We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The name says it all”
Review of Winner Winner

Winner Winner
Ranked #8 of 10 Quick Bites in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed June 3, 2019

I'm allergic to seafood so getting fried chicken is always an issue. This place was close to our BNB, so much fun and the food is really really good. We're used to true southern fried chicken and this is not it (well we're in New England after all)
The breading is seasoned with fresh herbs, the "sweet tea" refreshing and not over sweet like in the Carolinas. The sides are super and the prices more than reasonable.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mountainmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 54 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2019 via mobile

I will preface this with the fact that I got take-out and did not dine in. We had the “seasoned” fried chicken and sides and.... it was ok but we had heard a lot of good stuff about this place and....... it was fried chicken. Nothing WOW about it. You won’t go wrong here, it’s good, but.....

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank BostonERdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2019

If you are after chicken - you have found your spot. Their other spot is Mission - burgers.

No parking in the immediate area.

Very limited menu - fried or rotisserie chicken with sides or on a sandwich. Service is friendly but it takes a while to cook. We were there well after lunch and crowd was slim but probably 15 minute wait.

We both got the 2 piece with a side and a biscuit. The chicken was EXCELLENT (fried to perfection and still juicy; lightly spiced). Biscuit rivals that of Popeye's Fried Chicken. The sides were a bit weak especially the Brussel sprouts slaw; mac and cheese was nothing special and almost bland.

Their "sweet tea" deserves a pass. Go for the canned drinks.

Definitely a winner. Damages for 2 with tip was $36.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoeHouston52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2019 via mobile

The service staff was fun and friendly and oh my goodness, the food was amazing! Can’t go wrong with a chicken sandwich and the Mac and cheese even tops my own mother’s homemade Mac and cheese! Very very highly recommend stopping by Winner Winner, you will not regret it!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank justines63017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2019 via mobile

Delicious, no frills, BYOB. Almost everything is made in-house, including pickled vegetables which I would highly recommend. House-made tea, punch, and Tang. Tater tots are enormous! You'll want more than one serving if you love your sides. Sandwiches are all dark meat. I'd bring something to drink, because you're going to be thirsty. Great beer food. Order at the counter and they'll call your number. Take-out looks really easy, too.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank s04bowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winner Winner also viewed

 

Been to Winner Winner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing