We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great location and staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mill Street Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mill Street Inn
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Overall, my husband and I had a very pleasant stay at the Mill Street Inn. The hotel was clean and tidy and the location was wonderful. The staff was helpful, cordial and professional.
We loved the afternoon tea and cookies, the turn down service with gummy candies and local activities info sheet every day.
We had the "duplex" room with a living room on the first level and the bedroom/bathroom and small balcony on the second level.
We loved having our breakfast on the roof deck while enjoying the gorgeous views of Newport.
We thought the quirky selection of books on the coffee table was also delightful.

If we were to highlight areas of improvement, I will mention two things. First, the complimentary breakfast, though it had a good variety, we noticed a lot of the food appeared to be recycled from the day before; especially the salmon platter and some of the pastries. Though I understand sometimes it is logistically challenging to donate the food and the idea of throwing food away seems wasteful. However, as guests eating the food, we would obviously prefer eating food that is fresh versus stale. There's really no simple answer for this, but I guess it is easier for larger hotels to cook and serve fresh food (with a food license) versus a boutique hotel offering only a Continental breakfast.

Finally, finding parking can be challenging in Newport. Though the hotel does offer some parking slots for its guests, it would be helpful during the check-in process to remind guests when they can and cannot park on the street directly in front of the hotel. We received a parking ticket one night for leaving the car in front of the hotel after a certain hour in the evening. A quick parking primer for new guests would be helpful to avoid these types of parking tickets.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Team_Gu_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    153
    65
    31
    17
See reviews for
84
296
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Mill Street Inn in Newport, Rhode Island proved to be a real gem, located two blocks from the wharf and well within the many shops and restaurants of downtown Newport. The Mill Street Inn has captured the spirit and the essence of the revolutionary period. Our room was spacious & well decorated. Exposed brick walls added to the coziness of the room. The room was well lit & contained all the latest electronic hardware such as flatscreen t.v.s, air-conditioning,etc. From the roof top deck one could see an endless sea of rooftops, chimneys, small quaint colonial homes & buildings, and the harbor. We enjoyed early happy hour on the deck for which the staff generously brought ice & glasses. The buffet breakfast was sumptuous with a wide range of options and featured fresh squeezed juices. We never got to enjoy the afternoon tea and cookies as we were always out enjoying the sights! The free underground parking made it so convenient to use our car to enjoy nearby towns & beaches. The staff were all excellent, very customer focused and attentive. We plan to return! Rudy and Jamelyn Payan

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudypayan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
120 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We don't usually spend this much for a room, but what a great value! Location is central to downtown, we even walked to the Breakers. Service is top tier from the desk to cleaning to breakfast. Joe lent us an umbrella when rain threatened our dinner stroll, and at breakfast the staff was always offering to make and bring things to us. Building is crusty on the outside and contemporary on the inside. Feather bed, sleek bathroom, plenty of space. Expensive, yes, a value, yes! We will always look to Mill Street when visiting.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gravity B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel is located in a very unique, historic building. It's worth it for the interesting architecture alone. Conveniently located (with parking!)-it's easy to walk downtown to shops, restaurants, etc. They came by our rooms at night with little candies and a sheet of recommendations with what was going on in Newport that week. Everything was clean and well cared for. We had an excellent stay. I heard they do breakfast on their roofdeck, but I didn't get a chance to check it out. It was definitely a little pricey (and they charge you if you have an extra person!) and would be better if it had a pool, but overall, an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

It was so lovely to stay here and I heartily recommend it. The service was super (Jessica was so chatty and welcoming) and the breakfast was superb. The receptionists couldn't go enough for you and the room was immaculate . Best hotel of our trip.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was our last location following a tour of N.E. and we spent two nights at the Mill Street Inn. We were travelling with our two children (boys 15&16) and booked a family room. The suite was very clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the Inn well located. Breakfast was great, particularly if the weather was good and you could enjoy eating it on the roof terrace. We did experience an overcharge on the bill which I spotted before departing. It related to having children in the suite as they used the sofa bed. The rate for them had been doubled. It took a little while to pin down the error but when identified it was immediately rectified. We would be happy to go back.

Room Tip: If you want to lay in late (we didn't) then you may not want to be in the room below the roof te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lowdown2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

we were very happy with the hotel.We arrived on time and the room was ready.The receptionist Jo was very friendly and helpful.Since there is no elevator we requested help with our bulky luggage.Tim provided service with a smile very quickly. The room was clean and cozy and the bed was very comfortable. ..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elor132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,661 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#11 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,331 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Street Inn

Property: Mill Street Inn
Address: 75 Mill St, Newport, RI 02840-3147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newport, Rhode Island’s Mill Street Inn is a former 19th century mill that is on the National Register of Historic Places and is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. It provides spacious, all suite boutique contemporary accommodations, just a block from the harbor in the exclusive Historic Hill district. Daily complimentary continental breakfast served on the rooftop patio with spectacular views, weather permitting and complimentary afternoon tea, wireless internet and parking subject to availability. Townhouse Suites offer two level accommodations with a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Mill Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Street Hotel Newport
Mill Street Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing