We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary Hotel in Historic Shell”
Review of Mill Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mill Street Inn
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
872 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
“Contemporary Hotel in Historic Shell”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Located on Historic Hill several blocks above the harbor, the Mill Street Inn is a contemporary hotel within a National Historic Landmark Building. We had a king room on the main floor with no view, but the room was large and nicely equipped with all the niceties, including a large flat screen TV, small refrigerator, Aveda toiletries and a rain shower. A special treat was a complimentary breakfast on the large roof deck with views of the town and harbor. An unexpected experience was watching a mother seagull and her chick on the Inn's adjacent roof, chasing away an approaching squirrel and feeding her offspring. There is no elevator, so we had requested a room on the main floor which was on the same level as the upper parking area. We could roll our suitcases right in without any problems. One final note -- the historic mansions are a pretty good hike from the Inn, but the prime restaurant and shopping areas are quite walkable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPBurdell67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    163
    69
    32
    18
See reviews for
92
323
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

A few years ago I stumbled across this hotel...and I'm so happy I did. Each year we come back to celebrate a girls weekend away and the crew at the Mill Street inn makes each visit special. Siren leads her group to make all feel welcomed and at home. Our room was amazing, this was my first time staying in the townhouse room and it was PERFECT! Loved the the gas fireplace it took the chill out at night and added such a beautiful touch to the room. The private deck with a view of Newport harbor was amazing! It was such a nice way to wake up and walk out to the deck and take in the beautiful view...at night it offered a glittery view of boat lights and stars above. The perfect place to hang and enjoy a glass of wine as we got ready for the evening ahead.

The breakfast buffet offered on the rooftop is just the perfect start to the day, offering the right combination of foods to get your day started. Freshly made smoothies, cereal, fresh fruits, toasts, coffee (a newly added professional Nespresso machine) tea, fresh squeezed juices...then off to the beach!

Through out the weekend my friends and I repeated to each other...we just love this place! The place is charming, the staff is amazing, add the view, ease of parking underneath, and you can walk to anything makes the Mill Street Inn the perfect location that you will want to visit over and over again like we do!!!

Room Tip: I have stayed in all room levels...I've been happy with everyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birthdaygirl0619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

It was our first time to Newport area and we chance upon this really good hotel. The price range was really great for the room that we got. We had 3 adults in our room and therefore we were given a room which had a king's bed and a sofa bed. The ambience of the hotel is really great. The deco of the rooms were really nice with a tinge of the way it was back in the old days when it was supposedly an old saw mill. They kept the walls of the interior barren (bricks) and the old columns exposed hence creating a modern meets old feeling.

What my friends and i liked the most was the breakfast at the rooftop which was overlooking the bay area. They only do rooftop breakfast when the weather is good and we were lucky enough to catch the good weather on the first morning which we arrived because it rained out for the next two days and we had to have the breakfast at the basement of the hotel.

Overall, the hotel gave us a very "homely" feeling which we were glad to return to every night (for 3 nights) we were there. The beds were a little on the soft side. But other than that... this is a really great hotel and a gem if i must say.. as compared to the other expensive hotels which are in the newport area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapua, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. The room was very comfortable, nice at dark for a good nights sleep. Parking was available and breakfast was good. It is really well located for exploring Newport. We have no complaints at all other than wishing we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

The location of this Inn is great. everything you need or want in Newport is within walking distance, and the property has free parking (all be it some spaces are a bit tight) We enjoyed sitting on the terrace overlooking the harbour with a glass of wine - a lovely interlude after a busy day. The breakfast was plentiful, the fruit was great, but I would have loved to see some fresh baked goods in the morning. The pull out bed was a little uncomfortable, but adequate, however, not much room to move around once the bed was out. My friends had the bedroom upstairs, they said the bed was very good. Helpful staff.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms not great for those with limited mobility - ask for a ground floor room if you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We were traveling without reservations and were going to stay in Newport, RI for a night and go on a mansion tour. We walked for a few blocks and checked out three hotels. The Mill St Inn was the best. The room was a two-room suite and very clean, with modern unclutter lines inside of an old brick building. The front-desk clerk was very helpful with restaurant recommendations. He informed us that the mansion passes sold at the hotel would save us $5 each, and they did.
The continental breakfast was excellent, with a large variety of cereals, breads, jellies, fruit, and beverages. We'd definately stay here again.
Our walk-in rate was $145 which was better than the other two places we looked at, and we liked this one the best anyhow.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PacerJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed at the Mill Street Inn for 2 nights in early May. It's all been said before. Location is great. Parking is great as you can park your car and walk everywhere. Parking in Newport is probably an issue during peak season. The rooms are large and the bathrooms are on the smallish side but the showers are huge with lots of pressure if you use the hand shower. The rain shower has a lot of water but obviously not made for a pressure wash. We visited a couple of rooms and they were being renovated. It seems that all the rooms have a different layout. The beds are very comfortable.
While we were there, there was a major overhaul going on. All the carpets in the rooms and hallways had been changed. The construction crews were very quiet and we were not disturbed at any point. It was almost all finished so the place looks great and even more appealing.
Breakfast was very good. I personally liked the fresh blueberries and the choice of cereal. Would stay here again in a heartbeat and there are many repeat customers.
Newport itself was very quiet, but it was mid week and the weather was miserable but we enjoyed our stay nevertheless.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so, if you have a hard time with stairs choose the first floor as it's qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2MoMyPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,992 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
580 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
393 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Street Inn

Property: Mill Street Inn
Address: 75 Mill St, Newport, RI 02840-3147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newport, Rhode Island’s Mill Street Inn is a former 19th century mill that is on the National Register of Historic Places and is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. It provides spacious, all suite boutique contemporary accommodations, just a block from the harbor in the exclusive Historic Hill district. Daily complimentary continental breakfast served on the rooftop patio with spectacular views, weather permitting and complimentary afternoon tea, wireless internet and parking subject to availability. Townhouse Suites offer two level accommodations with a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mill Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Street Hotel Newport
Mill Street Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing