approximate 2 mile walk to the Mansions.
Not so Good: There is not enough off-street parking for all the guest rooms. (Really important when it's snowing). There is no elevator. Every conversation in the hallway could be heard. The plumbing from the next door room sounded as though it was in our room. The bathroom was tiny while the shower was tub sized.The was a wardrobe to hang clothing but no drawer space and very limited shelf space to store clothing. Finally, the high walls could have used a dusting as there was an accumulation of cobwebs. Note: It was not reported to the front desk as it should have been obvious to any housekeeper that dusting was needed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2havtrav4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

My wife, baby daughter, and I had a nice stay here. The staff was friendly and attentive. Breakfast and Afternoon Tea was better than most places. The rooms were well- cleaned and the main bed large and comfortable. The location is really just about where you would want to be in Newport, walking distance from many sites and a short drive to others. The price is higher than we would usually pay but fair for this area and more affordable than many other options.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LSRING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

My niece and I celebrated her 25th birthday in January and stayed in one of the suites. The exposed brick with long windows and high ceilings were perfect. The king size bed was in a separate room and we were greeted with candies for our turn down at night. The continental breakfast was more upscale than most, mini quiches, fresh raspberries, strawberries & blueberries> Fresh oatmeal with every sort of topping ,yogurt, bagels, muffins & fresh squeezed juices & Cappucino. The staff was extremely friendly and when my niece forgot her toothbrush they brought one up in 5 minutes. Loved our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddiemae2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Street Inn

Property: Mill Street Inn
Address: 75 Mill St, Newport, RI 02840-3147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mill Street Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newport, Rhode Island’s Mill Street Inn is a former 19th century mill that is on the National Register of Historic Places and is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. It provides spacious, all suite boutique contemporary accommodations, just a block from the harbor in the exclusive Historic Hill district. Daily complimentary continental breakfast served on the rooftop patio with spectacular views, weather permitting and complimentary afternoon tea, wireless internet and parking subject to availability. Townhouse Suites offer two level accommodations with a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mill Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Street Hotel Newport
Mill Street Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing