We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice little treats!”
Review of Mill Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mill Street Inn
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in September having searched for a long time to find a reasonably priced place to stay. This wasn't reasonably priced but nowhere was so it was the best of what we could get! We wanted to stay in the centre of Newport and this was definitely convenient for everything. We could walk down to the harbour and to lots of different restaurants, bars and attractions. We also chose it because it had 2 beds (I was travelling with my mother) and not a lot of the B&Bs in Newport have twin bedded rooms.

The hotel was easy to find with our sat nav and the parking was convenient (if a bit small! We were the last to arrive so I had to squeeze into a space with an air con unit next to it so had to be very careful - it was the first day of driving the hire car! The second day was easier as it was a Sunday night and quieter). The room was nice and quiet (at the end of the corridor) We think they may have put us here as it seemed like everyone else was in bigger groups/younger so maybe they thought it would be quieter for us? It was nice anyway. One of the guys on reception carried our bags upstairs (there's no lift, as it states on the website). The room was large and the bathroom was adequate.

Breakfast was nice (buffet). We had it downstairs both days as the weather wasn't good enough to have it up on the roof terrace. The staff were friendly and all in all it was a good stay.

A few small niggles but nothing too major. It is looking a bit tired, especially the roof terrace, and there are no signs guiding you anywhere so you have to find your own way. I don't think the actual hotel is worth the money we paid but the location and town definitely make it worthy of the price.

Oh and we had apples and water when we arrived and then the second night we had pear jelly beans with a little note about why we had them (can't remember why but there was a reason!) Nice little treats!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingNicx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 589 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

Good location, friendly welcome. Room was spacious, comfortable bed, but the room was showing signs of wear and tear. Did feel like I was in a bunker for breakfast! Parking was a bit tight. Reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CavaChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Convenient, friendly, clean, great beds, balcony, sublime lighting, roomy, easy parking (valet)...the list goes on.

We had a great stay and will stay here again.

Great effort by front desk staff to tend to guests requests.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank New_York_Snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Check in was easy.
Excellent location, beautiful room with high ceilings.
Looooooove the bed and linens !!
Very cool how they go around to each room in the evening and dole out little squares of Ghirardelli chocolate - yum!
Parking lot for guests is appreciated.
Breakfast on rooftop: great food, great location, great service.
One suggestion I have for the hotel is to install lighting in the bedroom closets.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We had checked out this hotel online in March and chose another because it had a restaurant...lesson learned! The Inn exceeded our expectations with excellent service, a great room, the perfect location and free parking. We had a townhouse suite with a water-view balcony, the room was a good size with a comfy bed. The bathroom was a bit small, but hardly a dealbreaker. We were pleasantly surprised by the included breakfast offerings, though it would be hard not to be happy on the roof deck. The Inn is in the perfect location, too. It's an easy walk to Thames and the wharfs or to restaurants and shops (in any direction), yet a nice quiet spot to relax away from the crowded areas. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tajinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I appreciated that parking and a great (rooftop) breakfast were included. Also a 3:00 tea, as well as a turn-down service with great tips for the next day and a little helping of jelly beans and bottled water; thoughtful touches. The interior of the place and rooms felt modern and clean, yet with hints of the building's past in the form of exposed brick and rough sawn timber. I only wish my room was a little larger and the windows didn't start at a height of 5' from the floor. Really just for light, as there were no views to speak of. Overall, the location, service and little touches made it a place I will return to.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hodork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We took a townhouse room for two nights which promised an upstairs view and breakfast. Parking was also available and our accommodations were supposed to be upscale and modern. Our view was of tired rooftops with the ocean in the distance but we did have a clear view of the rooftop deck and guests eating breakfast since they were only inches away from our balcony. In fact the coffee table was right next to our balcony wall. If we opened our bedroom blinds, anyone on the deck had a clear view of us. Our upscale room had stark, uncomfortable furniture that made it hard to sit a watch TV. And, no chair in the bedroom, several hours to find extra hangers for us and having to keep luggage on the floor because they didn't have stands were unexpected amateur touches. Finally, parking a minivan in their super tiny and contorted lot was really fun after driving several hours. Oh, and the breakfast that they value at $25 was bagels, cereal, coffee and tea. For all this we paid over $1000. You don't have to, you were warned.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cjimci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,126 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#6 of 21 in Newport
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
713 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
205 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Street Inn

Address: 75 Mill St, Newport, RI 02840-3147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $163 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newport, Rhode Island’s Mill Street Inn is a former 19th century mill that is on the National Register of Historic Places and is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. It provides spacious, all suite boutique contemporary accommodations, just a block from the harbor in the exclusive Historic Hill district. Daily complimentary continental breakfast served on the rooftop patio with spectacular views, weather permitting and complimentary afternoon tea, wireless internet and parking subject to availability. Townhouse Suites offer two level accommodations with a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mill Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Street Hotel Newport
Mill Street Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing