We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing piece of North American History”

Tonto National Monument
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Roosevelt
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Reservations are required to visit the ruins of Salado cliff dwellings.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Amazing piece of North American History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

A well maintained paved trail leads you up the steep climb to the cliff dwellings. Definitely worth the effort as you will have the opportunity to walk inside the dwellings and get a sense of what life was like in the 1400s. The staff at the site are exceptional and are very patient in answering the many questions we had about the site. We are still amazed how people survived in the harsh desert climate back then.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christiana0564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    43
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Peek Back in Time...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

You can actually see a handprint in the side of the rock dated from the mid 1400's. That made the walk up a very steep, although beautifully paved walk well worth the effort. The blackened walls in the dwellings, blackened from the fires they used to cook and keep warm will reach your soul, at least it did mine. If you are someone who values the feel of history surrounding you then this is certainly a place not to be missed. Once again I need to pay homage to Teddy Roosevelt who was responsible for all the beautiful, mysterious, and awe-inspiring experiences I have had here in the West. These parks are a blessing to all who come here. It is worth the steep walk, you can stop and just drink in a most incredible view of Roosevelt lake a little over a thousand feet below you. If you don't do well with heights you may want to think twice, though!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank LuckySurferGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth the hike!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

It looks more difficult than it was. It was very steep, but many rest benches along the way. Being able to actually walk inside the dwellings was feel the history was inspiring. Did not attempt the the upper dwellings, lol.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank paorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth the distance and effort to get there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

After only getting half way on the spectacular Apache trail route, we took the longer highway route from Phoenix via Globe and arrived just before they closed the access for the day. We rushed up the steep path and were rewarded with an experience of how people managed to exist in this harsh desert; sheltering in communities built into a cave in the cliff and irrigating their fields.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Old_Fahrter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Show Low, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A room with a view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

This is another one of those spots that I drove by without ever stopping ... glad I finally did. It's a bit of a hike up to the main ruin, but it is well worth it and there are benches along the way if you should need a break. Seeing the ruins at the top of the climb reward your efforts.

There are other ruins which are accessible by ranger-led tours only .. we're told the fill up fast, so call the monument for reservations.

Helpful?
Thank photogal928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tonto National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Tonto National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing