We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and Beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My wife and I and several of our wedding guests stayed at the Doubletree. Amanda and her staff bent over backwards to make sure all our needs were met. Shuttling guests to and from the ceremony and reception? No problem! Couldn't have gone smoother. Complimentary bottles of champagne, hors d'oeuvres, and gift bag really made us feel special. I can't say enough about their attention to detail and customer service. Bravo on a job well done!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikePoefromBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (885)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

707 - 713 of 885 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

Visited the DoubleTree Club Hotel, Downtown, in Buffalo, New York, with a group of friends with whom I travel. The hotel, despite its name, is not actually situated in downtown Buffalo, but in one of the neighborhoods. The actual location is somewhat unsettling, as it is dark at night, without a lot of foot traffic, or other attractions in close proximity. However, apparently recognizing that there might be a problem, the hotel provides a shuttle van which will transport guests to locations within a 5 mile radius, and pick them up at a pre-determined time. The outstanding feature of the hotel, however, is the staff. They were so friendly and helpful, it was almost embarrassing. In particular, I would point out Ms. Elaine Sarkis, the Manager of the hotel. We arrived after dark; it was cold; we were strangers to the area; and there were no restaurants located near the hotel with which we were familiar. Not only did she recommend a restaurant - which turned out to be more than acceptable - but she also personally drove our group to the same in the hotel shuttle bus,and picked us up 1.5 hours later - displaying great good humor the whole time. The next morning, at breakfast (which was good, plentiful, tasty, and well presented) one of our group mentioned that there was no fresh fruit - the remark not directed to anyone in particular, but made within hearing of Ms. Sarkis. Five minutes later, a bowl of fresh cut fruit was deposited on our table. Service like that is so rare as to be almost unbelievable. Hilton Hotels should do whatever it takes to retain her as an employee - she is awfully good for the company. I also note, in passing, that the rest of the hotel staff that we encountered during out 3 day stay reflected the attitude and courtesy of Ms. Sarkis, which I consider the sign of a good manager. I can recommend the hotel and strongly suggest that you take the opportunity - while there - to meet Ms. Sarkis. .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TysonElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeBuffalo, Assistant General Manager at DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Tyson Elliott; we appreciate you sharing your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. The team at The DoubleTree Club by Hilton strives daily to meet and exceed our guest’s expectation. I will be sure to share your wonderful review with Elaine, our General Manager. You are right Elliott, she is a great leader and we are very lucky to have her as our leader. Should your travels bring you to Buffalo again, I hope you stay with us!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

First appearances can be deceiving. We pulled up in the hotel shuttle from the airport, which by the way is not a free service, and thought we had made a mistake by picking this property. Then we walked into the lobby and was pleasantly surprised. Not only was the lobby nice and clean but Randy at the front desk couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful. He informed us of all the hotel ammenties and the surronding places not to be missed. The Anchor Bar is just down the street and the shuttle was offered to us to take us there. It wasn't far so we just walked. The room was nice and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was also very nice and the server couldn't have been more pleasant. Would stay there again. Once again, Thanks Randy. You were wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w0rldtraveler311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeBuffalo, Assistant General Manager at DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Guest; thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review regarding your stay here at the DoubleTree! The comments regarding Randy are very much appreciated! He is an asset to our company and we are lucky to have him. Should your travels bring you back to Buffalo, I hope you will stay with us again. Thank you w0rldtraveler911 for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Myself and my co worker travel all over the US attending travel based travel shows. We know a good hotel when we see it. To tell you the truth, we don't usually take the time to do this. But the accomodations, and especially the OUTSTANDING SINCERE SERVICE compells us to let the people know this is a gem not to miss.

Here's example of many: One of their shuttle drivers picked us up at the convention center and we mentioned we had a hankering for seafood. He stops by a seafood place about a block away and goes inside and brings us out a menu! Have you ever had this happen to you?? Not us.

Great place. Great service....from the General Manager to the ladies attending the rooms.
You can believe the next time we are in Buffalo this is where we will hang our hat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAVE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esarkis, General Manager at DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Hello! Just want you to know that you made by day when I saw your review. Thank you so much. Be assured I have already shared it with some of the staff and it is posted for all to read. I found out that it was Ben who was the driver that got a seafood menu for you. I have showered him with kudos; he said it was not a big deal. Everyone on the staff thought you and your associate were great. So, I hope your travels return you to Buffalo and that you are able to stay with us. I look forward to meeting you. Thanks again; I really appreciate your time in doing this. Elaine Sarkis, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife recently stayed at this hotel during a business trip and has not stopped talking about the wonderful service she received. As mentioned by other reviewers, she said the entire staff was extremely the friendliest she has ever experienced. The manager was very helpful in suggesting running/walking routes and restaurants in the area. The location of the hotel is convenient to the medical center and not too far from plenty of restaurants. The shuttle will drive you anywhere you want downtown. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated and the beds were very comfortable. The fitness room was also great. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeBuffalo, Assistant General Manager at DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Greg; the entire staff at the DoubleTree Club by Hilton would like to thank you for your warm and caring comments. It is these comments from our valued guests; like yourself, that help in motivating our staff to go above and beyond in providing exceptional customer service to ensure guest satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed on Oct. 19th using our Hilton Honors points and got a great rate for a Friday night stay. At first glance, it appears as though the hotel is in a sketchy area (especially as we arrived around 9pm) because there aren't many people milling about the neighborhood. However, you'll see that the hotel happens to be in university research area near a hospital, and is not far at all from the actual downtown - maybe 5-10 min by car. Most of the people that you will notice on the street are hospital employees stepping out for smoke breaks, and all the buildings nearby just look as though they're part of a research campus. We found that the area was actually quite safe as we opted to park our car on the street and had no fear of going back and forth to retrieve items that we needed.

As soon as we checked in, we were greeted warmly and were given chocolate chip cookies which was a nice gesture. We were immediately informed about local dining options and given menus for recommendations in the area. We didn't end up using them, but it was nice for the clerk to have those on hand and offered before we even asked.

The hotel itself is very clean. As soon as we stepped off of the elevator, it was evident that they had cleaned and vacuumed as the air had the scent of freshly picked apples. We were given a room on the 2nd floor, and when we called to request a room on a higher floor we were politely informed that there was a wedding party being hosted by the hotel. The explanation was perfectly reasonable and our room was so comfortable that we didn't make any fuss. I am borderline OCD about cleanliness and it was clear that the room was meticulously cleaned. There were no spots or stains on the linens, the carpeting looked fairly new or at least well maintained, there were no traces of towel wiping on any of the furniture surfaces - but it was clear that they had been cleansed of dust. The bathroom was spotless and was a good size for a king room. There were the standard coffee/tea and complimentary bottles of water available. As far as comfort goes, the bed was very comfy. My husband appreciates some firmness to a mattress, while I truly adore all the softness I can get. We were both happy with the sleep that we got.

All in all, it was a great place to stay. The entire hotel looks and feels clean, and it's evident that the staff that run the hotel are accommodating to their guests. When we pulled up, the valet offered valet services but was helpful in letting us know that we could park a few blocks up the road on the street, as well as take advantage of private lot parking. It was nice that he didn't try to scare us into valet parking which is actually fairly reasonable - $13 per day. We'd definitely go back even if we don't get a good deal next time. And, they have bath products from Crabtree & Evelyn which was a nice addition. All in all, it was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank resIpsaLoq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeBuffalo, Assistant General Manager at DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Guest; thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Our goal is to consistently strive to deliver an exceptional experience and I am happy to hear you had an excellent stay with us! Should your travels bring you back to Buffalo, we hope you will stay with us again. A warm DoubleTree cookie will be waiting for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I recently spent a week at this hotel. The staff was amazing. Everyone was very friendly, from the people at the front desk to the housekeeping staff. The rooms were very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrspetch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeBuffalo, Assistant General Manager at DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Mr. Spetch; the team at The DoubleTree Club by Hilton Buffalo strives daily to engage and exceed our guest expectations. We appreciate you sharing your comments!! Thank you for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#13 of 25 in Buffalo
1,834 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western - On The Avenue
1.7 mi away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown

Address: 125 High St, Buffalo, NY 14203-1153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#2 Best Value Hotel in Buffalo
#3 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range: $126 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Buffalo Downtown, is located on the Buffalo Niagara Medical Campus. A 100% non-smoking hotel; the DoubleTree offers all of the comforts of home! Complimentary WiFi and in room safes are complimentary and in all of our tranquil rooms. Experience the all new "HD residential experience" on our brand new flat screen televisions. The DoubleTree is just minutes from everything truly unique to Buffalo; Canalside, HarborCenter, First Niagara Center, Ralph Wilson Stadium, Coca Cola Field and Shea's Theatre just to name a few. Niagara Falls is a short 25 minute drive from Buffalo! Come stay with us, you will not be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Buffalo Downtown
Doubletree Downtown Hotel
Doubletree Buffalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing